tyres

syntax

Re: tyres

Postby syntax » July 4th, 2011, 8:45 pm

GUys where can i get Hub centric rings?????

GA15DE-T

Postby GA15DE-T » July 5th, 2011, 4:31 pm

I use Toyo Proxes on my 15's price at $700
and also Nexen 17's at $450

Idk where can i get these for Less :/

Postby bushwakka » July 7th, 2011, 5:13 pm

syntax wrote:bushwakka i didnt get them at the centre i got them at wheel wizard in debe, anyway a lil update when i had my Kumho solus Kr21 in the slightest of wet roads the ABS will come on under a hard braking but what amazes me is that the hankook does not do this at all, had to stop hard in a muddy road and the abs didnt come on and braking distance was well short of the kumho

yes....im becoming a believer in the hankooks after trying the evos....i dunno how the lower end models are....but almost every brand has a good model (except nexen an all those other chinee sheit)

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 8th, 2011, 12:47 am

Well, I had plain on Hankook Optimo H406 on my accord for about 6 years..Not a special tire by any means, average grip, comfort, noise etc.. but those things kept on going no matter what potholes or how many times i had to repair damage from nails etc.. I also used to abuse the tyres like crazy, always happy to burn rubber on corners when given chance etc.. Also had some really heavy braking situations and they never flat spotted..

Eventually i used them to the point that i was almost slick... No idea on kilometers but I would say definitely over 60,000....

Switched up to the Kumho Ecsta SPT (KU31) after, and the dry and wet grip is certainly better than the Hankook but as a consequence I am not expecting them to last anywhere near as long..

The point of all this is that an unassuming tyre gave me years and years of satisfaction.. Sometimes you get surprised by these sort of things..
The biggest problem with Hankook is simply stock issues.. If you are in south though, you will get excellent service

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 17th, 2011, 8:00 am

So I'm about 1000km into my Kumhos now, and they are still the quietest tyre I've owned thus far (vs stock Bridgestone, BF Goodrich G-Force Sport and Dunlop DZ101).

No grip problems in wet or dry. All the previous tyres I had (except stock) hydroplaned on the highway. But to be honest I haven't driven fast in those same areas due to the resurfacing of the highway. So far, I like these tyres a lot. I would place them ahead of the Dunlops and stock, not sure if they're better than the BFs yet.

Postby X_Factor » July 17th, 2011, 11:04 am

how do u guys test dry and wet traction on ur tires?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 17th, 2011, 3:14 pm

There is no really objective way to test your tyres without the right equipment but the easiest way is really just using a standard test drive route...

I have one about 5 minutes from home, hills, fast corners, slow corners etc.. Gives you a good chance to feel how one tyre handles compared to another... Its just a matter of personal feel though and it wouldn't be sufficient for other people, but you personally will definitely feel a difference.. That is a dry traction test reallly..

Wet traction, I usually find a moderate sized puddle, test the wet traction in it, then use some clear road to test wet braking..

Postby A172 » July 18th, 2011, 9:47 am

where can I find 13" slicks locally or who can I check to get them for me? MM have them in 14" and 15" only

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » July 20th, 2011, 2:07 pm

"silent_riot" What car are these tires fitted to? Would you recommend them over the:
maxxis MA-Z1 Victra
dz101?

Also guys whats the difference between the kh31 and the ku31? I am looking to get tires for the civic sir for sprint driving and Marcus runs. I would like to push my car to its limits but I want to make sure I have proper grip first. My normal speed on the SN highway is around 160-190KMH so I am hoping to get something to hold that speed.

I am getting the kh31 for $560 at L&D and the ku31 $695 at MM

Re:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 26th, 2011, 4:46 pm

X_Factor wrote:
a direzza dz101 which i still think is the best 15" tyre for 500-525

where has these at this price?

Postby X_Factor » July 26th, 2011, 4:53 pm

almost anywhere

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 26th, 2011, 5:28 pm

Wheel wizard was quoting me 550 for 205/50/15 nexens.....and well from these reviews I believe thats kinda expensive for nexens which have alot of bad reviews....

car has the yokohama....original tyres...would have been nice to get back these butI dont think anywhere sell these in trinidad

Postby A172 » July 26th, 2011, 8:27 pm

A172 wrote:where can I find 13" slicks locally or who can I check to get them for me? MM have them in 14" and 15" only

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2011, 3:02 pm

Guys are there any tyres with these specs

205/55/15.....

I know that 205/50/15 are common.....but is there any thing like

205/55/15??

thanks.....

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 27th, 2011, 9:22 pm

I run 205/55/15 in Kumho Ecsta SPT

Paid about $550 or so each, very good tyre

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 28th, 2011, 11:28 am

where u got those kumhos?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 28th, 2011, 1:08 pm

You coulda search and you woulda find out... But either Laughlin & DeGannes or Mileage mack..
Good luck

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 28th, 2011, 10:04 pm

well just getting some preliminary information before i go shopping for them accord.......

ent thats what tuner for.....

thanks man....

xcalibur1

Postby xcalibur1 » August 7th, 2011, 11:27 pm

nexen 1000 extra load works fine 215 45 17 ... 320 treadwear temp A
no proplems so far works great on wet an dry ...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 7th, 2011, 11:58 pm

CD4Accord wrote:Well, I had plain on Hankook Optimo H406 on my accord for about 6 years..Not a special tire by any means, average grip, comfort, noise etc.. but those things kept on going no matter what potholes or how many times i had to repair damage from nails etc.. I also used to abuse the tyres like crazy, always happy to burn rubber on corners when given chance etc.. Also had some really heavy braking situations and they never flat spotted..

Eventually i used them to the point that i was almost slick... No idea on kilometers but I would say definitely over 60,000....

Switched up to the Kumho Ecsta SPT (KU31) after, and the dry and wet grip is certainly better than the Hankook but as a consequence I am not expecting them to last anywhere near as long..

The point of all this is that an unassuming tyre gave me years and years of satisfaction.. Sometimes you get surprised by these sort of things..
The biggest problem with Hankook is simply stock issues.. If you are in south though, you will get excellent service

had some hankook blackbird tyres on my car for about two years, never heard of the tyre before or saw any reviews online, even when they was almost bald thier grip in wet and dry was great, imagine bald hankook way much better than brand new roadstone! Where sells hankook tyres, if not I am going kumho.

Marct

Postby Marct » August 8th, 2011, 3:17 pm

kumhos are over $600 now @MM -

looking for195/55/15

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2011, 7:07 pm

nareshseep wrote:...Where sells hankook tyres, if not I am going kumho.

You should be able to get Hankook tyres at Tyre Centre.

Postby X_Factor » August 12th, 2011, 7:31 pm

Anyone uses the Bridgestone Turanza tires?
i know its not the high end models, any reviews?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 13th, 2011, 12:14 am

every tire website can review that for you....

www.tirerack.com
www.1010tires.com
www.onlinetyres.co.uk

Turanza like all tires had its good and bad ones, check the specific model and reference it to tirerack to see..
Then post price and location and let us know!

Postby X_Factor » August 13th, 2011, 8:12 am

^ yeah i checked tirerack already and saw a 50/50 review on them
Its the Turanza ER300

but i was hoping someone used them locally as our road conditions are entirely different to others
I know its not considered a sporty tire as well, so i was wondering how good the dry grip would be

I also know they come as the stock tire in most foreign used vehicles as well
I'm getting a set thats off a F.Used for a fairly decent price so thats why im asking

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 13th, 2011, 1:11 pm

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Bridg ... -ER300.htm
Doesnt seem to be one of the better bridgestones out there... If you can find the Turanza Serenity instead you in business...
What price is the ER300? Shop around in that price point and see if you can do better?
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/surveyres ... ?type=GTAS

That should provide some decent options..

Also, what size you looking for?

Postby X_Factor » August 13th, 2011, 1:51 pm

im getting the ER300 for 175 each, (195/55/15)
Its coming off a recetly purchased RORO vehicle and the owner is going with some 18's
so im getting the option to buy them...it has pretty good thread life remaining..

wet grip doesnt have to be that good as once its wet i usually go on the left lane and drop to 60-80kph

dry road is a different story....

dreadman

Postby dreadman » August 14th, 2011, 12:26 am

i recently bought some 15" rims for my accent..........went lookin out for tyres an i was gettin 205/50/15 roadstone for $400 brand new. gettin maxxis same size for $485

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 14th, 2011, 1:43 am

X_factor..
At that price you can't really go wrong but they key is to check the manufacturer date on the FU tires if you get a chance.. Anything older than 3 years (regardless of TREAD or visual wear) I wouldnt touch..

-----------------------------------------------------------
dreadman:
Skip the roadstone and maxxis and move up to Kumho SPT or a comparable brand for ~$550 each.. You wont regret it..

If you had to chose between roadstone and maxxis, then definitely maxxis!

Postby X_Factor » August 14th, 2011, 2:36 am

^ yeah it was a "08" tyre and i ended up taking them this evening
just to change shocks and i'll put them on

and yeah, those Kumho SPT's are the best tire within the price range ATM