tyres

Re: tyres

Postby bushwakka » November 10th, 2010, 8:06 pm

^boy, not even on the internet u getting it that price....that was a rel bes price and tyre clinic doh have them anymore.....look in a good couple places up north already....dunno if they wud hav in 205 or 225 if that cud fit ur needs

i looking for ONE of that size for the longest while to replace a busted one :(

dreadman

Postby dreadman » November 10th, 2010, 8:35 pm

Quickservice have 195/60 r13's......in BF :D

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 11th, 2010, 12:16 am

cinco wrote:nooooo
SP Sport Maxxes pwn those ecstas all day every day and twice on sunday IMO :lol:

YUH SURE BREDO?

http://www.1010tires.com/tire.asp?tireb ... %28KU31%29
vs
http://www.1010tires.com/tire.asp?tireb ... Sport+MAXX

or maybe
http://tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Kumho/Ecsta-KU31.htm
vs
http://tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Dunlop/SP-Sport-Maxx.htm

TEKKK DAT
I like my SPT

Postby cinco » November 11th, 2010, 7:24 am

IMO man
everyone has different experiences and i found i could push the sport maxxes much harder than the ecstas
did this test using two usdm corollas with the same suspension set up even the other corolla owner found the sport maxxes quieter and more controlled

Postby crazybalhead » November 11th, 2010, 10:55 am

EVA Unit-01 wrote:
CD4Accord wrote:Post up a review when you can...

PS. Mine took about 2 weeks to really break in before I could explore the limits of dry grip

so it's been about three weeks (and over 1000km) since i put on the Ecsta SPT's, so i thought it was time to push them a little.

gave them a push at high-ish speeds around a small roundabout. firstly, i was impressed with the "sporty" tire squeal (compared to the girly squeal of the DZ101's :lol: ). then i realized that i had a noticeably greater amount of traction than with the DZ's. i actually had to fight a little to steer the car around, as the tyres gripped firmly and reliably.

as for wet traction, i managed "highway speeds" during some rain on the southbound (minor drizzle, <1 inch of water on road surface) and the tyres were unfazed. grip was no different to dry, and the spray pattern on the sides of the car after was testament to their water evacuation efficiency

so far so good, hoping to give them a bit more jamming at Dex later this month :twisted:

Explain that a lil bit nah please?

Postby bushwakka » November 11th, 2010, 11:39 am

^i too was a little bit confused by that in bold....but just overlooked it

anyway.....anyone have experience with the Hankook Ventus V12 here? Tyre center on wrightson road have them for $830....reviews look good on tire rack and elsewhere

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » November 11th, 2010, 3:04 pm

^^^i go try... since it be a normel CS Lancer i drive, the CVT doesn't allow for rapid acceleration. the traction was strong enough to grip going around the roundabout, but also slowed the car down (as with any turn without gas). when i applied the gas, the car had enough traction to drive in the direction the tyres were pointing. thus, it was a bit of a fight to steer between this force and the forward-pointing momentum to maintain speed going around half of the roundabout
(CXC Physics ftl...)

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 11th, 2010, 4:42 pm

anyway.....anyone have experience with the Hankook Ventus V12 here? Tyre center on wrightson road have them for $830....reviews look good on tire rack and elsewhere

W3rd!!!!!! I may check them out.

Postby bushwakka » November 11th, 2010, 9:21 pm

^lol does that mean that u have experience with them or u jus gonna feel up the sidewall and watch dem?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 11th, 2010, 9:31 pm

or u jus gonna feel up the sidewall and watch dem?

WTF? I'm actually in the market for 215/45 - 17's for some new wheels I wanna mount on the DD. Was considering T1R's or Proxes 4's to be honest.

SPT is a great option for me, but I've been itching to try some toyos...hence my hesitation :lol: ! Then Unkle CBH put fwd a good review of the Ventus V12 Evo......

....if I had the choice of ANY tyre right now though, I'd probably consider the new SportMaxx TT (new model - check it on tirerack), or the Conti Extremecontact DW. Reviews look interesting...but I'm not sure I need all that grip for my everyday "commuter".

Postby bushwakka » November 11th, 2010, 9:43 pm

^gawrsh i didnt know lol, u lookin for the exact size like me too *rushes off to stand in line at tyre center*

the SPT out of the question for me due to that price that Mileage and L&D call down

question is, where u gettin the sportmaxx tt's from? ordering online? i wud just go back with the regular sportmaxx if i cud get them (unless u bought the TTs and told me they were better)....i found my love in tyres there lol

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 11th, 2010, 11:05 pm

^^Good to hear you liked the Maxxs!

question is, where u gettin the sportmaxx tt's from? ordering online?

Yep..... I'm just not sure those tyres are justfied for my daily car, where outright max-grip isn't a priority.

Supposedly the Maxx TT is better than the "regular" SportMaxx. It's one of the highest ranked MPS class tyres on tire rack right now:

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tests/testDisplay.jsp?ttid=128

Price looks comparable to the T1R.

Postby bushwakka » November 12th, 2010, 10:10 am

^how much u gonna pay for shipping? i was considering shipping some Sportmaxx........

but just the base price on tirerack ($156 US) was higher than the $775 TT i payed for them here
and u cud imagine how much more landing them here wud cost

i see the TT is $123 US each in our size....u have a shipping co o wa lol?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 14th, 2010, 6:45 pm

^^Nah I don't lol.

Shipping is a killer. 123 USD is working out to about 1200 per tyre by my estimate if I bring in by skybox.

Yes it's expensive, but take it into perspective - local dealers would buy at wholesale prices and ship by container, which drops prices I would imagine.

Speaking of which, the T1R's are like 1200 per tyre...but I still haven't decided. I'm just afraid of road noise from those TBH :oops:

Postby bushwakka » November 15th, 2010, 9:25 am

^yea, heard the toyos a bit on the noisy side
it really sucks that there is virtually no good tyre places in trinidad, when i say good i mean
1. Having knowledgeable service ppl
2. Keeping stock or at least can tell u when to expect a shipment
3. Price

If they had 1&2....i'd be willing to pay a higher price just for the quality of professionalism and service received.......but it aint so, not even at Quickservice

Postby bushwakka » November 17th, 2010, 4:13 pm

ok, so i bought the Hankook Ventus V12 Evo at Tyre center on wrightson road
Size: 215/45/17
Price: $830 a tyre........includes balancing free of additional charge

Review:

If any of you have ever driven the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx here.....i will say that this tyre seems to be QUITE similar to that.......comfort is good, grip is just as good, wet channels nicely, the original tread depth is like 1 cm! .....the compound is quite sticky when u feel the tyres.....i think however that the noise is a tad bit higher than the Dunlops, but not noticeable if u have the radio on

However,

I think, given the current batch of workers at tyre centre, u may be better off just buying the tyres and installing somewhere else

they were gonna bolt up the wheels in clockwise fashion, not crosswise
had to show the man where to jack up my car.....man wanted to jack it on the gas tank :shock:

man maintains that bolting up ur wheels with a spanner causes the nuts to strip out :shock:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 18th, 2010, 2:49 am

I think thats a big shame, because Tyre centre in south has a GREAT tyre man by the name of Bisnath.. He has worked there for years and does excellent work: mounting, repairs, allignments, balancing etc...
He is so good, honest and reliable that sometimes I buy tyres elsewhere and bring it to Tyre Centre to get it mounted etc...
Sorry that north isn't fortunate enough to have someone of that calibre.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 18th, 2010, 7:44 am

bushwakka wrote:I think, given the current batch of workers at tyre centre, u may be better off just buying the tyres and installing somewhere else

Actually, my plan was that I'd just carry the new wheels (in a wagon) and have the tyres put on and balanced there...not mounted. Just like you bro, I can't vouch for their work.

You beat me to it btw - and 830 per tyre is a STEAL of a deal for class of compound.

I just wish tire rack would do a test on it :lol:

Postby X_Factor » November 18th, 2010, 5:32 pm

^ soo long i bawling buy the ventus...one of the better tires for the price out there

Postby bushwakka » November 18th, 2010, 8:37 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:Actually, my plan was that I'd just carry the new wheels (in a wagon) and have the tyres put on and balanced there...not mounted. Just like you bro, I can't vouch for their work.

You beat me to it btw - and 830 per tyre is a STEAL of a deal for class of compound.

I just wish tire rack would do a test on it :lol:

yea....i wud seriously recommend u doing what u said there
i think they factor in the cost of balancing ($30) into their prices so the price per tyre may actually be $800....dunno what price u wud get if u ask for the tyre alone

wud be nice if tirerack cud do it, cuz then we wud see how it matches against the Dunlop since Tire Clinic was selling the same size for $775 back when i bought it....sigh

X_Factor wrote:^ soo long i bawling buy the ventus...one of the better tires for the price out there

well....it seems little used, indeed i hardly find a lot of drivers to talk to using this class of tyre (MPS)...u wud more find them using the UHPS and below......
i guess the Kumho Ecsta SPT must be in this category too....but im sure as hell not paying a $1000 for that when i can get these at this price

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » December 7th, 2010, 9:52 am

anyone have any expereince with gt radial (Champiro)?

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 7th, 2010, 10:31 am

The MM version of Triangles and Nexens? :)

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » December 7th, 2010, 12:49 pm

bushwakka wrote:well....it seems little used, indeed i hardly find a lot of drivers to talk to using this class of tyre (MPS)...u wud more find them using the UHPS and below......
i guess the Kumho Ecsta SPT must be in this category too....

reason being is that MPS is more race-oriented = more traction = more wear. it's good for high powered sports cars for that extra-spirited driving...
as for a normal econo-sedan (like my Lancer GLX), you'd rarely need/use that extra grip the MPS can provide and the wear isn't worth it... the UHPS (including the SPT's) is actually better suited for these everyday cars, as the compromise between traction and wear is acceptable for us poor folk :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » December 8th, 2010, 9:42 am

bushwakka wrote:^i too was a little bit confused by that in bold....but just overlooked it

Check my thread in the mitsu forum, have them on a couple months now. Love them.

Postby crazybalhead » December 8th, 2010, 9:46 am

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 12th, 2010, 10:09 pm

fellas, i just want to let allyuh know about my experience with dunlop sport sp9000 tyres from tire clinic.

First of all, i bought these to replace a pair of kumho ecsta asx's that i had in front of the car. In the back i have a pair of kumho ecsta spt's.

the dunlops felt decent for about two days, immediately though i could feel that they were less sticky than the single A traction rated asx, and these are AA rated traction.
i did not expect these to last long due to the low treadwear but i thought at the very least they would last as long as the kumho ecsta spt @50% tread. They did not, they are almost done already. I have a slight negative camber induced on all four wheels on the car so i expect the insdes of the tire to wear more. the camber on the rear is more negative than the front and the dunlops are cut down to the thread layer already and the kumho's are still on rubber.

When driving on the highway with these tires over bumpy sections the car jerks and pulls due to road undulations, so i have to drive under 80km/hr and keep on the left lane(this is before they were worn down).

I just have to say these are the worst tires i have ever used, and I've used nexens, which are far and away better than these, miles better.

I recommend that you never make the same mistake i did, do not buy these tires they are dangerous, they do not offer good dry or wet weather traction. pure rubbish, never again.
Last edited by FullStop on December 13th, 2010, 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 13th, 2010, 3:52 am

dunlop sport max sport sp9000

I don't think even Dunlop knows they made this model.

Is it a special edition?

Postby bushwakka » December 13th, 2010, 9:24 am

^tirerack doesn't have it meng....
http://www.dunloptires.com/dunlop/displ ... erformance

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Dunlo ... t-9000.htm

how much did u pay for them ghostbuster, and what size is that?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 13th, 2010, 11:10 am

paid about 780 a piece

Postby bushwakka » December 13th, 2010, 6:05 pm

^thats bloody awful for u to be having problems at that price! i guess they still don't have sport maxx?

tyre center selling Hankook Ventus V12 for 800 @ 215/45/17, check them out an see if u wanna sell yours lol