Faulty Brainbox?

Re: Faulty Brainbox?

Postby wagonrunner » October 24th, 2012, 12:33 am

I could understand the plugs going bad because of inconsistent compression but the coil packs? Maybe they were never bad in the first place....but then why would the scan tool indicate such?....weird.

A scan tool reports an error when the ECU does not detect the right signal from a sensor.
if the sensor is not at fault, the thing to check is the way that signal is transmitted to ECU aka harness.
The usual sequence is replace sensor, but test sensor in another like vehicle.
If that was the problem, it should be solved in your, and show up in the other.
Next, go with ECU. and swap similarly to confirm.
Harness is usually last, unless you really good at determining end value resistance. or have a great one like tallboy, checking it for you.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 24th, 2012, 8:34 am

Vega the scan did not indicate anything with the coil pack, remember when I got the "Cylinder misfire" code, I changed both the plug and coil pack just as a precaution to avoid having to take down the intake manifold again. When I switched all coilpacks back to original and the problem remanifested, I tried sparkplug alone and car worked fine thereafter, so I was unnecessarily changing coilpacks earlier on.

Wagonrunner, I think you misunderstood what I was saying earlier on. When I tested some of the plugs which were taken out from earlier cylinder misfires, some were firing and some were not. I speculated that the ones which were working were taken from cylinders other than cylinder 2 when I had multiple cylinder misfires at once.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 24th, 2012, 9:06 am

oh, my bad....either I forgot or misunderstood....

anyway, how it running thus far? and how's the fuel economy? and please set benchmarks in order to accurately monitor so as to determine whether performance is affected in any way!!! so full up, make yuh distance and repeat over the next few weeks to see if everything is consistent....check you oil levels, coolant levels, overflow bottle level....

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 24th, 2012, 11:50 am

^^^^WTF u doing home at this hour?

Anyhow so far so good, IMO car is running very well, much freer than before, much quieter and smoother too! No hesitations experienced during acceleration. Will monitor these things as you suggested.