can licensing office approve fogs please read!

rane

Re: can licensing office approve fogs please read!

Postby rane » July 23rd, 2014, 9:46 pm

Post the document leh we see na chief.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 23rd, 2014, 9:49 pm

Lol sounds like you want to make your own copy...

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 23rd, 2014, 11:01 pm

Id post it tmrw long day

jayakamarksman

Postby jayakamarksman » July 24th, 2014, 5:38 am

Been there done that what we have is really called curb lights and not fogs .fog lights are yellow lens lights designed to penetrate mist which is our country doesnt occur so we dont import them on vehicles by law

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 24th, 2014, 9:37 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406209027.573060.jpg

rane

Postby rane » July 24th, 2014, 1:50 pm

Great

Postby skylinechild » July 24th, 2014, 7:56 pm

jayakamarksman wrote:Been there done that what we have is really called curb lights and not fogs .fog lights are yellow lens lights designed to penetrate mist which is our country doesnt occur so we dont import them on vehicles by law

toyota crown Ms 122, no post laurel, altima, ceifro, and Y11 ZVS wingroad
(or should i say the ZVS body kit- one with big square foglights)....how them thing reach here..and FYI they all have yellow fog lights....so how them reach here if we didnt import it.... :lol:

fact is fact...L.O in a mess....they dont know ass from elbow and because of that - the lawlessness continues...

I see someone post a pic of the infamous "letter of authorization" i keep hearing about.
how that letter looking like a copy of a copy of a copy of a copy etc....the quality real poor...or they doh hav a proper printer in L.O :lol:

how does that help someone like me who has a local used car with fogs ?? i didnt get that letter from the previous owner...i dont even think the previous owner ever got a letter like that...

long story short - call it what you want curb light fog lights...it is plain dumb to put HIDs in it...and then claim it legal when you get charge

C33_RB20DET

Postby C33_RB20DET » August 12th, 2014, 3:06 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Andrew5710 wrote:I have fogs on a ad wagon hid kit intensity 8k after writing up the ticket for 750 the officer told me to avoid this again, go to licensing office in port of spain and ask them to approve my fogs they will charge me 20 dollars and give me a cirtificate stating my fogs are approved he said fogs that any other colour than white will not be approved and your ticket will be sure have any of you heard about this???

:lol: who ever told you that info is a real pleb.

why are street lights yellow / amber?
why are factory fogs yellow / amber?

lastly HID is foglights are useless....you are essentially blinding oncoming traffic.
are you one of those who drive with only fog lights on and no headlights??

lastly the reason why LO say fogs are illegal is cause of "monkey see monkey do"
one fool put 8k HID in the foglight..another fool say it lookin good and do that too...pretty soon we hav everyone with 8k fog lights blinding other drivers.

another sceneario:

one fool drive with fogs on during the day - which is a charge btw -another fool see it an say it lookin good -and just like before we have everyone drivin with fog on durin the day time.

so which is easier for LO to do to fix the problem - say what kelvin is supposed to be used in fog lights or say fog lights illegal on the whole.???

here's a fun activity to try with your 8K HID foglight
when there white rain i want you to turn on your fogs and try driving through that. come back and tell us the outcome.

from an engineering stand point -you cant simply install HID system into a fog lights. go figure out why.

So it's a charge to drive with fog lights during the day you say. Ok so what's the charge the driver going to get?

Really want to hear your answer. Because that statement that you made about being charged with fog lights on during the day time is hilarious.

Postby BrotherHood » August 13th, 2014, 12:42 am

What we call fog lights not supposed to be on or illuminated period.

Postby skylinechild » August 13th, 2014, 11:23 pm

C33_RB20DET wrote:So it's a charge to drive with fog lights during the day you say. Ok so what's the charge the driver going to get?

Really want to hear your answer. Because that statement that you made about being charged with fog lights on during the day time is hilarious.

must be one in every bunch.... :lol:

pal i'm not here to get into a pissin contest with you....clear your mind and re read the first page ....slowly

C33_RB20DET

Postby C33_RB20DET » August 14th, 2014, 7:30 am

skylinechild wrote:
C33_RB20DET wrote:So it's a charge to drive with fog lights during the day you say. Ok so what's the charge the driver going to get?

must be one in every bunch.... :lol:

pal i'm not here to get into a pissin contest with you....clear your mind and re read the first page ....slowly

I don't disagree with most of your input in that post, however if you are going down the lines of fact and proper comparisons then state facts and not assumptions for the benefit of the guys that are trying to get some assistance.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 15th, 2014, 1:31 pm

no actually a police officer did warn me, i had mine on at dusk, with my park lights. also my fogs assist my driving in the night so i use them with my headlights.

rane

Postby rane » August 18th, 2014, 6:59 pm

Well guys all of you will get your answer tomorrow on beyond the tape with Alexander. I was watching it an a guy purchase a vehicle from the firm he got the certificate for the fog lights an he get ticket so a licensing officer will be there via phone call so we all hear if dis sheit is legal or not.

C33_RB20DET

Postby C33_RB20DET » August 18th, 2014, 11:27 pm

Sundar wrote:no actually a police officer did warn me, i had mine on at dusk, with my park lights. also my fogs assist my driving in the night so i use them with my headlights.

You say dusk, you need to check your lighting up hours which are published in the newspapers and you can be charged if it's not lighting up hours. And just like Doctors, Electricians, Audio Installers, Army, Fire , Police Etc you will meet the "QUACKS".

So to the guy that had proper documentation for use of the fogs, you have nothing to worry about.GL

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 19th, 2014, 4:40 am

on today's episode of beyond the tape there is a segment about fog lights,opeeee u should watch

mista

Postby mista » August 19th, 2014, 8:09 am

I'm glad this topic came up cause I myself will really like to know what is really legal.
Firstly HIDs in fogs is wrong so no sense fighting that. I got a ticket earlier this year for fog lights. The officer told me the same thing, that I need to go LO and get a certificate of approval. I told him my vehicle came with fogs and it passed through LO and nothing of the sort was mentioned about a certificate of approval for fogs. I also told him that this would have been my first offense and asked for a chance to go sort it out. His reply was that he done write the ticket. The next day I went to the station and spoke to another officer and he began quarreling saying that he fed up tell 'these officers' that there is a difference between fog lights and curb lights. Fogs lights are generally the ones with amber lens. So I'm still uncertain but the officer eventually discarded my ticket. I rarely use my 'curb lights' again cause I'm sure I might encounter another uncertain officer... so anyone who can clarify what's legal from illegal, the advice would be mostly appreciated

Postby BrotherHood » August 19th, 2014, 10:38 am

Watch TV6 this evening bout 6 o clock. Your questions will be answered.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 19th, 2014, 10:47 am

BrotherHood wrote:Watch TV6 this evening bout 6 o clock. Your questions will be answered.

somebody take notes and report here plz, mankind go still be in wuk without a tv

Postby BrotherHood » August 19th, 2014, 11:25 am

I will try, provided nothing comes up and I am home.

mista

Postby mista » August 19th, 2014, 7:01 pm

Well I just watched the program and Inspector Alexander stated that fog lights are illegal no matter what, but the curb lights are in fact legal. But I'm still confused as to how the police will differentiate which is curb or fog lights...

zorced

Postby zorced » August 19th, 2014, 7:11 pm

I think there are more cars on the road with factory fitted oem fog lamps than retrofitted ones.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 19th, 2014, 8:15 pm

I couldn't find anything vehicle related when searching for curb lights. ... fog lights however returned the familiar lights that I see on most vehicles nowadays..
From my reading aux lights fall into these major categories
-driving lights
-fog lights
-spot lights (pencil beams)
-Flood light

Fog lights are mounted low with a short range and wide spread of light

Postby Morpheus » August 19th, 2014, 8:28 pm

It really is annoying that the showroom vehicles are sold and licensed with fog lights. RORO vehicles are sold. Inspections are passed. What's the big deal really? I agree we have no "fog" but these lights actually bother no one given how low they are mounted.

But of course some idiots make it bad for everyone. Fogs alone on at night and HID lights in fog light housings.

Solution? Ban all. Or in this case do not remove it from the law books.

Postby BrotherHood » August 20th, 2014, 12:15 am

Inspector Alexander's program was quite uninformative IMO. They spoke for about 2 mins on fog lights and not even a description of what is fog lights and what is curb lights. All he said, as mista already posted was that fog lights are illegal. But what are fog lights? Are they a particular colour, size, depth etc? What are curb lights? This will just continue the cycle of inconsistent views, opinions and laws with regards to fog lights/curb lights.

He did mention however that he understands that there are letters of authorisation being given out with these cars that come equipped with such lights, but that cannot compensate or otherwise authorise the use of fog lights.

What is the big deal with it? Yes, we may have no uses for it locally, except for the very odd occasion down Manzan and few other areas. Even if outfitted with HID, does it really affect uncoming drivers or create any othet hazards?

In addition, I was listening to a radio programme where a caller said that he was stopped by an officer because he had on his fog lamps during the day. The caller was driving a B14. Ok so you have it on during the day. Ticket. The caller went on to say that he told said female police officer that his car came with fog lamps. The officer responded by saying "...you feel this is ah BMW." :lol:
How legitimate this is I do not know but the caller was furious and obviously called in to vent.

Postby skylinechild » August 20th, 2014, 9:20 am

thanks for watchin the program BH. i myself missed it.. i do have some points below.

BrotherHood wrote:Inspector Alexander's program was quite uninformative IMO. They spoke for about 2 mins on fog lights and not even a description of what is fog lights and what is curb lights. All he said, as mista already posted was that fog lights are illegal. But what are fog lights? Are they a particular colour, size, depth etc? What are curb lights? This will just continue the cycle of inconsistent views, opinions and laws with regards to fog lights/curb lights.

definition of a fog light does not exist in the FSM ( factory service manual) however it does specify how to calibrate the light. it does specify the type of bulb but not the kelvin.

the definition of the fog light to a cub light must therefore be clarified by the law...either stating kelvin color or size of light. mounting position differs from car to car so there must be some way to standardize this - depth and beam pattern / spread is covered in the FSM

the below page is taken from the P11 Primera FSM

He did mention however that he understands that there are letters of authorization being given out with these cars that come equipped with such lights, but that cannot compensate or otherwise authorise the use of fog lights.

quick question -if letters of authorization are given out - yet cannot authorize - why are they given out....?? are they given out just to mamaguy the public in a false sense of doing the right thing.??:lol:

What is the big deal with it? Yes, we may have no uses for it locally, except for the very odd occasion down Manzan and few other areas. Even if outfitted with HID, does it really affect uncoming drivers or create any other hazards?

dont forget when it have white rain...fog lights also penetrate that too.. very easily.
and YES ..fools with HID in flg lights blind oncoming traffic

In addition, I was listening to a radio programme where a caller said that he was stopped by an officer because he had on his fog lamps during the day. The caller was driving a B14. Ok so you have it on during the day. Ticket. The caller went on to say that he told said female police officer that his car came with fog lamps. The officer responded by saying "...you feel this is ah BMW." :lol:
How legitimate this is I do not know but the caller was furious and obviously called in to vent.

No contest there. if the car in question (b14) came with factory fog lights turning them on also turns on the park lights - driving with the lights on during the daytime is also a charge.

all that leads on two things

1. L.O in a mess and dont know ass from elbow....
2. laws are clearly needed to SPECIFY what can and what cannot be permissible.-
when to use and when not to use.
fog / curb lights, kelvin color and newer LED technology as well as DRL's need to be addressed if we are to move forward.

it cannot be like the tint law which is up to the discretion of the officer.
we cannot leave it at the discretion of the driver due to what is happening on the nation roadways.

Postby BrotherHood » August 20th, 2014, 10:28 am

Agreed on the B14 man with driving with fog lights on in the day. If his factory installed fogs are on, then his park light is also on. I was just relaying the story to show the attitude of the officer.

To other readers, fog lamps can be on by themselves or without the park light. In this case, the use of an external switch would be needed to turn the fog lamps on. This set up would then not be a factory installed setup.

Letters of authorisation mean nothing I guess. Alexander said that local dealers cannot give that authorisation and it is not a case where the Japanese manufacturers can liase with lcoal dealers with regards to autorisation of such lights. As you say, the public is just being 'mamguyed'.

Here we are, still with no proper definition, no proper up to date laws and vehicle owners are still not aware or ignorant of the real facts.
Last edited by BrotherHood on August 20th, 2014, 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Javedali

Postby Javedali » August 20th, 2014, 10:31 am

I like this guy

Javedali

Postby Javedali » August 20th, 2014, 10:33 am

Lo does give authorisation to vehicles that have a single switch that control both fog and head lights

mista

Postby mista » August 20th, 2014, 11:03 am

Agreed Brotherhood. The system is messed up. When I got my ticket for fogs, there were a group of fellas liming on the corner giving the officers lil old talk and d officer jus laughed and said that 'today we only giving ticket for fogs' and mind u, while writing up mine, he stopped a CRV for fogs and had a chat with the driver and tell him don't let it happen again and gave him a bligh which I found to be unfair but then again 'gopaul luck is not seepaul luck!'...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 20th, 2014, 11:36 am

Can they charge you if it is off?
Cause that would be harsh