v8 vs sr20

ZORT Jr

Postby ZORT Jr » July 23rd, 2005, 12:57 pm

well okay people care about the sound but i rather win the race than the i sound better contest....wont u?

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » July 23rd, 2005, 10:40 pm

True.But we done discuss this already :? :x :oops:

Postby Maserati » July 25th, 2005, 2:13 pm

droppa

Postby droppa » July 26th, 2005, 11:37 am

i would support the SR all the way, takin into consideration both cars stock power to weight ratio, the silvia has better chances, but this has alot of deciding factors, especially on the lenght of the run :roll:

Postby Rainman » August 28th, 2005, 6:39 am

AMERICAN MUSCLE IN THE MUDDERS CUDDERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! V8 POWAH

Walk510

Postby Walk510 » September 12th, 2005, 10:09 am

i was out with mates the other night and we blew the doors of a 300 kw V8 falcon in a datsun 1200 ute CA18DET stock motor 400 BBturbo large front mount custom cooler apexi power fc computer 20 psi boost

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » September 12th, 2005, 10:30 am

Get the weight of the Falcon and compare it to the weight of the Datsun.

Walk510

Postby Walk510 » September 13th, 2005, 5:42 am

as some say you can't beat cubes I say buy a turbo and a light car C YA

Virus

Postby Virus » September 28th, 2005, 1:25 am

Now V8 in a smaller car :mrgreen: will OWNAGE anything stock to say but against a Sr thats modded as the examples above i feel the V8 would indeed take a beating stock to stock many of u know the weight and so on and so on so that has to be taken in great consideration rule race in ur own class to avoid shame lol V8 vroooooom vroooooom shakin the whole car and a lil SR vroooom pssssssttttt pass his ass on the 1/4 think about it

Walk510

Postby Walk510 » September 29th, 2005, 12:13 pm

LOL you boy's should drive V8's if you think they cant be beaten !!!
I drive a 3L V6 turbo ute I love toasting V8's also they cant get over the note of the turbo at 7500rpm bouncing of the limiter :shock:
the V8 is a out dated engine not to mention expensive now though good for boat anchor

mickey_squirrel

Postby mickey_squirrel » September 30th, 2005, 8:27 pm

i tink some body shouldnt ask a question like that yuh knoe sombody might have a sr 20 and sombody might have a v8 and dem want to race for proof.......wait that is a good thing

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 3rd, 2005, 7:38 pm

the V8 is a out dated engine not to mention expensive now though good for boat anchor

Outdated? Apparently Ferrari, Lamborghini, Porsche, Nissan, etc etc etc didnt realise that.

Some of the top supercars in the world are V8's dude.

Walk510

Postby Walk510 » November 4th, 2005, 1:30 am

hehehehehe hook line sinker
fezza'z b etter known for V10/12 lambo V10/12 porsche flat 6 nissan straight 6
yes we have a supertaxi series here with V8's and germans have the DTM
I was chatting to a australian champion top door slammer driver who is currently building a CA18DET powered car to drive to the drag strip for some fun LOL

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 8th, 2005, 11:56 am

I agree that the Japanese are going wonders with 4 cyls but a Camaro will prolly cut a Silvia's ass!

turbo master

Postby turbo master » November 13th, 2005, 11:08 pm

to those of you who dont know..there's a special sr engine..which clocks abt 270 HP...that in a light shell will do wonders..i want that engine :D

most japanese cars come with a standard...they cant be produced over 300horses.
but they're super upgradable :D

and as far as i see it..weight isnt that big of an issue but the V8 takes the checkered flag

Postby wagonrunner » November 13th, 2005, 11:19 pm

people.................you ever heard the term there is NO replacement for displacement. stock for stock, a boosted 4cyl could probably harass a big block on the 1/4 mile, but i think a tuned (not modded) race, the SR-T will wonder why it even bothered coming to the track. and god willing, there's a capri that will prove my words correct. hopefully in wallers though.

as for the statement of the sylvia vs the v8? you sure the V8 was properly maintained? little things do go a long way.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » November 14th, 2005, 8:54 am

Allyuh still arguing about this? :roll:
http://www.chevrolet.com/corvette/

Hole' dat>the LS7 I talking about..lewee see some flickin 4 cylinder with boost, stock from the showroom come round dat nah :roll: :mrgreen:

maximus

Postby maximus » November 15th, 2005, 1:50 pm

[quote="wagonrunner"]there's a capri that will prove my words correct.

Are u talking bout a black capri with a big block engine in it.

Postby wagonrunner » November 15th, 2005, 2:16 pm

there is more than one. the one i mentioned hasnt been to the track yet, but the road test definitely showed more than promise.

Walk510

Postby Walk510 » November 22nd, 2005, 9:45 am

chindian

Postby chindian » September 12th, 2006, 12:52 am

its all about POWER TO WEIGHT and POWER TO TORQUE ratio fellas,so stock for stock d SR will make d V8 look small...........doh mess wit d japanese engines ppl..d american hav d skills but not enough for d japanese.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » September 12th, 2006, 8:30 am

Sorry>but put the same amount of work,effort,mods,and money in a V8 and a I4 would NEVER come ANYWHERE close to it.Some of you are talking about stock v8's vs. modded I4's.Talk about a stock a I4 VS. a V8..who wins?dun talk

turbo master

Postby turbo master » September 12th, 2006, 11:21 am

hear nuh...its always unfair to compare stock cars..IMO anyway
they dont build those cars to their full potential..the companies purposely hold back the performance of the car..

its good enough stock but for those tha treally interested..there's a lot of options for ppl like that.they build the engines to be badded up

anyway..yup no replacement for displacement..japanese can only do so much with their 6 cylinders..but imagine if they can do that kinda stuff with a 4 n 6 cyl..immagine what they could do if given the opportunity of a v8...dayummmmmmmm

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 12th, 2006, 3:02 pm

v8....anymore arguement, then u have issues

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 19th, 2006, 6:11 pm

where dragist?

'there is no replacement for displacement'

think bout it like this: sock v8, stock det. just engines drive train and wheels. no driver, no shell, just what is needed to run the course. i say the det could stand ah hell of ah chance with ah power to weight ratio. but then again the v8 has torque for days :!:
the det has lag. only one way to find out yes :twisted:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 19th, 2006, 8:24 pm

imperial wrote:anybody see the episode of 5th gear on SPEED when some brit fella had a Pulsar GTi-R with the NASTY an DUTTY 4throttle SR20DET (modified) with 4WD and it went up against a blasted DODGE VIPER!!! AND IT WIN!!! The 350 works out to be a little over a 5.5 liter and the Viper is an 8 liter. Plus the Viper had 2 more cylinders than the 350 and 6 more than the SR. I have to concede that the SR had mods on it. BUT.. it beat the Viper by a little more than 2 car lengths.
So my answer is... a properly modded SR, B series or ANY JAPANESE engine will
OWN if not give those american engines a GOOD run for thier money.
But there are those who will disagree...

Ah boi look d video here... V10 my arse SR20DET-- Power to weight in deh MC!! :twisted:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-U0u0wWlgJ4" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>

Postby AllTrac » September 20th, 2006, 5:53 pm

v8! geez! cant believe this is a question, engine vs engine the v8 would stomp holes in that sr20 or any 4cyl turbo like it.

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » September 20th, 2006, 6:04 pm

Throw a SC on that V8 and BAM...SR20 is done. Depends also what generation camaro it is in...old school camaro 68-81...SR20 will hold em...newer generation are lighter and a bit better geared...hence SR20 down...350 chevy V8 are pretty fast no matter what...but there were plenty of them built with less than 220hp. A 220hp V8 can't even keep up to a B13 sunny stock... :o

After watching you guys run SR20's and such at the end of August...I'd have to say this. Trini SR20 vs any V8...chances are the SR20 takes it...ya guys is fass...

Up here in Canada...there are not many V8's that can keep up with me...never mind if I was running a Turbo. SR20 turbo would be hard to beat with any ride...even mine.

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » September 20th, 2006, 10:02 pm

hmmm could of been a traction issue with the V8....that is probable y it lost

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 21st, 2006, 10:51 am

put a nissan / infinity V8 in a Silvia and its faster than a SR20DET ;) its been done already, put a nissan V6 (NA VQ or TURBO VG) in a silvia and its faster, its been done, but a LS1 or LS2 in a silvia and its faster than the modified SR.. PWR - WGHT = WIN

also NA cars have a different kind of acceleration, the more lineir torque curve makes them faster at lower rpms where turbo cars are trying to get past vacum and into boost.

this would be a good example for this topic

S13 w/ SR20DET redtop GT2871R ECU etc ~350whp

vs

C6 LS2 corvette :lol:

obviously the vette would win..

but swap in a GT35R some 1200cc injectors an AEM, and about another 30,000 TT in mods and it would catcht eh vette and maybe even beat it..

the only way that pulsar beat that viper was becauseit had about 50,000 TT in mods and AWD and it weighs as much as the vipers spare tire..

and lets not even get into modified V8's (turbo, NA and SC) - just a visit to the Car Park to see the corvette dyno vid in a thread ther enow will answer this question..

thriw the same money at both engines and the V8 would come out on top,