tyres

EVA Unit-01

Re: tyres

Postby EVA Unit-01 » August 14th, 2011, 12:58 pm

anyone have a idea on the price of Toyo Proxes T1R's locally (15")?

Postby X_Factor » August 14th, 2011, 2:25 pm

^ a guy is selling 4 in the parts forum...i think its like 800 for 1

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 16th, 2011, 12:27 pm

My 205-60-14 Toyo Vimode got to the wear indicators on the fronts.

Dry grip was still quite good however hydroplaning increased significantly within the last 2 months (from virtually zero at purchase)

Replaced the fronts with 2 same size dunlop i had around from another car due to having changed all 4 shocks and depleting the car allowance, tire YOM 2008.

My braking distance has increased SIGNIFICANTLY, i can now spin tires with my 1.6 engine and almost have to idle off the line on wet roads. Wet corners above 50 kph are basically turn in and pray.

I don't know how people survive with cheap tires. I've had to adjust my driving style quite a bit.

Toyos or nothing for me in this current size when funds allow.. :|

GoS

Postby GoS » August 17th, 2011, 9:04 pm

i running nexens 1000 when cornering u could hear the tyres griping all yuh think i should change my tyres or should i remain the nexens thanks
btw it on ah nissan primera

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » August 23rd, 2011, 9:20 am

anyone uses Pirelli tyres?..always heard of them, but never really looked for them in tyre shops..

im thinking of buying either Kumho or pirelli...anyone wit any experience would be appreciated.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 24th, 2011, 2:07 am

Pirelli, much like every other brand is subject to sub-models.. Pirelli is a respected brand but you have to know what you are buying.. You will struggle to find them locally in shops though and PriceSmart used to carry them but it was Brazilian made inferior Pirelli..

I vex as usual... Been calling around the place pricing out rubber and everyone just so useless on the phone.. Makes me want to go down there personally just for the sake of cussing them out...

I'm actually looking for 205/55/16 or 205/60/16 in respectable brands but struggling.. After you go past all the nexen/roadstone crap, people calling $950 each for kumho etc.. Really really devious behavior..

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » August 24th, 2011, 4:11 am

X_Factor wrote:^ a guy is selling 4 in the parts forum...i think its like 800 for 1

yeah, i bought them and put them on on Sunday :) waiting for the coating to wear off before i give them a lil run...

but for now i can say that the ride is a lot smoother, with a ver minor improvement in road noise over the Ecsta SPT's. where there is a big difference is in terms of cornering, as the T1R's are very round an give you a kind of sweeping rolling feel when going into corners.

Postby X_Factor » August 24th, 2011, 8:28 am

CD4Accord wrote:Pirelli, much like every other brand is subject to sub-models.. Pirelli is a respected brand but you have to know what you are buying.. You will struggle to find them locally in shops though and PriceSmart used to carry them but it was Brazilian made inferior Pirelli..

I vex as usual... Been calling around the place pricing out rubber and everyone just so useless on the phone.. Makes me want to go down there personally just for the sake of cussing them out...

I'm actually looking for 205/55/16 or 205/60/16 in respectable brands but struggling.. After you go past all the nexen/roadstone crap, people calling $950 each for kumho etc.. Really really devious behavior..

Check this out
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=359292&hilit=tire

The KH37 isnt a high end tire but it surely be better than the others

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 29th, 2011, 12:46 am

So I'm looking to buy tyres once again, as my last purchase 15 months/35000km ago now needs changing (one tire cut pretty badly and the shoulder is bald, and the other is starting to get smooth), and I don't want to take chances this rainy season, esp. as my wife is using the car much more now.

My last purchase was the Dunlop SP9000, and it was OK. Choose it over the DZ101 because I read a lot of reviews of the Direzzas hydroplaning. Wouldn't say it was outstanding, but honestly for my first true "summer" tyre, I was somewhat disappointed because I was expecting more grip.

So I had my mind set on the Ecsta SPT after reading reviews here and online, as I liked what I saw in terms of the price, performance and treadwear. I planned to make it my next purchase.

Now come time to buy, and nowhere has it in my size (215/45/17) :evil: Why is it whenever you're ready to buy tyres the one you want in your size is never available :x

Checked L&DG and M/Mack and none of them have. Anyone knows where else sells them?

Other than this, it looks like I'm left with the DZ101s or the Sumitomo HTR Z2, none of which I'm really too keen on, but given my budget will still gladly take them over all the Nexen or Triangle rubbish out there.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » August 29th, 2011, 6:04 pm

EVA Unit-01 wrote:
X_Factor wrote:^ a guy is selling 4 in the parts forum...i think its like 800 for 1

yeah, i bought them and put them on on Sunday :) waiting for the coating to wear off before i give them a lil run...

but for now i can say that the ride is a lot smoother, with a ver minor improvement in road noise over the Ecsta SPT's. where there is a big difference is in terms of cornering, as the T1R's are very round an give you a kind of sweeping rolling feel when going into corners.

Glad you like em bro.

Postby X_Factor » August 29th, 2011, 6:15 pm

^ wey mih commission?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » August 30th, 2011, 12:37 am

same ting here man...its when ur rdy to buy, it ends up being the dunlops and maybe michelins that might fall within price range, while other brands dont have ur size.. ah boi...i think i going back with the dz101 as well..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 30th, 2011, 3:55 am

Well, I doh know what goig on with laughlin and de gannes... I call about a tyre on friday i get quoted $845.. Good price
I call back today, same tyre is now $935...

I proceed to call pt lisas branch, same tyre is $1015 there.. What is the real story with them?

========

Oh yes, I managed to pick up a 4" screw in my Kumho SPT on the accord.. Took it back to MM and they patched it for $35... Paid an extra $20 for balancing though which could have been complementary but say what..
As I was there got my nitrogen topped up.. Total time in MM was about 45 mins maybe?

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 30th, 2011, 11:39 am

Called LD&G Pt Lisas for some 225 70 16 Kumho for my pops XTrail, they said "Yes we have, we sure, we looking at it right now"

Gone down all happy with mihself because all we finding in that size is Roadstone ($675)and Goodyear ($1200 lil too rich for me right now) and lo and behold they don't actually have the size.

They have 235 70 16, 225 60 16 etc etc. :?

On another note, please remember to SHOP AROUND.

As an EXAMPLE... Roadstone 225 70 16 Jacks in Couva is $840 and at V&S in Chaguanas it's $675

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 30th, 2011, 1:38 pm

Well it turns out that L&DG not having any stock of the tire that I had my mind set on buying now that I am ready to buy (the Ecsta SPT) may have been a blessing in disguise.

After this I called Tyre Centre on Wrightson Rd. with no expectations yesterday to see if they by chance had the Hankook V12 Evo in my size. "Yes sir we do". I was shocked, because last year when I was buying tyres (after seeing posters and banners with it in their stores), I checked both branches for them and they just laughed saying that the posters were only a Hankook advertisement - they didn't actually have them.

I actually called the south branch on Monday this week and they said they had none in my size.

So I went today to buy them, and surprise, they were the correct tyre and in my size! I was half expecting a situation like Strugglerzinc mentioned above. Couldn't believe it, and I'm excited about the purchase. This tyre is actually the one I would have bought even if I had all the different tyre types available to me, because of this comparison test from C&D with it and 8 other performance "summer" tyres http://www.caranddriver.com/reviews/comparisons/09q2/tire_test_nine_affordable_summer_tires_take_on_the_michelin_ps2-comparison_tests - it came in 2nd place.

Will update the thread once they "break in" and I can give a proper review on them.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 30th, 2011, 4:02 pm

V12 Evos *envy*

Postby X_Factor » August 30th, 2011, 4:08 pm

Dreadman

how much u paid for 1?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 30th, 2011, 4:26 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:V12 Evos *envy*

X_Factor - my size (215/45/17) was $1000 each. A bit more than my budgeted amount of ~$750 per tyre. But from what I've read online and reviews from a friend who also has them on his car, I think the extra $250 is worth it if you can make it. Will know for sure myself in time.

That price is very attractive, compared to the prices of similar tyres in the "summer performance" category like the Continental SportContact2 for $1791, Michelin Pilot Exlato 2 for $1967 @ L&DG, or even the Kumho KH11 for $1100.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 30th, 2011, 4:28 pm

Good work on the v12 evo's... I would take those over the SPT although the SPT isn't that far behind...

Does anyone have experience with the kumho ecsta kU33... I looking for new rubber and this and the all terrain Kumho RoadVenture SAT.. I think I will end up going with the SAT just because of the positive reviews.. compared to almost no info on the ku33...
--------------
Note that L+DG has a bunch of continental there particularly in 16 and 17" but they never really tell you price unless you go and specifically ask for it...

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 30th, 2011, 4:41 pm

The prices I quoted above were from L&DG, but I did have to pry it out of them. But I agree with you - you never know for sure unless you go look for yourself.

Just that all that driving around is stress, when a phone call is so much easier. Pity almost all the places don't know anything much about the tyres they sell.

Actually out of everywhere I called (L&DG, MM, Tyre Clinic, Tyre Centre) $720 was the cheapest decent (no Nexen, Triangle, Roadstone nonsense) tyre I could find, and these were for the DZ101s and the Sumitomo HTR Z II. The next cheapest after this was $1006 for another type of Hankook I never heard of.

syntax

Postby syntax » August 31st, 2011, 10:28 pm

guys whats the most cost effective way to bring in tyres... or is it cheaper to buy locally

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 1st, 2011, 2:40 am

A quick read could have answered your question...
If its normal tyres you looking for, just buy locally..

If you want something REALLY special eg. serious track tyres, top of the line michelin, continental etc, or serious mud tyres.... then you look into importing..

Most cases, buy local but try to buy a reputable brand (no roadstone, nexen, triangle, bolex, westlake etc)

syntax

Postby syntax » September 1st, 2011, 6:03 pm

i was really referring to michelin, conti, yoko etc reason i went to quick service and a 185/65/r14 michelin energy tyre was 950 + vat............

Postby X_Factor » September 1st, 2011, 6:59 pm

^ those michelin energy tires are touring tires....

personally wont pay so much for that

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 1st, 2011, 9:48 pm

The michelin energy tyres they have in stock .... I doh know what to say... Charging money to sell people useless tyres...
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... gy+MXV4+S8
That is the one they put on my mom Cefiro when it was still a company car.... To me it was below average in every single category but still ridiculously expensive...

To import you need to be talking Michelin Pilot Sport 3 or SuperSports..
Your average michelin really isn't worth the import..

Considering your size, see if you can fit some wider tyres.. Possibly a 195/65/14 or 195/60/14..
You goin to struggle to find quality sporty tyres selling in 14 though..

In the end you might just end up having to settle for an average kumho.. It wont be amazing but you will have about $1800 leftover in your pocket you would have spent on michelin and you can use that to do whatever else to your car... Better brakes maybe?

Postby bushwakka » September 1st, 2011, 10:15 pm

dredman1 wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:V12 Evos *envy*

X_Factor - my size (215/45/17) was $1000 each. A bit more than my budgeted amount of ~$750 per tyre. But from what I've read online and reviews from a friend who also has them on his car, I think the extra $250 is worth it if you can make it. Will know for sure myself in time.

That price is very attractive, compared to the prices of similar tyres in the "summer performance" category like the Continental SportContact2 for $1791, Michelin Pilot Exlato 2 for $1967 @ L&DG, or even the Kumho KH11 for $1100.

wow!!! prices skyrocket on those tyres bai! i pay $800 a pop wit balancing and all for that same size V12 las year!!! i will concur.....they are awesome tyres! wd take them over the T1R's anyday cuz they are also a lot quieter

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 2nd, 2011, 10:24 am

Yep - the DZ101s and HTR Z II which are now $720 were $625 last year when I bought my tyres. You got a great deal on those V12 Evos for $800 back then - I was searching high and low last year for them when I was looking for tyres, but couldn't find them in my size - ended up buying Dunlop SP 9000 for $825 :evil:

At this rate, the V12 Evos in my size would be $1200 next year :(

***Wonders if I should go buy another set now for when my current ones need changing***

Postby bushwakka » September 3rd, 2011, 2:26 pm

dredman1 wrote:Yep - the DZ101s and HTR Z II which are now $720 were $625 last year when I bought my tyres. You got a great deal on those V12 Evos for $800 back then - I was searching high and low last year for them when I was looking for tyres, but couldn't find them in my size - ended up buying Dunlop SP 9000 for $825 :evil:

At this rate, the V12 Evos in my size would be $1200 next year :(

***Wonders if I should go buy another set now for when my current ones need changing***

boyyyyy......i wish i had buy 2 set one time for real! sheit like dz101 sellin for $720?!!! OH EM GEE!

ya, the evos were cheaper than the sp sport maxx which is was comparing them to and which they also exceeded in performance

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 Inital Impressions Review

Postby Big Z » September 3rd, 2011, 4:58 pm

Kumho Ecsta HM KH31

Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 Initial Impressions Review

Vehicle
2009 Suzuki Swift Sport

Original Tyre
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx 195-50-16

Previous Tyre
Nitto NeoGen 205-40-16

Current Tyre
Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 205-50-16

Initial Impressions
Ride is definitely smoother with the higher profile.
A bit more body roll, again attributable to the higher profile.
Forward dry traction is good... could barely chirp second gear.
Lift off throttle oversteer in barely noticeable, but braking oversteer is noticeably increased.
Power-on traction while cornering seems good. No oversteer experienced.
Probably didn't push the tyres hard enough to get to their limit, but I experienced no twitching while pushing around the corners.
Braking seem normal, but didn't do any aggressive stops.

Click here for oversteer explanations

I still need to play with the tyre pressures to see what works best.
I shall update as I put some mileage on the tyres.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 3rd, 2011, 9:32 pm

Where you getting that to buy Z?
Whats the price?
Do they have 15" ?
What is the threadware?