can licensing office approve fogs please read!

Re: can licensing office approve fogs please read!

Postby BrotherHood » August 20th, 2014, 3:04 pm

No they cannot and won't. That would then be stupid, regardless of whether it is manufacturer installed or otherwise.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 20th, 2014, 3:09 pm

So the key is to not use them during the day seeing that police hardly ever stop people at night?

Also aren't using daylight running lights during the day technically illegal as well?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 20th, 2014, 7:41 pm

BrotherHood wrote:No they cannot and won't. That would then be stupid, regardless of whether it is manufacturer installed or otherwise.

TTPS may not, but LO could give you a ticket for illegal lamp fixture or some bollocks so

Postby DVSTT » August 20th, 2014, 9:13 pm

Sundar wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
Andrew5710 wrote:I have fogs on a ad wagon hid kit intensity 8k after writing up the ticket for 750 the officer told me to avoid this again, go to licensing office in port of spain and ask them to approve my fogs they will charge me 20 dollars and give me a cirtificate stating my fogs are approved he said fogs that any other colour than white will not be approved and your ticket will be sure have any of you heard about this???

:lol: who ever told you that info is a real pleb.

why are street lights yellow / amber?
why are factory fogs yellow / amber?

lastly HID is foglights are useless....you are essentially blinding oncoming traffic.
are you one of those who drive with only fog lights on and no headlights??

lastly the reason why LO say fogs are illegal is cause of "monkey see monkey do"
one fool put 8k HID in the foglight..another fool say it lookin good and do that too...pretty soon we hav everyone with 8k fog lights blinding other drivers.

another sceneario:

one fool drive with fogs on during the day - which is a charge btw -another fool see it an say it lookin good -and just like before we have everyone drivin with fog on durin the day time.

so which is easier for LO to do to fix the problem - say what kelvin is supposed to be used in fog lights or say fog lights illegal on the whole.???

here's a fun activity to try with your 8K HID foglight
when there white rain i want you to turn on your fogs and try driving through that. come back and tell us the outcome.

from an engineering stand point -you cant simply install HID system into a fog lights. go figure out why.

i second that

HIDs in your halogen headlight are even more tewts.

http://forums.evolutionm.net/04-06-rall ... sings.html

Postby skylinechild » August 21st, 2014, 8:01 am

DVSTT wrote:

i'll help you out buddy. next time you want to post an internet source do your research as ALOT of tuners dont like to read- we rather watch a video :lol:

below is the video explaining what is taking place.- tried to embed - wasnt embedding - therefore i put the link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5n38wDe684#t=143

also FYI the cars are RHD like ours....pay attention to the part they say about fitting gas discharge lamps

good info there DVSTT

keep the discussion going guys... 8-)

Postby cinco » August 21st, 2014, 8:35 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:So the key is to not use them during the day seeing that police hardly ever stop people at night?

Also aren't using daylight running lights during the day technically illegal as well?

Drls are illegal in our archaic laws
Iirc you can even have split beam (seperate hi and lo) headlights as it onky allows for
One source of white light from the front of the vehicle and amber turning lamps that is all

Postby DVSTT » August 21st, 2014, 9:02 am

skylinechild wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

i'll help you out buddy. next time you want to post an internet source do your research as ALOT of tuners dont like to read- we rather watch a video :lol:

below is the video explaining what is taking place.- tried to embed - wasnt embedding - therefore i put the link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5n38wDe684#t=143

also FYI the cars are RHD like ours....pay attention to the part they say about fitting gas discharge lamps

good info there DVSTT

keep the discussion going guys... 8-)

Thanks buddy.

Postby BrotherHood » August 21st, 2014, 9:06 am

cinco wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:So the key is to not use them during the day seeing that police hardly ever stop people at night?

Drls are illegal in our archaic laws
Iirc you can even have split beam (seperate hi and lo) headlights as it onky allows for
One source of white light from the front of the vehicle and amber turning lamps that is all

really archaic yes. so then the local the local nze corolla to recent corolla, new lancer, mazda 3, wingroad y11 big headlight and Y12 etc are all illegal then.

Time for a revamp of our motor vehicle and road traffic laws.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2014, 9:15 am

imo I think the problem is not the fog lights but the bright arse hids men does be putting in them.I have passed through numerous road blocks with meh normal standard fog lights and nobody doh say nun.

Postby skylinechild » August 26th, 2014, 6:35 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:imo I think the problem is not the fog lights but the bright arse hids men does be putting in them.I have passed through numerous road blocks with meh normal standard fog lights and nobody doh say nun.

yup...laws need a total revamp. no longer is "up to the officers discretion" acceptable.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 29th, 2014, 11:17 am

maybe we should put this in the papers?, sign a petition for yellow fogs to be legal(oem)

Postby skylinechild » August 29th, 2014, 2:34 pm

Sundar wrote:maybe we should put this in the papers?, sign a petition for yellow fogs to be legal(oem)

if we do that a minister son / daughter / friend will get the contract to import OEM foglights....to sell to the public... :lol:

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 29th, 2014, 2:42 pm

:lol: atleast we still get to use dem, and a man bringing it in too well had better be a damn good price. :conman:

Postby skylinechild » August 29th, 2014, 4:39 pm

Sundar wrote::lol: atleast we still get to use dem, and a man bringing it in too well had better be a damn good price. :conman:

true... but why pay someone for something you can source for yourself.??

http://www.amayama.com << buy oem lights from them.
www. amazon.com <<< buy nokya stage 1 yellow bulbs from them.

problem solved.

or the trini method
bamboo / trinituner forum << foglights for your car- exact fit but another brand - not OEM
any parts place close to you <<<< bulbs - may not be yellow (enough) though. :lol:
Last edited by skylinechild on August 30th, 2014, 7:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

rane

Postby rane » August 29th, 2014, 10:06 pm

Dlaa brand the real deal.

Wolfstein

Postby Wolfstein » August 30th, 2014, 9:31 am

basically hid in fog lamps are illegal. fog lamps are amber to yellow in colour like those on maxis and the c33 laurel. what we have are additional lamps attached to our vehicles. the law requires that fog lamps as well as additional lamps must not exceed 55w. thats why older vehicles have 35w bulbs in them. hid is 35w standard. but emit equvilent of 100w or greater. hence the reason why it is a charge. Driving with fog lamps or additional lamps on during the day is a charge. Once your vehicle was fitted with a fog/additional lamp it is not a charge if you change the required bulb then you face the chance of getting a ticket.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 30th, 2014, 12:38 pm

so them led strips around the rotor illegal too?

Postby skylinechild » August 30th, 2014, 3:46 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so them led strips around the rotor illegal too?

yup... :lol:

Postby BrotherHood » September 4th, 2014, 10:54 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so them led strips around the rotor illegal too?

Yes. Those would be categorised as unauthorised lights.

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2014, 11:20 am

But what about people like moi whose vehicle didn't come with fog lights?
I retrofitted mine with them and installed a separate switch so I can put it on when I want (even without the park light). Looks OEM but for the sake of ole talk I switch it off when I see police now.

Seems they just bad mind and sometimeish. They stop my sister for her fog light a day but she have tint that pitch black. Looking to harras she about fog light but the vehicle tint down pitch black and they could care less.

Maybe a next time when they feel like writing ticket for tint she will get while tom, harry and Larry with hid in the fogs get away Scott free.

Postby BrotherHood » September 4th, 2014, 11:58 am

Same here. Whenever I bounce up roadblock I does take off my fogs.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 4th, 2014, 3:21 pm

:2gunfire: @ laws in T&T

Postby skylinechild » September 5th, 2014, 6:56 pm

nervewrecker wrote:But what about people like moi whose vehicle didn't come with fog lights?
I retrofitted mine with them and installed a separate switch so I can put it on when I want (even without the park light). Looks OEM but for the sake of ole talk I switch it off when I see police now.

Seems they just bad mind and sometimeish. They stop my sister for her fog light a day but she have tint that pitch black. Looking to harras she about fog light but the vehicle tint down pitch black and they could care less.

Maybe a next time when they feel like writing ticket for tint she will get while tom, harry and Larry with hid in the fogs get away Scott free.

for ppl like you who cars didnt come with fog lights....is salt... :lol:
go and buy the after market, and install...and yup it would work without the park light of course -
you can go OEM - only if your car came pre wired for it. :!:

me on the other hand i had it easy.. just buy the foglight and install...and plug in the switch in the dash...and done !!

why u switch it orf when u see the popo...u drive with it orn (durin the day) or wha... :lol:

i use mine only at night..to get better visibility in front of the car. once i dont need it...its not used

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2014, 7:04 pm

It had the wiring and everything.
I bought the plastic set and them crap literally melt. Got the original glass ones now....and yesterday one bulb blow lawl

I use it in low lighting conditions to make sure other vehicles can see me.

And off course when I see a nice beti side the road I does turn it on sometimes. Rajness in meh nah

konartis

Postby konartis » September 5th, 2014, 7:53 pm

the offence it self doesn't distinguish what light is illegal or not, it just says lower part of the bumper etc, which would cancel out the bumper lights, the cars itself have to be inspected my the LO to give the vehicle the OK to have the lights, no where in the law says anything about HID lights, altering the lights of the car etc, which to me should be amended, US law has it that you must have a projector light fitted in order to use the HID lights, which i think T&T should also do...

Postby skylinechild » September 5th, 2014, 8:01 pm

konartis wrote:the offence it self doesn't distinguish what light is illegal or not, it just says lower part of the bumper etc, which would cancel out the bumper lights, the cars itself have to be inspected my the LO to give the vehicle the OK to have the lights, no where in the law says anything about HID lights, altering the lights of the car etc, which to me should be amended, US law has it that you must have a projector light fitted in order to use the HID lights, which i think T&T should also do...

which is what everyone has been saying bro... :lol:

laws needed to be amended to cater for newer technologies LED, HID, DRL's and set guidelines for what is permissible- kelvin color and proper description of fog lights or accessory lights or auxiliary lights.

it should no longer be "at the discretion of the officer"

samos

Postby samos » September 5th, 2014, 9:31 pm

Fog Lights are illegal only if you are caught with it on in a road block or the lights happen to annoy the police in on coming traffic.the fog light itself weather it came factory or after market installed yellow or white is not illegal.ONLY IF YOU ARE CAUGHT WITH IT ON

vishnu2112

Postby vishnu2112 » September 5th, 2014, 9:45 pm

Well idk abt most ppl but i have fogs on my y12 which came from the dealer ship with superwhite bulbs. Xenon i think and so to are my headlights and i have been stoped in numerous road blocks at night with my fogs on and never had a problem. So i think that ur main problem is not ur actual fog lights but is ur HID kit.

Postby BrotherHood » September 6th, 2014, 9:13 am

samos wrote:Fog Lights are illegal only if you are caught with it on in a road block or the lights happen to annoy the police in on coming traffic.the fog light itself weather it came factory or after market installed yellow or white is not illegal.ONLY IF YOU ARE CAUGHT WITH IT ON

So they can be outfitted to a car but not used. It is just plain illegal to have them illuminated. It is that you are saying?

Postby cinco » September 6th, 2014, 9:18 am

BrotherHood wrote:
samos wrote:Fog Lights are illegal only if you are caught with it on in a road block or the lights happen to annoy the police in on coming traffic.the fog light itself weather it came factory or after market installed yellow or white is not illegal.ONLY IF YOU ARE CAUGHT WITH IT ON

So they can be outfitted to a car but not used. It is just plain illegal to have them illuminated. It is that you are saying?

He talkin a pack ah arse