tyres

FullStop

Re: tyres

Postby FullStop » December 13th, 2010, 8:11 pm

i was considering the v12 ventus last time, cus L&G were out of ecsta spt's and i not willing to pay mileage mack's prices. will check them out, where tyre centre located?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 13th, 2010, 8:25 pm

where can i find falken tires?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 14th, 2010, 12:34 am

Tyre centre doesnt have the Hankook Ventus V12 in any of the 205/15" sizes.. Was down there today and they called north and south and didnt have, shipment coming in though apparently..
However, I did see a 205/55/16 if anyone interested in that..

Concerning Falken, no idea.. Years ago I got some from L&DG but no idea where sells them now

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » December 14th, 2010, 11:44 am

^^^very hard to find Falken's.... was actually looking earlier this year, only Ramrattan's in Marabella had. u can prolly check dem, see if dey still have ne

Postby bushwakka » December 14th, 2010, 12:13 pm

ghostbusters wrote:i was considering the v12 ventus last time, cus L&G were out of ecsta spt's and i not willing to pay mileage mack's prices. will check them out, where tyre centre located?

there is one in POS on wrightson obliquely opposite licensing
one in tunapuna opposite the panyard heading east before reaching Auzonville mall

one in sando too....but dunno where

call 6411 and ask for their numbers and find out if they have stock for u etc

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 14th, 2010, 7:33 pm

thanks bushwaka, will check them in tunapuna tomorrow, where in Marabella is Ramrattans EVA Unit-01?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 14th, 2010, 8:58 pm

Ramrattan M is in Pointe-a-Pierre road next to Mootoo lands if you know where that is..
For those who don't, on the main road basically paralell to villa hahahhaha

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 14th, 2010, 9:04 pm

cool, will go check, i might need sum refreshments on the hunt for tyres, know where to find that now.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 31st, 2010, 6:33 pm

How about Nitto , anybody knows who sells the Neogen ZR's?

Postby bushwakka » January 1st, 2011, 11:11 am

^i can say i know nothing abt that brand of tyres.....i await comments from others

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 1st, 2011, 1:09 pm

very good reviews online, made in japan.
The Neo Gen is an all-season ultra high-performance radial specifically engineered for lowered vehicles. Because the inner shoulder is one continuous block, the tread maintains stability on lowered vehicles with higher degrees of negative camber. This stability reduces tread flex and allows the tire to wear evenly. The result is a tire that prolongs performance on lowered vehicles.

Performance Rating: VW
UTQG Treadwear: 280
Traction: AA
Temperature: A

taken from their site.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 1st, 2011, 1:40 pm

trust not their own review, check other sites. also, keep in mind the limitations of an all-season tyre in our 2-season climate...

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » January 1st, 2011, 1:50 pm

Summary of Consumer Reports test on the Nitto Neogen here

Excellent tire. Have a set waiting to be put on my car. Got them from Yakuza.
Not sure who retails these fellas.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 1st, 2011, 10:33 pm

EVA Unit-01 wrote:trust not their own review, check other sites. also, keep in mind the limitations of an all-season tyre in our 2-season climate...

I know, thas just the description, these have great reviews all over the place, only found one negative review and that was from a guy running over 400whp.
I think a place in Arima does advertise as selling them, will look into it, hope i can find them, these sound like the perfect tire for my slight negative camber all round.
Reviewers say they perform well in dry and wet weather...

Postby bushwakka » January 1st, 2011, 11:28 pm

^^yea...the limited amt of reviews i saw on the net suggested that they were good.....but the limited amt of reviews means limited ppl using them....

the survey size not big enough for me....i doh wah be no guineapig again nuh....buh if u try it.....be sure to post the review plz

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 2nd, 2011, 11:28 am

bushwakka wrote:^^buh if u try it.....be sure to post the review plz

X2!!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 2nd, 2011, 5:18 pm

yeah definitely, i gonna see if i get them, if i do, i'll post a review.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 2nd, 2011, 6:27 pm

Friend of mine bought 15" Nitto from Andy Wheel Services in Arouca so you could call them

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 2nd, 2011, 9:19 pm

sweet, thas the place i was checkin for...call them in the morning.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 3rd, 2011, 6:41 am

^^Like the others, if you do buy them. Post a review. I've gotten at least one other decent review (locally) for the Neogens....curious to see if others have the same experience.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » January 3rd, 2011, 1:34 pm

So the yokohamas are at the end of their life (44000km) and i've never had any problems with them at all. good dry and wet performance (never felt uncomfortable with them) very nice ride comfort and with a slight road noise becoming evident recently.

now i'm looking for a 205/65/15 tyre to replace them. the price range is around $650.

so far on the list i have:

Kumho SPT
Sumitomo HTR 4
Toyo TPT
Hankook K415
Dunlop Sportmax sp9000 (that's the model that they said)
Dunlop EC201

did some research but still can't decide, so if you guys can point me in the right direction that would be very nice.

want a tire with really good wet and dry traction that could give me at least another 40000km with good ride comfort.

help??

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 3rd, 2011, 2:10 pm

No such tyre exists.

It's either the Dunlop SP SportMaxx (excellent tyre) or the SP Sport 9000 (average-ish tyre).

If you're after ride comfort, then go after a "touring" oriented tyre - which is more along the lines of the Dunlop EC201 or the Proxes TPT.

They'll probably be a better bet in this aspect.

Touring tyres (e.g. the Kumho Solus on my daily drive) offer good traction in all conditions, with a LOVELY ride. Sport tyres (like the Potenzas on my w/e car) have ridiculous levels of grip...but you do take a slight hit in ride quality.

That said, for most dirivng scenarios, I think most touring tyres fit the bill well.

Kumho Solus/Dunlop EC/B-stone Turanza etc.

I think the EC201's are T rated...but that's still good for 190 kph I believe.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » January 3rd, 2011, 5:39 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:

No such tyre exists.

totally my fault. he said Dunlop Sportmax ST9000

don't know if that makes a difference.

*edit*guess it doesn't

also in the beginning of the thread men were raving about the Kumho SPT, is it that all the tires on that list fit my preferences better?

Forgot to add the prices:

Kumho SPT - $450
Sumitomo HTR 4 - $600
Toyo TPT - $725 + Vat
Hankook K415 - $530 + Vat
Dunlop Sportmax sp9000 (that's the model that they said) $550
Dunlop EC201 - $600

Postby bushwakka » January 3rd, 2011, 6:11 pm

i doubt the sp9000 is the same as the sportmaxxx

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 3rd, 2011, 6:32 pm

stay away from the sp9000, i really hate this tyre, you will not get even close to 40k kms on them.they last me about 9 mths.
Andy's in arouca out of nittos till mid february...

Postby cinco » January 3rd, 2011, 9:34 pm

sp9000 is real toots
you can spin those in the dry with 2hp they lack grip totally
i would use the kumho or toyo
keep in mind these are real budget comfort tyres none of those posted are "sport" tyres they are more all season tourers

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 3rd, 2011, 10:00 pm

Sp9000's are being phased out AFAIK

cinco wrote:keep in mind these are real budget comfort tyres none of those posted are "sport" tyres they are more all season tourers

^W3rd. And given the intended use, I think you're right in suggesting those (like I said as well).

Most of us hardly need sport tyres on a day-2-day basis. Not to be repetitive...but I'm actually surprised how much I like the Solus KH17's I'm using right now.

Postby bushwakka » January 4th, 2011, 9:49 am

^^buh wudde......an u eh post a review self? first i hearing abt that

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 4th, 2011, 9:58 am

^^Oh ho....nah nah, they're actually pretty good. 215/45-17. Came stock on the car, so I don't think it's fair to piost a review since I didn't have a choice in the matter :lol: :lol:

VERY quiet, handling is pretty decent for a touring tyre.

PMed you btw.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 4th, 2011, 1:11 pm

Depends what your aiming for..

If you want value and a long lasting touring tyre the Kumho Solus KH17 would be the choice

If you want something sportier that wouldnt buss your pocket, Kumho Ecsta SPT (KU31)

That is a seriously excellent price you seeing on those SPT's.. Personally I would jump on it