v8 vs sr20

Val

Postby Val » September 21st, 2006, 11:48 am

turbo master wrote:to those of you who dont know..there's a special sr engine..which clocks abt 270 HP...that in a light shell will do wonders..i want that engine :D

most japanese cars come with a standard...they cant be produced over 300horses.
but they're super upgradable :D

and as far as i see it..weight isnt that big of an issue but the V8 takes the checkered flag

de man say SR20DET not SR20VET

turbofied

Postby turbofied » September 21st, 2006, 11:30 pm

u think sr20 fast

take a look at halltech gm powah
worlds fastest street legal cars

http://wikicars.org/en/World's_fastest_ ... legal_cars

note it goes gm, mopar, ford

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 22nd, 2006, 7:39 pm

throw the same money at both engines and the V8 would come out on top,

Yes sad but true :( I love you SR20

Postby RASC » September 23rd, 2006, 8:53 pm

1. there are no usdm silvias, you mean a 240sx, with a sr20det swap

2. what type of tyres was the 240sx running?

3. what year camaro?

4. distance of the run where you saw the camaro being beat? (guesstimate would be cool)

turbo master

Postby turbo master » September 26th, 2006, 4:56 am

Walk510 wrote:http://www.turbomagazine.com/tech/0202tur_extremeedge/

anyone ?

some dumb@$$ post a funny car w a 4cylinder that even an sr20 in this thread..WOFB!

and yea..fuh all dem men talking they stupidness abt oh 'power to weight'
sorry eh..but allyuh sure allyuh know abt cars?
a STOCK muscle car from the 70s can run 13-14s..an sr20det STOCK..cant run close to that.

there u go..end of argument.end of thread.

good day

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 26th, 2006, 10:27 am

a STOCK muscle car from the 70s can run 13-14s..an sr20det STOCK..cant run close to that.

there u go..end of argument.end of thread.

good day

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Time
13.52 @ 104.8 MPH

Stock SR, 14lbs, full exhasut and intercooler

Will dyno on saturday. Hoping for 250WHP

91 hatch
s13 balck top
stock 25 on 7 lbs
3"megan downpipe
3"megan o2 housing
3" test pipe
3" ss autochrome exast
Stock clutch
stcok lsd one wheel peel
Apexi safc II but no wide band and stock mafs
tein lowering springs

13.70 at 102.8 On street tires naking 225 45 17 24 lbs of pressure.

http://media.putfile.com/SS_vs_Scott thats the video no scan of ticket yet

from: http://forums.nicoclub.com/zerothread?id=126433&page=2

my lil brother ran 13.0 @ 105mph
blacktop SR
s14 turbo @ 12psi
3inch dp back
everything else is stock (injectors, computer, smic, etc)
205 fm901's on s14 se wheels

practice more on launching and getting the 60ft times down and itll help alot, so will a lsd, even vlsd is better than open, he was somehow pulling 1.9's

13.0 @ 105.5 with stock T25, FMIC, down pipe, exhaust, vlsd, 14psi.

http://forums2.freshalloy.com/showthrea ... 1%2F4+mile

and there are allot more... i am looking for greaser or black bombers post about them hitting 12.9 witha stock SR and stock turbo, only intercooler and exhasut and good driving and tires of course ;)

turbo master

Postby turbo master » September 26th, 2006, 11:11 am

i talkin factory stock..factory tyres everything..d muscle cars have done 13s on the 1/4...n for the sr's..no..with mods..

Val

Postby Val » September 26th, 2006, 12:09 pm

Well then you can't really compare them, cause American muscle cars would've run on American tracks (unless you find a pristine condition stock muscle car to run in Wallerfield).

SR20DET stock 200sx's never came in the States afaik, I could be wrong eh. So you'd have to fly one up to the states to run on their track.

You can't compare times on two different tracks (different set up, different climate).

But I think the 350 V8 would outrun the SR20DET Sylvia though, IMO. But I'd rather own the Sylvia anyday.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 26th, 2006, 1:58 pm

allot (if not all) of the cars i posted ran on street tires, stock ECU etc etc just air filters abd exhaust and some with intercoolers.. factory OEM times from Nissan are between 15.0-14.6 depending on driver and magazine/source you check and thats a stock 220hp 2500llb car, those yankee v8's are stock 400+hp 3500lb cars (all those 68+ camaros, mustangs, firebirds, corvettes etc and are HUGE displacement big blocks).. there is such a thing as 'power to weight ratio' and in drag racing it is one of the bigger if not the biggest concern of teams etc.. 1000hp 3400lb car will be worthless and loose poorly against a 1000hp 2500lb car..

as ai said earlier in the thread, the V8 should be able to win easily depending on year and trim etc..

turbo master

Postby turbo master » September 26th, 2006, 9:31 pm

exactly..so i was wonderin what u were quoting before rs..cuz iz like changing exhaust n IC n all that..is NOT stock..u have a stock IC n aftermarket IC..so yea..that's not stock

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 27th, 2006, 9:54 am

i swear you cant read bro....

my lil brother ran 13.0 @ 105mph
blacktop SR
s14 turbo @ 12psi
3inch dp back
everything else is stock (injectors, computer, smic, etc)
205 fm901's on s14 se wheels

but then again you will pick at anything i post so hate on hater..

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » October 4th, 2006, 8:08 am

turbofied wrote:u think sr20 fast

take a look at halltech gm powah
worlds fastest street legal cars

http://wikicars.org/en/World's_fastest_ ... legal_cars

note it goes gm, mopar, ford

those cars are not normal everday buy cars!

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 17th, 2006, 3:06 pm

what bout a rb26-32

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » December 17th, 2006, 7:03 pm

brant hush....

jed in displacement to the end but u hadda pick ur battles.. a stock sr20det in a s13 wil not beat a zo6 350 ci auto vette.. now a olde 350ci push rod carbi that coem s in teh older camaros.. yep.. techology is a b!tch not to metnion the sr is forced induction.. then u start talkin about liek what rs200 talkin bout.. wieght.. engine for engine a ls-1 v8 is easily twice the weight of the sr20 det so even in the same vehicle the v8 is heavier.. now i thin the sr does soemthign liek 300 hp stock and the ls-1 in zo6 trim does 400..not so . the n u have power train losses , traction issuse b/c im almost cearin the v8 has a higher ftlb... not puting down the lil 4 banggers i love what they can do for there size.. but.. throw that tech behind the 6's 8' or 10 look at bmw for example. thier vanos 3.* stragit six i think puts out 250* at the crank or somthign so.. chip upgrade alone can bring that to over 300hp.. turbo at 3 psi.. 400 no probs.. u get where im coming from.. the linginfelter c5's twin turbo the ls-1 engine.. and put out easily 6-700hp at soemthing like 8psi.. i'll probaly have to go a dig up those articles to get the exact figures for u but u get my point..

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 8th, 2007, 9:38 am

^^you bring out a valid point most of the talk here centered aroung the performance and the generalization of "a V8" , what v8 ?small blocks stock aren't very fast in fact locally i have seen at the track 15 sec et from some of them, on the road there are some small blocks as well that are low reving and shitty trannies and relatively quick cars , sir s , levins leave them between lights and on the beetham this is not a hypotheical case.

Craver

Postby Craver » January 8th, 2007, 2:01 pm

the v8 would sex dat sr20 :twisted:

Postby AllTrac » January 8th, 2007, 11:43 pm

^^over and over again

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 9th, 2007, 9:40 am

^^ how fast is what V8?, and as mentioned by foreign tuners some "only" have 200-220 hp

its the same as saying a rotary, what rotary

for those of you who bow to the mighty small blocks which are the one we generally have here ,
i need to ask

a) have you driven any stock V8 car
b) have you raced against any stock V8 car
c) have you witnessed any race with a stock V8 car

Conrad

Re: v8 vs sr20

Postby Conrad » November 2nd, 2012, 1:27 pm

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 3rd, 2012, 3:27 pm

lol, old ass thread....

No replacement for displacement.

If you really had to put a stock v8 next to a stock sr20, who you think would run 13/14's quicker?

This is providing both cars are original and UNTOUCHED, no airfilter upgrades NOTHING, not even a muffler tip. :lol:

Postby black start » November 3rd, 2012, 4:50 pm

depending on which v8. anybody ever do a 1uz-fe build locally?

droppa

Postby droppa » November 6th, 2012, 10:43 am

the only 1UZ build i know of is the monster hilux that was recently for sale, other than that there are a couple LCs that came with them stock.......

wish cud find one and rest it in mih patrol.....

btw from what ive seen in the offroad caliber, V8 wins over SR!!

Postby black start » November 6th, 2012, 5:19 pm

^that was one monstrous hilux eh....

Postby Ted_v2 » November 6th, 2012, 6:38 pm

v8s are pretty fast stock
sr20s are too but IMO will need some parts to compete with a stock v