Effect of upgrading oil cooler on CVT - installed with pics!

Doom

Postby Doom » May 14th, 2007, 9:09 am

the one thing to remain constant u changed - the test vehicle

u should have done back to back test with the same vehicle

venum

Postby venum » May 14th, 2007, 10:27 pm

^^^ I didn't have data for my car before the install, ideally it would have been a better test

that is why I tested against a stock CS3, which to me would be as good as testing on my car prior to the install, since the stock CS3 that I used for testing was identical to my car when it was stock

so IMHO the stock CS3 that I compared to was a good, almost perfect test bed, especially since I maintain it, so I know exactly how similar to mine it is.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 14th, 2007, 11:32 pm

very interesting results..

Venum, is your thermostat working in your car or did you have it removed? If it is faulty or was removed, your car's coolant temp will drop when driving fast on the highway.. which will 'spoil' your findings..

The best way to get proper data for such an upgrade is to have a transmission temperature gauge..

I find it surprising that removing your stock tranny cooler will have such an effect on your engine coolant temp.. :!:

Postby wagonrunner » May 14th, 2007, 11:41 pm

3stagevtec wrote:I find it surprising that removing your stock tranny cooler will have such an effect on your engine coolant temp.. :!:

ok, my thinking................

with his method of installation he has no heat soak from tranny fluid into radiator.
and radiator now only deal with engine coolant temperature,instead of engine coolant and hot tranny fluid fluid

Postby 3stagevtec » May 15th, 2007, 12:06 am

3stagevtec wrote:I find it surprising that removing your stock tranny cooler will have such an effect on your engine coolant temp.. :!:

ok, my thinking................

with his method of installation he has no heat soak from tranny fluid into radiator.
and radiator now only deal with engine coolant temperature,instead of engine coolant and hot tranny fluid fluid

hmm, my response..

but the engine coolant temperature is controlled by the thermostat, which is what keeps the coolant temp at a constant set temperature.

when his engine coolant temp drops, the thermostat will close immediately and that will allow the coolant temp to remain at the set temp.

i understand what you said about heat soak, but as long as his thermostat is working, the temp "shouldn't" drop..

Doom

Postby Doom » May 15th, 2007, 7:38 am

i understand what you said about heat soak, but as long as his thermostat is working, the temp "shouldn't" drop..

another valid point

unless both cars were purchased from new and has roughly same mileage with similiar lubricants/change intervals then the use of 2 different cars may be a lil more valid
is the above true?

the real test is a temperature gauge on the tranny with before and after results

venum

Postby venum » May 15th, 2007, 10:47 pm

Doom wrote:unless both cars were purchased from new and has roughly same mileage with similiar lubricants/change intervals then the use of 2 different cars may be a lil more valid
is the above true?

the real test is a temperature gauge on the tranny with before and after results

I agree that the best test is the temp gauge

Doom both cars are roro SDM CS3 Lancers (1.6 GLX), with roughly same mileage with similiar lubricants/change intervals

3stagevtec the thermostats are working and have not been removed

Postby ronsin1 » May 16th, 2007, 5:54 am

actually the tempeture does drop when I installed my oil cooler (CS2 GDI LANCER) I saw a drop in the tempreture gauge.

What I should have done is seeing that I have a point and shoot thermometer I should have run my car before installing the cooler and take a sample tempeture then when the cooler was installed take another sample and compare them!

venum
if you have the time to do more testing I am willing to lend you the point and shoot and you can record the tempetures of both cars!

venum

Postby venum » May 16th, 2007, 11:31 pm

no scene pal

I will let u know when I can

teh stock CS3 nned to get an oil change this weekend

after the oil wear down a bit I will test again

Postby 3stagevtec » May 17th, 2007, 8:38 am

well since both of you experienced similar results... i guess there is strong evidence to support the claims..

that is very interesting...

when (ever!?) i install my cooler, i will check to see if there is any change in coolant temp in my Civic. would be nice to see if there will be similar results between different manufacturers...

venum

Postby venum » May 17th, 2007, 9:01 pm

I expect that the results will be the same

even if it's a Honda :mrgreen:

Ronsin1 the manual has been copied

just lemme know when and where I can drop off the original

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » May 18th, 2007, 2:03 am

what about adding an external filter together with the oil cooler? will this also extend cvt life or at least extend the oil change interval?

http://www.perma-cool.com/Catalog/Cat_page25.html

Postby ronsin1 » May 18th, 2007, 7:32 am

^^^ Worth taking a look at!!!!

venum

Postby venum » May 18th, 2007, 5:46 pm

we need to confirm that all the F101A, non-tiptronic tranny's came without an external

that is if there is any difference in teh JDM (CS1/2/5) and the SDM (CS1/2/3/5) and USDM CS7

I have personally never seen one with an external filter

but Mitsubishi does move kinda weird in this regard

my JDM CK2 with a F4A41 has an external tranny filter

but Rudman's SDM CK2 with the same F4A41 has no external filter

same 4G15 DOHC in both cars

the port for teh filter is completely sealed off on his

I don't think that the filter might be worthwhile though

after all MITSU did manufacture the F101A without an external filter
Last edited by venum on April 14th, 2012, 8:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.

venum

Postby venum » May 26th, 2007, 12:19 pm

bump for JUS4SHO

Postby 3stagevtec » June 23rd, 2007, 6:54 pm

finally... it's installed!!! woohoo... ok, got the tranny cooler installed today and these are my observations so far..

Bypassed the stock cooler and installed the aftermarket cooler-
-after highway / traffic driving, i didn't notice any change in the average coolant temperature of the car
-immediately after a cruse down the highway (no hard accleration), i ran out and checked the cooler's temp by hand.. the cooler was slightly warm..
-immediately after a short drive (~5mins) in traffic, the cooler was warm to the touch.. (not hot at all)

when i get time, i will check the cooler's temp after a few WOT runs and driving in heavy traffic (at least 15mins+)

from my observations so far, it is definetly better to bypass the stock transmission cooler when installing an aftermarket cooler..

thanks to Venum and the other tuners who contributed to this thread...

fras

Postby fras » June 23rd, 2007, 7:09 pm

Where u guys got the cooler and how much :?:

Postby 3stagevtec » June 23rd, 2007, 8:00 pm

I got mines from a parts place in Penal (can't remember the name of the place)..

just ask for a transmission oil cooler..

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » June 24th, 2007, 11:35 am

Nice work there 3stagevtec! Will take a close look at it when next U at dex!

Alyuh inspiring me to try this!..... :D

Would be nice to bypass the tranny cooler on the radiator.....so I could upgrade the radiator later with no worries!

I will have to find a cooler that's greater than 5000 thermal Units (I think that's what the mitsu manual quoted the duty on the stock tranny cooler, will have to verify this).

Yuh cah remember the name of this place in Penal?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 24th, 2007, 12:42 pm

3stagevtec wrote:I bought the Hayden Automotive Transaver Transmission Cooler today. Got it for $400 at Kaimraj in Debe.

It was on page 4... 8-) I bought this thing since April.. and now get chance to install it..

venum

Postby venum » June 24th, 2007, 7:44 pm

Rudman wrote:Alyuh inspiring me to try this!..... :D

go brave

remember pics and install notes to be posted

just remember that on the CK you will have to get a cooler that is long horizontally and short vertically to fit in the space in the front bumper

not like the one 3 stage and I used

unlike the CS lancers that allow less restricted air flow, the CK's front bumper will block out a lot of air

ronsin1 has a nice install of one like what you need

seen it myself - maximum air flow

his is bolted on the bumper

Postby ronsin1 » June 25th, 2007, 6:34 am

^^ I'll try and get some pics and post it up also I'll get the dimensions for the one I have installed.

Postby noshownogo » June 25th, 2007, 7:06 am

Didn't think about this at the time but it may have saved my transmission on my MK1 focus hatch. It overheated on the Lady young last year, Ford wanted 30k :shock: for a replacement transmission :lol: :lol: Never paid it, I got the dealer to rebuild it for 6k from their books at Jenton.

Postby X_Factor » June 5th, 2008, 2:12 pm

ok...gonna do this probably weekend,
what i need to know for those who tie strap it down, what did u tie strap it down to?
the a/c condensor?
if so, does ur a/c work any different considering the extra heat on it now?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 5th, 2008, 3:07 pm

best place to put it is in front of the radiator.. that way in heavy slow moving traffic where there isn't much air flow into the front of your vehicle, the radiator fan will provide the necessary cooling everytime it turns on...

the cooler i bought came with special straight straps to tie it down... worked great..

Postby Dave » June 5th, 2008, 3:57 pm

Alyuh inspiring me to try this!.....

wait nah, u dos dex the car and doh have one :shock:
go brave

the shifts would be more consistant, thats the 1st thing u would notice

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » June 5th, 2008, 5:50 pm

:oops: :oops:

Postby X_Factor » June 5th, 2008, 11:50 pm

i cant fit mine by the radiator, i think i'll put it infont the condensor and get the electrician to put a relay from the rad fans to one that i'll strap on infront the cooler to pull air

Postby 3stagevtec » June 6th, 2008, 4:07 am

X_Factor wrote:i cant fit mine by the radiator, i think i'll put it infont the condensor and get the electrician to put a relay from the rad fans to one that i'll strap on infront the cooler to pull air

if you put the cooler in front the condenser, then the fan should push, rather than pull air through it... :wink:

Postby X_Factor » June 6th, 2008, 8:50 am

^^ yeah actually ..my mistake...
thanx man...