lowering of car

plex

Postby plex » May 7th, 2006, 5:59 am

Aaron 2NR, the car i saw you by the entrance of Palmiste is that the car you going to lowered?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 7th, 2006, 8:15 am

yea dude...its real high right now...an imagine its on 15s wit 50series tires an its still so high

plex

Postby plex » May 7th, 2006, 8:32 am

i know what you mean, before i lowered my i thought i had a suv..

Gool

Postby Gool » May 8th, 2006, 12:46 pm

once i lowered the back of my car by cutting the saucer on the shock and dropping it and welding it back an inch lower.... this means the spring remains stock and is not interfered with in anyway.
therefore the ride remains stock and the car is lowered successfully. and if the spring remains stock... then the ride remains stock! i never had a single problem... the only thing is that everytin u change shocks u hadda do it over.

dunno if this will help.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » May 8th, 2006, 7:36 pm

so what could i use for a bluebird wagon? how u lowering that? :?

leaf springs at the rear :o

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 8th, 2006, 9:45 pm

i think u could remove one of the leafs, or meh old man say you could move the entire system higher towards the body i.e. the places where the leafs bolt to the car, will now be closer to the bottom of the car.

Postby MG Man » May 8th, 2006, 10:29 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:so what could i use for a bluebird wagon? how u lowering that? :?

leaf springs at the rear :o

u need lowering blocks for the rear
ie u fit a metal block (aluminium works well) between the bottom spring and the spring pad, eg 1 inch block to lower 1 inch), and fit longer u-bolts.....for the front, u need lowering springs

Keep in mind that with lowering blocks, the only performance gain is lowering the car's C of G.....cus the spring rate remains the same

5fwd

Postby 5fwd » May 10th, 2006, 6:00 pm

how do u modify the shocks to lower with the original spring?
cutting the plate wouldnt damage the shocks?[/quote]

droppa

Postby droppa » May 12th, 2006, 12:31 pm

aron u still lookin 4 springs, check meanb15 on the forums, he has springs in stock 4 the almeras :twisted:

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 12th, 2006, 2:04 pm

his price is too high compared to the B&G agent

dbesson

Postby dbesson » May 12th, 2006, 3:13 pm

Read this hole thing, it is for the B14 but it may give you some good pointers as to what you should think about when upgradeing your suspension.
http://www.sentra.net/tech/garage/suspension.php
also check out this site. they have great info. also, and a list of crappy coil over and why not to buy them.
http://www.nissanforums.com/suspension-brakes/

i know you may have read this already, but i wanted to post it for others who are looking to upgrade their suspension

aCrOpHoBiA

Postby aCrOpHoBiA » May 15th, 2006, 10:41 pm

how do u modify the shocks to lower with the original spring?
cutting the plate wouldnt damage the shocks?

nah, i used this method already and i find is a reliable and cheap alternative 2 lowering springs/coilovers. While u cant get more than 2inches lowering from this, the ride is original as the springs remain original. Off course u cant use normal welding 2 fix the cup on the shocks after, 4 obvious reasons (gas/oil inside). U hav to tack it properly back on.