Whats a man to do if his his budget allows him $500 per tyre....17's

take out life insurance...

nareshseep

Re: tyres

Postby nareshseep » February 23rd, 2011, 2:39 pm

Since we are on tyres, lets talk about the 2nd important half: Alignment,
What Alignment shops are the best

The reason I ask is there are some shops out there that can kill!
So far I recommend
Michelin service centre - Marabella branch
Alignment shop by AC delco of Couva Preysal Flyover

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 23rd, 2011, 2:57 pm

For alignment Mileage Mack is the business...I took a vehicle to 2 places before I went there and they were the only shop to do a printout and show me where the problem was....did a printout of the suspension setup for my vehicle and indicated what needed to be done.....very professional.

I would argue that the 2nd most important thing is year of manufacture. I went to this place that had a sale on Nittos and when I checked the manufacture date....the tyres were all over 8yrs. Learn to read the 4 digit code stamped on the tyre sidewall to indicate yr of manufacture.

(2 digits for week of the year plus 2 digits for year) so if you see 4009 stamped on the sidewall then that tyre was manufactured in the 40th week of 2009

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 23rd, 2011, 5:52 pm

^^^yup, isn't it recommended to not purchase tyres four years or older?

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 23rd, 2011, 6:39 pm

recommended, but how many unscrupulous dealers adhere to recommendations.
good info ek4ever, that's how i knew my spare was 7 years old.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 23rd, 2011, 7:46 pm

my spare like, (counts on fingers) 8 yrs old, time to toss that bad boy...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 24th, 2011, 12:31 am

You say that eh, but believe this... My spare is 14 years old.. Original Bridgestone RE760 (i think) 160 treadwear A, A OEM from Honda.. used once over all them years, and I had it checked out by the fellas at MM.. they were impressed by it but guaranteed me that its definitely in good enough condition to stay as the spare... It hasnt lost a bit of air over 2 or 3 yrs, and has NO signs of sidewall cracking or dryrotting..

So today I saw a 2010 Mustang GT California with aftermarket rims on Nexen N3000... Not sure how he plans to put down that v8 power on THOSE!

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » February 24th, 2011, 7:20 am

^^^slowly, one horse at a time... :lol:

didn't get to test my Ecsta's @ last Dex, but they held superbly in the rains of the past few days. even manged to cross 120kmph with tolerable traction :)

Postby cinco » February 24th, 2011, 10:20 am

more like sideways in a cloud of smoke

Postby A172 » March 3rd, 2011, 9:23 am

saw a Spec B Legacy upside dong an fold up like ah roti in de median this morning.....he had on some bess tires doh :|

wha allyuh feel happen dey bai?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 3rd, 2011, 9:48 am

Woman driver happened hahahahaha
I mean, anything could happen.. Someone fall asleep, get hit from another car, could be anything really...

Postby A172 » March 3rd, 2011, 10:56 am

so how come de tires din prevent that dan?

gfbl

Postby gfbl » March 3rd, 2011, 12:30 pm

ghostbusters wrote:
Veritrini wrote:thats a bummer !

Whats a man to do if his his budget allows him $500 per tyre....17's

take out life insurance...

rofl

Postby bushwakka » March 3rd, 2011, 1:16 pm

A172 wrote:so how come de tires din prevent that dan?

coz he was running yours

Postby A172 » March 3rd, 2011, 1:37 pm

bushwakka wrote:
A172 wrote:so how come de tires din prevent that dan?

coz he was running yours

wha tires I have on?

Postby Dave » March 3rd, 2011, 6:54 pm

ANY tyre bought and used in the speed limit and in a manner fitting for a public road will not have any of those consequences and for the average joe would be more than sufficient
But as was said and using as an example, you gonna put some nexens on a stang and expect it to work for such a vehicle and telling me you will obey all road laws, gimme me a break

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 3rd, 2011, 7:11 pm

ANY tyre bought and used in the speed limit and in a manner fitting for a public road will not have any of those consequences and for the average joe would be more than sufficient
But as was said and using as an example, you gonna put some nexens on a stang and expect it to work for such a vehicle and telling me you will obey all road laws, gimme me a break

Well said, as always.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » March 14th, 2011, 8:47 pm

Dave wrote:ANY tyre bought and used in the speed limit and in a manner fitting for a public road will not have any of those consequences and for the average joe would be more than sufficient

I wont go that far and say ANY.
Some tires are just junk, period.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 16th, 2011, 10:31 pm

who has best prices now??? preferably south side......last time I bought some sumitomos and was like $750 for one....looking for 225/60/16's or 235/60/16's

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 16th, 2011, 10:57 pm

i like to buy from Laughlin and deGannes, cheaper than mileage mack and tyre centre, good service and warranty

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » March 20th, 2011, 4:13 pm

^^^ wa prices u getting at Laughlin and deGannes and mileage mack and tyre centre an for wa size?????

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 20th, 2011, 6:12 pm

and what brand as well??!!!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 20th, 2011, 7:07 pm

i buy kumho, kumhos around 200 cheaper at L&G than at mileage mack.i usually buy the ecsta spt for round 650 for 16's and round 800 for 17's...

Postby MG Man » March 20th, 2011, 8:52 pm

anyone know3 where I can get a new 15" space saver (donot) spare?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » April 7th, 2011, 8:23 pm

Potenza S-04 Pole Position

The Potenza S-04 Pole Position is Bridgestone’s newest flagship entry into the summer performance tire line-up and replaces the RE050A Pole Position. The S-04 PP has been engineered with features to provide improved wet and dry handling. Wide circumferential grooves provide rapid water evacuation. High silica content improves traction in wet conditions by increasing the flexibility of the tread compound, while the footprint has been optimized for even contact pressure across the whole tread surface, compared with its predecessor the RE050A.

Large, stiff, high grip shoulder blocks on the Potenza S-04 help maximize road contact and handling through corners and a continuous interlocking centre rib provides quick response to steering inputs.

To help minimize noise, Bridgestone incorporated an advanced pattern design with Resonance Noise Attenuated (RENOA) Silencer Groove. Essentially, the RENOA are small grooves cut into the tread which are not connected and do not open up into a larger groove. As a result, the tires generate less noise.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 8th, 2011, 3:14 am

I'm trying to find some tires in this size: 205/60/14.
Anyone have any good recommendations?
Things I DON'T want:
1. I don't want a number or a contact to anywhere locally "to check". I'm not in tnt.
2. SUMMER TIRES ONLY. I already have winter tires. So no all season.
3. I need something sticky. I'm running falken azenis right now but I dont expect them to last long :|
4. Don't want drag radials. I like my axles.

Please only tires you've tried. I could read the online reviews myself :roll:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 8th, 2011, 2:10 pm

Jnqaz, 14's are really a hard size to get many options in, especially in the 205/60/15 you quoted..
Most of the tyres in 14's always seem to come up as drag radials..

If you are willing to compromise to 195/60/15 you can get the excellent Dunlop Sport Z1 Star Spec..
There was a review of them posted on this thread some way back, and they seem to be excellent choices..

Other one of note I see coming up are the same Falken Azenis you probably running now...
Its funny how 14's barely have any options again but 15" and up has mostly everything available..

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 8th, 2011, 5:49 pm

yup performance tires in 14's are getting really hard to come by now :|
I am rocking 196 60 14's azenis right now. Which works but i want something either stickier or wider.
I'd prefer wider just because I'm a ricer and wider looks better :lol: :lol: :lol:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » May 4th, 2011, 4:16 pm

^^ Was by M/Mack today & they now stock Yokohama S.Drive & Pirelli tires now !