FACTS ABOUT SUPER AND PREMIUM GASOLINE

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 10th, 2009, 8:24 pm

. Unless your car's manual expressly states premium must be used super is also safe as long as it meets the octane rating. The ECU will compensate and you will notice a change in performance.

5. Trinidad does produce gasoline.....the Petrotrin refinery imports oil since it cannot meet it's requirements from it's land and sea based production. Most of the oil is purchased from Venezuela...which is why high oil prices are not necessarily a good thing for Trinidad

Excellent summary 8)

teekshan

Postby teekshan » February 17th, 2009, 9:58 pm

You sound like you living in Gasparillo

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » February 18th, 2009, 12:22 pm

i also saw a stark change in switchin to super casue my primera used premium and after switching to super the car accelerated slower and it wasnt as spunky as b4..........the primera o60 time is normally 7.2 seconds but when i checked it was more than dis..........so super in a primera is not good man!!!!!

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » February 18th, 2009, 5:36 pm

well i started usin premium instead of super jus to test this info.......

d car running nice slightly better but could be in my mind.......

is ah f8 1.8 16v in a 626 coupe so i not sure wha i need tuh use........ :oops:

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » February 19th, 2009, 11:00 pm

been using super all the time, i decided to try premium and honestly i feel no difference in performance, was getting better mileage though

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 19th, 2009, 11:42 pm

Your engine's compression ratio determines the octane level that you need to use, high performance NA engines have high compression ratios 10:1 and higher so they therefore need gas that wont ignite as easily ie it needs higher octane gas. Octane rating refers to the resistance to detonation of the gasoline. Most "normal" cars in this country can safely use super and you wont feel any difference if you put premium in it, my ignis sport has compression ratio 11:1 and behind the gas tank cover say to use 98 octane gas only, unfortunately we don't have that so i use premium. The ECU adjusts itself to compensate for the lower octane gas, so technically i am not getting all that my engine can give me but the 95 octane is not too low to cause pinging.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 20th, 2009, 8:41 pm

the primera o60 time is normally 7.2 seconds

Have an SR20DET in there? :lol:

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 20th, 2009, 8:48 pm

^^For real dats real quick

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » February 22nd, 2009, 3:11 pm

nah jus have the qr20de..........yea i kno it quick i does wipe dem men with subaru and civic wen dey wanna run...(well in take off of course) this engine is quick for acceleration and pick ups put it doesnt hold strong higher up in d revs while subaru and dem is right up to d line.......
chris1388, u correct about the engine and compression and stuff..super and premium in a gdi and some nissan engines is two different ting in terms of the output you will get......so y d ass japan have 98 ron and we have shitty 95...wtmc

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 23rd, 2009, 12:47 pm

nah jus have the qr20de..........yea i kno it quick i does wipe dem men with subaru and civic wen dey wanna run...

it doesnt hold strong higher up in d revs while subaru and dem is right up to d line.......

Another one who's been racing 1.6 TS's ...and believe's that every "Subaru" is a fast car. Lemme guess....it was dem "tobo up" WRX an' ting yuh was racing ent?

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » February 23rd, 2009, 7:27 pm

yea is dem "tobo up" wrx and dem self.......u cah go wrong with ah nissan engine and a best tranny to accelerate faster den dem cars......i not gloating dat d primera fast i jus saying on launch with dem cars i have an advantage (well most of the time) but wen dey finally get going dey jus zoom by

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 23rd, 2009, 10:19 pm

Not the "STi" one an' dem right? Just d "tobo up" WRX an' dem?

:shock: :shock: :shock:

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 23rd, 2009, 10:47 pm

Actually japan has up to RON100 octane gas, why does trinidad not have this don't ask me :lol: they probably exporting all the good gas.
Didn't know those p12 primeras were that fast, sounds like it may beat my ignis sport i'm shocked :o

teekshan

Postby teekshan » February 24th, 2009, 10:08 am

hey hey. I have a wrx and I just as proud of it as if it was an STI. I don't race with it to really compare it to anything so I never got a whoop a$$ yet. Because of other committments I cannot upgrade either....as yet

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » February 24th, 2009, 10:37 am

chris1388 wrote:Actually japan has up to RON100 octane gas, why does trinidad not have this don't ask me :lol: they probably exporting all the good gas.
Didn't know those p12 primeras were that fast, sounds like it may beat my ignis sport i'm shocked :o

not in a million years the most a p12 have on most cars might be de launch depending on de car hoss ah ignis sport weighs like 1100lbs soakin wet with over 100hp a p12 weighs about 2000+lbs with probably just over 140hp power to weight the ignis will leave it stand up

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 24th, 2009, 12:08 pm

The ignis weighs 940Kg at 110BHP, thanks for the support there red bwoy , the only reason i thought it was quicker was that the owner mentioned a 0-100kmph in 7.2 whereas i get 8.3

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 25th, 2009, 10:24 am

chris1388 wrote:Actually japan has up to RON100 octane gas, why does trinidad not have this don't ask me :lol: they probably exporting all the good gas.

Would you be willing to pay for this at approx TT$5.60 per litre?? or even more???

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 25th, 2009, 9:23 pm

On a regular basis i won't since my car runs quite happily on 95 premium, but for the times when i feel it may make the difference for eg when i am solodexing, sure why not. At least it will be there if you opt to buy it, plus i am sure MANY guys here in trini would have forked out the $$ to put that kind of gas in their high performance cars on a regular basis

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 25th, 2009, 9:54 pm

^^I would probably buy it.....for the WRX mainly.

I'd be able to tune for a little more hp....and that car's only a once in a blue moon driver. And the swift sport might take a shot of it now and then if I'm feeling ambitious.

Postby Top » February 26th, 2009, 9:49 am

super_cadet wrote:super going to have him pingin too..hehe

If you didnt know what makes the pingin noise...It's ur piston slaping about on the cylinder walls due to detonation...not nice for your baby

THATS TRUE

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 26th, 2009, 10:48 am

It's ur piston slaping about on the cylinder walls due to detonation...

The piston is "slapping the cylinder walls" you say....... :shock:

Wizard

Postby Wizard » March 2nd, 2009, 11:27 pm

ek4ever wrote:

Would you be willing to pay for this at approx TT$5.60 per litre?? or even more???

for 100 ron i would pay $5.60 a litre we already paying $4.00 a litre for what is essentially super with less dirt

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 6th, 2009, 10:41 am

^^Well yes...but it needs to make a marketing sense too...remember there will be costs associated with outfitting filling stations to handle another grade of fuel since if it is $7 per liter, for example, most ppl would stay with the premium we have now

I think the % of ppl willing to pay for RON100 gasoline is very small.....it might just be all the ppl on tuner :mrgreen:

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » March 6th, 2009, 11:27 am

One way to help switch gas is to check with your mechanic and have your plugs regap for the super that helps as higher octane gas uses a different gap setting.