tyres

CD4Accord

Re: tyres

Postby CD4Accord » January 22nd, 2011, 5:10 am

Pilot and Pilot Sport P/S 2 is completely different thing we talking bout.. Thats the equivalent of say... Single Barrel Angostura for a normal Pilot vs El Dorado 15yr for the P/S 2 haha

In such extreme pricing cases, that is when importing your own set is justified.. It just dont make sense unless you go for something specialty such as that..

So, anyone know what is the best touring tyre available on the market right now? Preferably Bridgestone, but anything would work.. Company car nah, so I trying to get an excellent set..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 22nd, 2011, 7:12 am

^Exactly - well said. On the PS-2's.

Most folks don't bother to read the model number, or understand that it makes a difference.

E.g. "Waaaayzzzzz bai, dem Dunlop Direzza tyre is crap bai".

Betcha they mightn't say that if they drove on some Direzza Sport Z1's (differentiation between Z1 and DZ101).

Postby bushwakka » January 22nd, 2011, 1:55 pm

^lol....dam right....
like talkin abt the various models of the potenza family

turboturnsmeon2

Postby turboturnsmeon2 » January 22nd, 2011, 2:13 pm

Sumitomo HTR Z II where can i get these in 215/40-17

Postby bushwakka » January 22nd, 2011, 8:59 pm

tyre clinic is the authorised distributor for sumitomo....

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » January 23rd, 2011, 12:03 am

novastar1 wrote:
CD4Accord wrote:even if you doh want to read all 16 pages at least read the last 3 or 4.. that would help you out..

Alpha, if pricing is not a scene to you talk to them fellas at quikservice and see what price they will quote you on a set of Michelin Pilot Sport P/S 2, I shudder to think...

Passed in there last week
Michelin Pilot 215/45/17 is $1700 each

i think it was this one
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... Exalto+PE2

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 23rd, 2011, 7:43 pm

^^^don't think, nah! dem fackers dere does QuickTalk some QuickSh!t to get a sale... like most tyre places, you should only believe when you actually see them!

CD4Accord wrote:So, anyone know what is the best touring tyre available on the market right now? Preferably Bridgestone, but anything would work.. Company car nah, so I trying to get an excellent set..

i got the Turanza ER30's on my Lancer OEM, they were AWESOME! good luck finding those locally, though...

Elton Douglas

Postby Elton Douglas » January 24th, 2011, 8:49 pm

what to know if anybbody ever heard about goldway tyres and what u tink about da brand. 20"

Elton Douglas

Postby Elton Douglas » January 24th, 2011, 8:49 pm

and wat u guys tink about nankans

hiperformer
Location: 1023 North Monroe Street, Spokane, Washnigton 99201

Postby hiperformer » January 25th, 2011, 1:00 am

Having obtained a leadership position in the domestic tire market in China, Triangle is now in the process of expanding its international presence in more than 130 countries.....I have never heard of triangle shape tires though.......would prefer for round tires as they are more smoother

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 27th, 2011, 2:13 pm

Elton Douglas wrote:what to know if anybbody ever heard about goldway tyres and what u tink about da brand. 20"

Obvious chinese brand. No doubt with chinese performance to back it up. Try finding a website in english...i dare ya.

If you can afford twennies then you should be able to shell out for some proper tires.

Postby cinco » January 28th, 2011, 6:22 am

back to my original comment
if you never heard of it and google cant find it then why bother?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 28th, 2011, 6:28 am

http://www.cntyre.com/

What was so difficult ? :?

Info from their website:

Triangle Group was established in 1976,It mainly produces PCR, TBR, OTR, EM tyres and bias tyres with annual production capacity of more than 20 million units, including 16 million units Radial tyres. It is the largest tyre manufacture equipped with producing, sales and development sectors.

"Triangle" brand tyres have acquired the authorized certification such as DOT, ECE, and CCC etc. Its performance index has reached advanced level in the world and has more than 30 patents issued by nation. Triangle Radial OTR Tyre is awarded “National Science & Technology Progress “ First Prize by State.

Triangle Group has provided OE tyres to almost 40 auto manufactures such as FAW, Dong Feng Motor Corp, Golden Dragon, Yutong Auto Corp., Modern Auto Corp. and Shandong engineering and machinery Corp. and all the year. In international market, it has established strategic partnership with Caterpillar, Volvo, Goodyear etc. The networks for replacement market can be found over 160 countries and regions. Triangle has finished trademark protection registration at over 90 countries and regions.

Its intresting to note that Dong Feng Motor Corp and Yutong Auto Corp now manufacture cars for Nissan motor corp.

Did you ride in any of those Chinese PTSC buses recently. I did ( To Sando) & must say its top quality.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 28th, 2011, 11:57 am

Thats like comparing a Concorde jet to a Citroen 2CV.... You cant compare a BUS to a chinese tyre and expect that to be a mark of universal quality...

I own a Volvo and I dont care if Triangle has a "Strategic partnership" with Volvo because not a single part on my vehicle is made outside europe and OEM rubber is usually Continental or Michelin..

Man, just spend the money and get a reputable tyre, you wont regret it in the long run.. If you can't afford one, sell your big rims, i'm sure you can make up the difference.........

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 28th, 2011, 12:40 pm

^^Me you talking bout...I have oem sylphy rims (enkei) fitted on Triangles :? 225/55/R16 & I swear to god it works excellent for daily use.

No issues at all....road noise level is very low, does not hydroplane, extremely stable @ high speeds (when boozed) just a good all purpose passanger tire.

I compared the rubber compound composition and sidewall materials with Dunlop, Sumitomo, Continental & Michelins and its the same plus it meets the DOT so whats the problem?

I lived in Canada for 17 yrs & my old man bought tires for his Buick Regal from Sears made my Michelin with "SEARS" on the sidewall & it blew out twice on Trans-Canada Highway !

I can afford Continental or Michelins but for the price, no way hosay.

They are just overpriced and smaller companies are now dominating the market & they know that now, hence they have linked up with the high end automakers as factory fit.

Isn't most Nike / Addidas / Rebok shoes made in China ?

These so called brand name tires out there, where do they get the tire compounds from to put in they "branded" mold & say made in USA, Germany etc.

Most products manufactured you'll see "made from domestic & imported materials, chemicals etc.
Last edited by Chemical on January 28th, 2011, 12:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 28th, 2011, 12:45 pm

Me you talking bout...I have oem sylphy rims (enkei) fitted on Triangles

Serious! Well then accept my condolences.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 28th, 2011, 1:00 pm

:( ...I dare you to try it...really :oops:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 28th, 2011, 6:09 pm

Seriously speaking, quality is quality, you WILL feel the difference if you use a good model tyre from a respected manufactuer.. I agree that Conti and Michelin are highly overpriced in Trinidad, but I have used Continental in the US (ExtremeContact DWS) and the performance is supreme, better than ANY other tyre i have ever experienced in the wet.. I have tirerack to back me up on this claim
But like all things, its not the brand that matters but the specific sub-model..
eg. All Michelin Pilot tyres I have experienced were superb, but the Michelin Energy on my mother's car is properly horrible.. Loud, average dry grip, bad wet grip, premature wear (for a 450 treadwear tyre) etc...

The point im trying to make, yes all companies manufacture in China now, but to different standards.. A Honda plant in China will have significantly more quality control than the comparable chinese domestic manufacturer such as Cherry... Its not so much the price, its just the history of quality that they are trying hard to uphold

In the end its your vehicle, but I would try to go for one of the mid-priced tyre companies such as Kumho or even Toyo (yes it costs a little more)... In the end it offers more peace of mind to me than a Chinese manufactured tyre

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 28th, 2011, 7:39 pm

^^^x2
like i was once told: "the only part of your car in contact with the road is the tyres..." so make sure they count!

Postby bushwakka » January 29th, 2011, 9:50 am

ah man touch me in traffic las nite (wet road)

guesss wat he was running.......TRIANGLE TYRES! wanted to cuss he mc for bein so cheap an dottish but was a big guntah, i jus grumble an move on, the mark barely noticeable on the car

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 29th, 2011, 9:23 pm

my cousin used triangle tyres...they were horrid, just saying...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 30th, 2011, 7:21 am

bushwakka, you cudda cuss d man for being a cheapskate gunta and drive off....yuh have eeeettt set for a good escape wit d traction from d Ventus V12's yunno

<1jealous>

Postby bushwakka » January 30th, 2011, 12:12 pm

^^rofl yea....buh as it so happen, later that night i bend ah rim in sum jackarse thing wasa make on wrightson road.....they dig up something and the hole was square an muss a been pretty deep

i say to myself, 2 incidents in one night, that musta been a sign yea

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 30th, 2011, 7:41 pm

^^rofl yea....buh as it so happen, later that night i bend ah rim in sum jackarse thing wasa make on wrightson road.....they dig up something and the hole was square an muss a been pretty deep

Bent ANOTHER rim?

Look eh.........you mashing up dem tyres yunno :lol: :lol:

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » February 1st, 2011, 3:20 pm

anyone using the Hercules Raptis WR 1? what are your views on them?

http://www.herculestire.com/catalogHerc ... tisWR1.pdf

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 1st, 2011, 3:45 pm

It looks nice. But check this review:

http://www.torontomazda3.ca/forum/showt ... -WR1-tires

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 1st, 2011, 6:33 pm

How much for the Raptis and in what size? I'm sure you can find better for just marginally more...

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » February 2nd, 2011, 7:04 am

CD4Accord wrote:How much for the Raptis and in what size? I'm sure you can find better for just marginally more...

im looking for 215/45/17, Jack has them for $700. tyre centre has sumitomo ZII for the same price... i want something that handles well under wet conditions. i currently have DZ101 they were fine but i have them over 40,000km and i might get another 10000km but im starting to check from now.

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » February 2nd, 2011, 7:06 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:It looks nice. But check this review:

http://www.torontomazda3.ca/forum/showt ... -WR1-tires

thanks Alpha, well hercules is no longer an option....

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 2nd, 2011, 10:27 am

^^Well I've used the Sumitomo ZII and it's not a bad tyre. It's not a fantastic tyre, but IMHO it's superior to the DZ101, in that it rides noticeably softer, yet has similar dry grip, and better wet grip.

It can get a bit noisy(ish) near the end of it's life...but keep on top of your tyre rotations and you should be fine.