tyres

Re: tyres

Postby MG Man » February 2nd, 2011, 10:58 am

Chemical wrote: I can afford Continental or Michelins but for the price, no way hosay..

you learn yuh sayings in China too orr???
it's 'jose' bud............hosay is ah festival in St James

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 2nd, 2011, 11:03 am

^^ :lol: :lol: :lol:

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » February 2nd, 2011, 12:19 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Well I've used the Sumitomo ZII and it's not a bad tyre. It's not a fantastic tyre, but IMHO it's superior to the DZ101, in that it rides noticeably softer, yet has similar dry grip, and better wet grip.

It can get a bit noisy(ish) near the end of it's life...but keep on top of your tyre rotations and you should be fine.

thanks Alpha, i'll definitely consider it. I'm leaning towards the Hankook ventus but tyre center doesnt have right now.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 2nd, 2011, 12:48 pm

Chemical wrote: I can afford Continental or Michelins but for the price, no way hosay..

http://www.chacha.com/question/how-do-y ... y-hosay%22

One (or Juan) is the UK spelling but I use American.

Thanks , I didn't know hosay is ah festival in St James !

Postby bushwakka » February 2nd, 2011, 1:07 pm

Imran007 wrote:
Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Well I've used the Sumitomo ZII and it's not a bad tyre. It's not a fantastic tyre, but IMHO it's superior to the DZ101, in that it rides noticeably softer, yet has similar dry grip, and better wet grip.

It can get a bit noisy(ish) near the end of it's life...but keep on top of your tyre rotations and you should be fine.

thanks Alpha, i'll definitely consider it. I'm leaning towards the Hankook ventus but tyre center doesnt have right now.

fack...why the hell it is tyre places cant keep good tyres in stock....or at least on order

Postby MG Man » February 2nd, 2011, 1:13 pm

Chemical wrote:

there's a UK spelling for Jose?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 2nd, 2011, 3:31 pm

Reason they cant keep stock is that they assume any relatively pricey (comparatively) performance tyre wont sell, so they never order much stock.. So when it sells out because people read this thread and become informed consumers, it takes ages before the next container of rubber arrives...

PS. It turns out the Continental ExtremeContact DWS is now the best ultra high performance tyre on tirerack, eclipsing even the Goodyear Eagle F1 and Michelin Pilot Sport PS2
Makes me feel nice knowing that I own a set of his tamer brother, the DWS...

Assuming that prices were comparatively proportional between the US and Trinidad, theoretically Continental ExtremeContact DW and DWS could be had for 20-25% more than say Kumho SPT, DZ101 and Hankook V12 Evo..

Why is this not so when it comes to the actual market? Such a shame...

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 2nd, 2011, 5:54 pm

Chemical wrote:

there's a UK spelling for Jose?

Aye MG ah go buss yuh files wit dat woman yuh was driving with O/side UWI a few weeks ago. I have pics as foss would say :lol:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 2nd, 2011, 5:58 pm

Imagine I went MM south last week & they showed me a Bridgestone run flat 16' for $2200 + vat for one :shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 2nd, 2011, 8:19 pm

L&G told me kumho ecsta spt dont sell...i tell them i done buy more than 3 sets...they say i alone does buy it, lol, them not serious na

Postby bushwakka » February 2nd, 2011, 8:32 pm

yea.....i dont see how runflats cud ever make sense....unless ur a criminal and need to getaway when ur tires get shot out...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 3rd, 2011, 2:00 am

Or you happen to drive on on the Beetham 24/7 hahahaha

But yea, run flats can spoil a car, be it a luxury car or sports car.. They are louder, harder ride, and definitely less grippy...
Better off paying for roadside assistance haha

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 3rd, 2011, 7:48 am

Ever noticed how much Khumo and Yokohama tires advertise on all tuner magazines & on Speed TV on Sundays ?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 3rd, 2011, 9:18 am

^^No.

Postby Dave » February 3rd, 2011, 9:23 am

ghostbusters wrote:L&G told me kumho ecsta spt dont sell...i tell them i done buy more than 3 sets...they say i alone does buy it, lol, them not serious na

I believe they told u that
When they had Yokos, the big line was the A520 tyre.
I bought maybe 3 sets from them and when I went back for the 4th, they said they no longer bringing it cause it wasn't selling.
I said oh yes, I have bought many sets and true to fact all the sales of that tire in 14's was me on their system over a 2yr period.
This was Dondonald street location

Postby bushwakka » February 3rd, 2011, 10:34 am

lol.....so according to these stories....good tyres sell like All inclusive carnival tickets in this country?
when u hear somebody have.....u hadda call an run by dem one time b4 it sell out

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 3rd, 2011, 12:53 pm

Laughlin has the kumho ecsta in P225/55/R16 for $750+VAT = $862.50

Looked great however this tire on the o/side with the specs was writtenMADE IN CHINA.
SERIOUS !!! :?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 3rd, 2011, 1:30 pm

^^Yep. The KR21's my dad uses on his car are also made in china. He was also apprehensive about using them....but guess what....he's totally sold on those tyres now (comfort etc).

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 3rd, 2011, 2:21 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:
Me you talking bout...I have oem sylphy rims (enkei) fitted on Triangles

Serious! Well then accept my condolences.

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Yep. The KR21's my dad uses on his car are also made in china. He was also apprehensive about using them....but guess what....he's totally sold on those tyres now (comfort etc).

So why your condolences ? Did you offer your old man the same :?:
:D

I've even seen the Goodyear what ACL sells coming out of Mexico & Brasil (Brazil [MG Man] :lol: )

Postby MG Man » February 3rd, 2011, 2:40 pm

Chemical wrote:Aye MG ah go buss yuh files wit dat woman yuh was driving with O/side UWI a few weeks ago. I have pics as foss would say :lol:

yuh goin an buss files to mih wife about how yuh see she in de car wid she husband?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 3rd, 2011, 2:59 pm

Chemical wrote:
Alpha_2nr wrote:
Me you talking bout...I have oem sylphy rims (enkei) fitted on Triangles

Serious! Well then accept my condolences.

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Yep. The KR21's my dad uses on his car are also made in china. He was also apprehensive about using them....but guess what....he's totally sold on those tyres now (comfort etc).

So why your condolences ? Did you offer your old man the same :?:
:D

Forgive me, but......

.......since when does a Kumho KR21 tyre = Triangle whatever tyre?

As far as I'm concerned, I'd faster buy a Kumho "Chinese" made tyre, than a Linglong/Triangle/whatever brand etc tyre....made WHEREVER.

Why?

Kumho = proven brand, lots of R&D, and they probably have excellent quality control as well (never had ONE issue with any of their tyres).

If they have a factory in China, they would probably be doing stuff that is going to keep UP the brand name....not cut corners.

Triangle = rips off the tread pattern of other brands of tyres (oh yes they do...one of their tyres is an imitation of the HTR Z45 IIRC). Triangle/Nexen = busted sidewalls. Triangle = no R&D, no race backing, nothing.

The LOCATION of the factory has nothing to do with it...Triangle could have been made in GERMANY for all I care, and I'd still bash them. It's QUALITY and PROVEN performance I'm after.

Of which Triangle has ZERO (no offence kid).

It's like saying I have a choice between C-Class Benz with Mexico made parts, versus a Japanese Tiida.

Mexico my foot yes.....gimme d damn Benz :lol:

Postby bushwakka » February 3rd, 2011, 3:36 pm

Chemical is obviously an idiot.....this aint a copy and paste thread meng, so his subtleties showing up

almost everything is made in china....is a question of who making it there!!!
Last edited by bushwakka on February 3rd, 2011, 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » February 3rd, 2011, 7:28 pm

^^ LOl man

BTW i love my KR 21's

excellent grip in both dry and wet, good on the road noise factor and also braking ..

had triangle when tings was hard........ only lasted 8 mths of highway driving

Khumos goin on the same 8 mths and still has lots of tread. same highway driving........

i also feel confident in taking a corner a bit hard with the khumos..lol

Postby bushwakka » February 3rd, 2011, 7:56 pm

oxidation wrote:^^ LOl man

BTW i love my KR 21's

excellent grip in both dry and wet, good on the road noise factor and also braking ..

had triangle when tings was hard........ only lasted 8 mths of highway driving

Khumos goin on the same 8 mths and still has lots of tread. same highway driving........

i also feel confident in taking a corner a bit hard with the khumos..lol

i think something was wrong with the triangles u bought (besides them being sheit in stock form)........triangles usually last forever....i kid u not.....they are made of the hardest group of synthetic rubbers known to man......thats also the reason why traction is next to nil on them :lol:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 3rd, 2011, 8:23 pm

KR21 made in china > direzza dz101 made in japan

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 3rd, 2011, 9:17 pm

^^Lets not go that far...:lol: :lol: the KR21 is a touring tyre, while teh DZ101 is a UHPS tyre.

If it came down to it, I'd probably run DZ101's on the daily car if I had no other good choices.

bushwakka wrote:almost everything is made in china....is a question of who making it there!!!

^This. Image

oh and btw...I recommended those KR21's to my old man over some Dunlop LM 702's.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 3rd, 2011, 9:37 pm

well after using the sp9000, i really cannot recommend dunlops, maybe if i tried somn higher spec'd but i cant bring myself to buying dunlops again

Postby bushwakka » February 3rd, 2011, 10:15 pm

^^gosh why alyuh so...almost every brand makes cheap lame models as well.....u cant possibly compare the dz101 to direzza sport z1 star spec

or comparin the potenzas on a yaris to the RE-11s or others

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 4th, 2011, 12:47 am

I agree entirely, same argument repeating over and over... I think 1 or 2 pages back I had this same talk.. That its not where its made but who makes it and with what quality control..

Case in point, Continental ExtremeContact DWS and DW are the two top rated tyres on tirerack now... Surprise they made in Brazil, not Germany.. I would know this cause I have a set of 4 on the Volvo! (DWS)

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » February 4th, 2011, 7:50 am

Sooo of the debate topic a bit...

I changed tires on my vehicle twice since I had it. Had a set of Hankook Radial and changed to Dunlop Direzza after some time. When i rotated my tires front to back I started to get a lot of tire noise that makes the ride the least bit silent. Note I got this problem when i used the Hankook and even the Dunlop. Got the car's camber and alignment checked very often without any problems.

What could be causing this and how can it be stopped? The noise is annoying :/