tyres

FullStop

Re: tyres

Postby FullStop » October 1st, 2011, 8:12 am

there is a place in siparia, called singhs a paint shop, they sell the victras, 215/45/17 for 550 a piece, cash only, manufactured january 2011.

zorced

Postby zorced » October 1st, 2011, 10:04 am

^ :shock: now i see why u said
ghostbusters wrote:In terms of Price/performance though, these win...

either we gettin advantaged or u just gettin them cheap

bess i move to south yes... the gas $ might make the price difference if i go there for them :lol:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 2nd, 2011, 12:17 am

But at least you go have an adventure out of the experience... Siparia is nice if you never been..
--------
So, my mom company car due for new tyres right.. 215/60/16 or 205/65/16

Considering its company and that we will be buying it from them soon, I want the absolutely top tyres I can get at ANY price... So, i call the usual suspects looking for:
michelin (out of stock completely),
bridgestone (out of stock),
goodyear (only the assurance fuelmax.. very average tyre)
continental (not in correct size)
toyo (none in size)

What really going on in this place? I am more than willing to spend up to $2000 a tyre and I cannot get a single thing available?

Postby X_Factor » October 2nd, 2011, 7:34 am

^thats stress!!

u could try the hankook's as well

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 2nd, 2011, 8:38 pm

Yup. Unless you have a very common tire size you're not going to get the best tires.
I've had to change tire size to suit what's available already. Happens to lots of people.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 2nd, 2011, 11:23 pm

I really don't think the size i quoted above to be a rare size.. There are enough Cefiros/Teanas on the road (assuming that NO other vehicle uses this size which is untrue) to justify having stock in the top brands...
Hankook really isn't in the league of tyres I am looking for here.. With the exception of the Ventus V12 EVO most hankook is just average rubber.. Also, the V12 is performance oriented and for this vehicle I am more looking for a top class touring tyre that will give me years!

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 2nd, 2011, 11:56 pm

Dealer won't bring the V12 Evo. Even on order, I checked.
Mileage Mack will bring anything you want them to basically. Otherwise I would wait on the Michelins.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 3rd, 2011, 5:41 am

I think I could talk to mileage mack, but it would be a bit harder to work out seeing as the company is paying.. I assume it gets to the point where they might just begin to ask whats so special about a tyre that I had to get it custom ordered vs what is in stock locally.

That said, prices seem to be around ~$140 US for the top spec touring tyres in that class.. Really, add freight and everything.. say $1400 each? Still cheaper than any michelin will sell for locally so it may be worth putting in an order with someone like mileage mack.. That said, I can't see a company pre-paying for tyres on order and then waiting for it to reach..

I'll work something out and keep you people informed...
If I do go Michelin, the question is if to get one with GreenX or not.. Will the low rolling resistance affect anything negatively? Obviously better economy, but will it be at a sacrifice of handling or cornering?

Postby X_Factor » October 3rd, 2011, 6:47 am

you could take a drive if you hav time and check out the smaller tire shops

they usually hav some decent stuff but clueless over the phone

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 3rd, 2011, 9:18 pm

for whoever interested in Kumho (dunno the model) 215/45/17 Mileage Mack has in stock...was there saturday and saw them in their stock room...

Postby bushwakka » October 4th, 2011, 11:45 am

ghostbusters wrote:there is a place in siparia, called singhs a paint shop, they sell the victras, 215/45/17 for 550 a piece, cash only, manufactured january 2011.

siparia yuh say :shock: .....hmmm....that drive might jus be worth it at that price

Postby X_Factor » October 4th, 2011, 7:17 pm

^ 100$ gas
2 partners
nice drive and beers!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 4th, 2011, 9:04 pm

currently one of our cars has 195/55/15....

I want to get a broader tyre....same 15"...

what u guys recommend??

would 205/60/15 be good?

thinking bout something broader that the 205 though....

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 4th, 2011, 9:20 pm

bushwakka wrote:
ghostbusters wrote:there is a place in siparia, called singhs a paint shop, they sell the victras, 215/45/17 for 550 a piece, cash only, manufactured january 2011.

siparia yuh say :shock: .....hmmm....that drive might jus be worth it at that price

siparia right there, just go at non peak traffic times, cut through penal, thas the shorter side, small drive...they dont install though.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 4th, 2011, 11:34 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:currently one of our cars has 195/55/15....

I want to get a broader tyre....same 15"...

what u guys recommend??

would 205/60/15 be good?

thinking bout something broader that the 205 though....

I have moved up from 195/60/15 to both 205/60/15 and 205/55/15...
In your case, you will struggle to find things wider than 205 in 15", so id say check out the Kumho Ecsta SPT 205/55/15... Mileage mack or Laughlin & DeGannes..

What kinda vehicle and what you using it for though

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 5th, 2011, 1:31 am

thanks cd accord....its going on a Liana sporthatch...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 5th, 2011, 1:33 am

btw have u got any idea as to cost$$$ .....yeah Id call but still if u have any info please share it.....

looking for a phone number......

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 5th, 2011, 4:08 am

I paid about $550 each last year but no idea what you will find this time.. Maybe around $600 a tyre..

It is worth it though in my opinion...

5forward

Postby 5forward » October 7th, 2011, 11:23 pm

Guys any reviews on the Dunlop Direzza DZ101 ?
And also,how can i tell if a rim is good quality? assuming its not a known brand name

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 8th, 2011, 12:09 am

I hate to sound harsh, but if it is an unknown brandname and you don't find reviews online, it is most likely crap...

Concerning the DZ101, probably trhe most overrated tyre on the market in Trinidad.... Not terrible but definitely not a good tyre...
Don't believe me?
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/surveyres ... p?type=UHP
http://www.1010tires.com/Tires/Reviews/ ... ezza+DZ101

It has been discussed many many times before in this thread.. Ok in dry, average cornering, bad in wet, bad treadwear, LOUD LOUD LOUD

5forward

Postby 5forward » October 8th, 2011, 12:15 am

alright.fair enough.

So whats a decent tyre (brand and model) for a daily driven car.driving type is average and occasionally agressive.must be fairly good in all conditions

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 8th, 2011, 1:59 am

scroll up and read lazyman... only so much help you going to get

5forward

Postby 5forward » October 8th, 2011, 7:03 am

lol aite then.i did that by the way.just had some bad luck in choosing which pages to read

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 8th, 2011, 2:07 pm

Try this same exact page 29?

5forward

Postby 5forward » October 8th, 2011, 7:32 pm

Hey thanks man.i have my list now

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » October 10th, 2011, 10:14 am

I spoke to MM to bring in some S-drives for me in 205x50x15. They told me $970 for 1

Postby noshownogo » October 10th, 2011, 12:40 pm

Looks like I might have to special order Kumho SPTs (KU31) from MM, no one seems to have 205 or 215/55/16 in stock.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 10th, 2011, 1:54 pm

The SPT is a good tyre, but I don't know if I would go so far as to special order it...
It all depends on price of course, but if I was special ordering I would definitely shoot for some Continental ExtremeContact DW or DWS tyres...
Like I said though, all depends on price...

How much does MM usually charge for special orders? I need to put in one for some Michelin tyres for my mother's car

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 10th, 2011, 1:57 pm

noshownogo wrote:Looks like I might have to special order Kumho SPTs (KU31) from MM, no one seems to have 205 or 215/55/16 in stock.

yeah just made a few calls to MM and LDG and they outta stock...old price for kumhos was $660......205/55/15......expecting stock in 2 mths time....

Didnt realise ppl buying tyres so much for them to run outta stock,,,,,,,,

Grudge

Postby Grudge » October 10th, 2011, 5:12 pm

Aih fellas didn't want to make a new post for this; how do you tell if Enkei rims are original?