mods or ways to get better mpg

Val

Postby Val » July 4th, 2006, 10:47 am

Oh, a good mod (well just really a checkup, that really affects your mpg)

MAKE SURE YOUR TYRES ARE PROPERLY INFLATED WITH CORRECT PRESSURE!!!

Oh and Dave, that thing about Mythbusters "busting" the myth about A/C and fuel economy. I'm not sure I trust that test too much, cause it was done on only one vehicle (who knows what other types of vehicles in terms of aerodynamics, engine type, ecu type, cabin type etc would have performed). I personally don't regard their tests as true scientific tests, but that's just my opinion though.

Postby Dave » July 4th, 2006, 12:36 pm

i agree with u there, it was 2 identical suv's they used but in other vehicles different results maybe obtained
btw, i get better mileage with ac on :mrgreen:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 4th, 2006, 5:56 pm

i stand corrected. meh brain real rusty, i learn all them things and ah forget it :oops:
val what u saying about the diesels is true, it is more economical to use diesel, but the entire purpose of this thread is saving money. but i'm not sure if they consume the same volume of fuel as gas engines, and also as u previously stated diesel engines are more effiecent, in converting fuel to energy.
i discovered something a few days back, apparently the quick shoppe in debe has water or some other thing in their tanks, everytime i buy gas there and go to school in o'meara the next morning, i burn 3/8 - 1/2 tank of gas to and from o'meara, but if i put gas at jagernath's(sp) in penal junction, i burn 1/4 tank for the go and return. i know the consumption is high, but its a lot of traffic and a lot of hard driving(i reach o'meara in 1 1/2 hours) btw the drive from debe to penal is not much different, so that dosent account for the 1/8 -1/4 tank of gas.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 5th, 2006, 1:55 pm

Val wrote:Oh, a good mod (well just really a checkup, that really affects your mpg)

MAKE SURE YOUR TYRES ARE PROPERLY INFLATED WITH CORRECT PRESSURE!!!

Oh and Dave, that thing about Mythbusters "busting" the myth about A/C and fuel economy. I'm not sure I trust that test too much, cause it was done on only one vehicle (who knows what other types of vehicles in terms of aerodynamics, engine type, ecu type, cabin type etc would have performed). I personally don't regard their tests as true scientific tests, but that's just my opinion though.

yes but remember the purpose of the test was not to prove whether one car is more efficient than the other while using ac or not. it was to prove whether using ac burns more gas or not. now while there there first test with the computer proved that there were burning more gas with the ac, when they decided to put the same amt of fuel in both vehicles(identical), maintain the same speed, to see who would finish first, i think there is where the problem lies in that it is to perfect. we don't have long open roads like USA or Germany for that matter an also the amt of traffic we does have to go through on a daily basis, we would definitely burn up more gas in traffic(about 4hrs each day) running ac than without!

but then again is up to the individual, cause me eh like smelling to much of the beetham or d woman in d taxi nex to u so i will sacrifice for peace an comfort.

but someone said it before, running on d highway with yuh gas down brings on drag which is not what yuh car spent countless hrs in a windtunnel for. so roll yuh glass up try an maintain a lil 120 an u will see how far u get on a full tank.

Val

Postby Val » July 5th, 2006, 2:33 pm

actually, your car is far heavier on gas at 120 KPH than 80 KPH.

I had posted a graph about this in a thread here once, search around for it.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » July 7th, 2006, 12:09 am

wit the SUPER UNLEADED and PREMIUM, on which blend would you get more mileage?
THe super unleaded is safe to use on a vehicle that used PREMIUM before?

Postby Dave » July 7th, 2006, 7:25 am

they are interchangable since they are supposedly unleaded
your probs would be if the engine needs the extra octane and the super can't provide the adequate research octane

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » July 7th, 2006, 8:10 am

Be careful with this eh Pointman. Although the octane in super was sufficient for my engine, when I tried it, I got some hard starting issues in the morning.

The problem remedied itself when I switched back to Premium.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » July 7th, 2006, 9:11 am

Rudman wrote:Be careful with this eh Pointman. Although the octane in super was sufficient for my engine, when I tried it, I got some hard starting issues in the morning.

The problem remedied itself when I switched back to Premium.

I copy you there. The Super holding out longer than the Premium with respect to mileage. I waiting for the Super to use up,then I'll switch back to the Premium.

Val

Postby Val » July 7th, 2006, 11:00 am

super would give u better mileage if you have a knock sensor installed.

SKIDMARQS

Postby SKIDMARQS » July 10th, 2006, 12:07 pm

Heard once that hard braking burns fuel.
Don't know how but can some confirm or deny?

sameerali78

Postby sameerali78 » July 10th, 2006, 12:37 pm

what about keeping ure gas tank filled? will this additional weight cause u to burn more gas?
and also what about the gas evaporating when parked up?
does it make sense to buy gas as u need it instead of filling up and laeving it filled?

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » July 10th, 2006, 1:04 pm

super didnt make a difference for me.

actually, it did, it made my cars ignition knock as firetruck

plugs and msd will help with gas mileage
so will 10w30 motor oil.

Val

Postby Val » July 10th, 2006, 2:38 pm

so will 10w30 motor oil

be careful with this.

super didnt make a difference for me.

actually, it did, it made my cars ignition knock as firetruck

Knock Sensors in Hondas only work under 80% Throttle. Are you keeping the throttle under 80%?

Heard once that hard braking burns fuel.

Hell no, but hard acceleration after those hard brakings does burn more fuel.

what about keeping ure gas tank filled? will this additional weight cause u to burn more gas?
and also what about the gas evaporating when parked up?
does it make sense to buy gas as u need it instead of filling up and laeving it filled?

yuh thinking too hard pally. Keeping ur tank filled will have less "vapour" volume for the fuel to evaporate in, essentially raising vapour pressure and reducing the tendency for evaporation. So the extra weight may just be balanced by lack of evaporation. And yes, keep your tank filled at all times (except when racing) is my policy, you never know when an emergency could pop up and economy won't matter, just reaching where you have to go without relying on the availability of gas.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 10th, 2006, 2:59 pm

cacas u take 1 1/2 hr to drive from debe to omera...

hoss my bro takes that time to reach grande drivin ah 10 wheeler truck

it usually takes me 45 min from debe to santa rosa drivin my 1.6 carb b-12
and dais no jackarse drivin eh .. no shoulder drivin either ..

and wid my mum rav-4 i took 15 min from montrose gas station to debe by the market and it had light to medium traffic...

somehow either ur terms of hard drivin is not hard enuff or u does drive till u hear de alarm and den let go off de gas

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 10th, 2006, 7:19 pm

cacas u take 1 1/2 hr to drive from debe to omera...

erm..... peak hour. traffic on the highway.
it usually takes me 45 min from debe to santa rosa drivin my 1.6 carb b-12
and dais no jackarse drivin eh .. no shoulder drivin either ..

with no traffic again. horse is either u know ah road i dont know or your b12 is ah helecopter. kixx.( i doh use back roads other than the caroni one)
15 min from montrose gas station to debe by the market and it had light to medium traffic...

well i happy for u. i cyah reach the bloddy end ah the highway from montrose in 20 mins. i just cyah drive that fast, if is 2 o'clock in the morning, is no scene, but i cyah pass 120 with cars on the road, i just dont.
somehow either ur terms of hard drivin is not hard enuff or u does drive till u hear de alarm and den let go off de gas

is 195 hard enuff? made that recently on a half trottle, absolutely no cars on the strech heading west after maloney. never reached that fast b4. scary :shock:
btw my car doh have them speen alarm thingy, is just ah dumb speed cut. :fist:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 10th, 2006, 7:31 pm

hoss i doh like speed but for ah fella who just hit ah number yuh sure need to learn to drive more..

at no time did i say i drive fast eh.. was drivin smart ... clear roads doh mean u can floor it and reach 195... dat doh mean nuttin if u hit it once and den drive 50kph ..

to be very honest with u i donno the traffic condition from since jan to now but i am telling u conditions that existed when i was there in jan i did those numbers...

and i can prove it to u anytime i in trini ... they can be done

and about the roads... maybe i do know a few shortcuts... cuz the caroni one is too long for me ...

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 10th, 2006, 7:46 pm

^^^ like is the one from endevor to the airport? i wah learn that one bad, but none ah meh friends know it.
dread i eh fighting u, if u say u do those times, i believe u. but i cyah get them times, i eh now why. prob is cuz i will stop for friends on the highway(sometimes as much as 3 times) but then again how long does that take.
i does switch lanes to pass ppl on the right, i does speed, but is still 1 1/2 hours i does take. this morning i mabey do it in 1 1/4, but i eh coming from debe, i coming from rochard road in penal. it takes me 20 minutes to reach by debe market in the morning, in normal conditions. i hate driving far in the morning.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 10th, 2006, 9:20 pm

when we gonna be getting some hybrid (ah see it have prius roro).....could really do with one ah dem hybrid
Last edited by ~Vēġó~ on July 11th, 2006, 2:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » July 10th, 2006, 9:56 pm

^^glad you mentioned that,could someone tell me about those f/u Prius I see on the road are those equipted with a regular engine or not?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » July 11th, 2006, 6:37 am

How about this mod...Resetting your ecu after you change things like filters, plugs, plug wires, or after cleaning your maf sensor, trottle body etc... :mrgreen:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 11th, 2006, 12:59 pm

does that work?^^^

and how is it done?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 11th, 2006, 1:25 pm

^^^I use to do that but to re-set fleckin dimmer settings and radio presets kinda was getting tedious...... use to just take off battery pole..I eh know if that was the proper way to effect a re-set though.

I believe once you re-set yuh does have to give it a lil chance to re-adapt/re-map etc before any effect may be experienced......

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 11th, 2006, 8:06 pm

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, i think i have to try this when i clean meh filter, trottle body and air flow meter. hope it works. :mrgreen:

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » July 12th, 2006, 9:11 am

yes
knocks like a mofo when pullin off.... 1st gear, 10% throttle.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » July 12th, 2006, 2:20 pm

I would normally take off the negative pole for 10 mins to reset the ecu.

Postby Hook » July 12th, 2006, 7:42 pm

y not just pull the ECU fuse? :idea: :idea: :idea:

will save u the trouble of resetting radio stations and clock and all that

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 13th, 2006, 1:31 am

^^^indeed.......what would be the symbol for that fuse and would it be more likely to be found in the engine bay or inside the cabin ??? everything in Japanese so I not too certain.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » July 13th, 2006, 6:08 am

I echo that sentiment Vega. Everything in my car in Japanese. :evil:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 13th, 2006, 6:38 pm

^^^^ my car come from singapore, and everthing in english, so it easy for me. i think alluh just have to take out the battery terminal, cuz it eh make much sense guessing the fuse. :?