SR16VE - it exists.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 21st, 2006, 8:07 am

^^ I know but who has one :lol:

Sully

Postby Sully » June 22nd, 2006, 1:08 pm

I think that you'd quicker find a GA16 than an SR16 here in T'dad.

Postby Dave » June 23rd, 2006, 8:04 am

yes but the ga16 can't be compared to a 4age
the ga16 should be compared to the 4afe

Sully

Postby Sully » June 24th, 2006, 5:10 pm

^^ Now there's a line up that I wouldn't mind seeing.

Postby Dave » June 25th, 2006, 2:58 pm

i ran circles around on in wallers already :mrgreen:

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » June 26th, 2006, 11:46 am

BTW there is a GA16 with VVL.. But as stated before "who has one".. Its rare and in the end you still need to go for a bigger displacement to get some decent performance..

Postby Dave » June 26th, 2006, 12:09 pm

the ga16vtc is rated at 5hp more than the other ga16
115hp vs 110hp

Val

Postby Val » June 26th, 2006, 2:40 pm

there is a GA16 with VVL

Variable Valve Lift yuh say dey eh hoss.

Can anyone confirm?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 26th, 2006, 3:21 pm

Dave wrote:that almost sounding like me yes :lol:
aye hook, how bout trying this b14 with an essssarrrr in it :wink: :lol:

sentraman, ent that sounding familiar, like friday the 27th feb 2004 :lol:

No no no.
Don't be interferring with Hook. Its me you want. I still have to get back at your from so much years back. But knowing you, you will be using dem dirty tricks of trade :)

But stock for stock the 20v will wipe the same aged SR20.

What I have seen is men putting sr20 in their 626, 323 and corollas. Anyone knows the yellow ae80 4-door with the sr20 in it from wallers? I dont know why he didnt go with the faster silver top 20v :?

Postby Dave » June 27th, 2006, 8:11 am

^^did u, done that
u want somebody who not lazy
i rather lazy ppl and if it doesn't warrant it then no dirty tricks to make me laugh

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 27th, 2006, 11:02 am

^^^ You make my penis get small there :(

Val

Postby Val » June 27th, 2006, 11:16 am

u want somebody who not lazy
i rather lazy ppl and if it doesn't warrant it then no dirty tricks to make me laugh

oh lord lol :lol:

Postby Dave » June 27th, 2006, 11:19 am

^^^ You make my penis get small there

nah i think it was the alcohol that did that :lol:

Sully

Postby Sully » June 27th, 2006, 7:13 pm

^^ I think that he sobered up and actually saw the real size of it. :lol:

Postby Dave » June 28th, 2006, 9:09 am

nah boy sully :lol:

Terran

Postby Terran » July 3rd, 2006, 4:48 pm

I've driven the SR20 in a Nissan car (with tranny) and the 4AGE 20v in a Toyota car (also with tranny).

Both are fast. I give the 20v the edge. Power all the way to 8,500 rpm - the Nissan had nothing more to offer at 7,000 rpm.

Postby Dave » July 4th, 2006, 7:51 am

bring it for my tranny nah

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 4th, 2006, 8:36 am

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 6th, 2006, 2:05 pm

not really a street racer per say but when i have 2 neighboors with sr engines 1 with an sr18 manual that probably is in better shape then when first manufactured and the other with an sr20 NA that came stock in his premera with cvt 6speed tranny. Neither of them have been able to beat my stock blacktop 20v to date. plus they both have cold air intakes while my only upgrade is from super to premium unleaded gas. plz not though the blacktops are not very impressive below 4400 rpm which makes the race between sr and 20v a close one on the quarter mile because of this "turbo lag" type performance as well as on the highway because of the sr's displacement advantage. in short yes the 20v wins but not by very much distance in the real world if its left totally stock.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 6th, 2006, 2:19 pm

lord my spelling and grammar was horrible in that post lol. (typing while on a cell phone can be as dangerous as driving while on one.)

Postby Dave » July 6th, 2006, 2:38 pm

20v manual or auto u drive?

Sully

Postby Sully » July 6th, 2006, 5:11 pm

Dave, What do you think that a CAI, exhaust and Mines ECU on a 4AGE will do against your setup, minus the NOS?

Postby Dave » July 7th, 2006, 7:21 am

i don't know, do it and lets see :P
thats more or less my setup cept the ecu upgrade

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 7th, 2006, 8:32 am

Dave which version SR20 you gots?

Postby Dave » July 7th, 2006, 8:53 am

Oh great liver punisher :lol: , normal silver cover one

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 7th, 2006, 10:34 am

Dave wrote:Oh great liver punisher :lol: , normal silver cover one

I cant remember... remember when I 'inspected' it... i had a bottle of JW in my hand and was drinking straight from the bottle.

Postby Dave » July 7th, 2006, 10:36 am

i remember all too well :lol:

NiSmO-R

Postby NiSmO-R » July 7th, 2006, 11:18 am

I've seen 4AGE's run and I have to say on paper I loved this engine but was disappointed with the performance

Compression ratio is 11.0 to 1 so basically as far as turbocharging stock the 20 wins mind you that older 20's are 9.5 later models came 10.0
Street racing is one thing but at the track there are no excuses

A certain B14 SR20 Auto - 16.1
A certain B13 SR20 Manual - 15.1

Let me know if I haven't seen but as far as I know the 4age's that run at wallers can't pass 16.0 with box I even saw one put down a 17.0 although I think he had gearbox problems

As for selection between the two I think the 20 is far more versatille interms of abuse,upgrades and availability

The 4AGZE on the other hand looks quite enticing

Postby Dave » July 7th, 2006, 11:22 am

i have never seen a b13 manual down here put down 15.1, 15.4 yeah