brighter headlights

Postby Hook » June 13th, 2005, 11:34 pm

waaaaaay....I readin about fellas spending $115 for 100W bulbs and $90 for a relay and fuses and all kinda blue ting oui!

hear wha goin on eh....u can do it all for $100...that includes wire, 2 fuses, 2 relays, 2 bulbs and sockets, split loom to house the wires and a beer to reward urself for an hour well spent

lemme look for the drawing I used and give u guys a parts list based on what I did to my car...I'll try to post it up by Friday so u good folks can have a lil weekend project and by night time, u'll have to drive around like this --> 8)

I be passin some folks in dey PB* cars wid dey crystal projectors and my lights in mih ole 'rolla literally put dem in de shade

BTW fastredminx, holla at a brutha when u locate those 130/100W bulbs eh meng...tnx

toyoman

Postby toyoman » June 14th, 2005, 7:11 am

2) heavy duty light sockets

4) head light relay box "era" is the name on it comes with two 30 amp fuse, retails for bout $90

where were these items purchased?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 14th, 2005, 7:21 am

if yuh wah ah HID system for $2500 a pop yall PM me I eh have it on my car yet but meh paddnah have it on his and boi he tun night in to day and that is only low beem them BMW and them eh wah nothing with his lights

fastredminx

Postby fastredminx » June 14th, 2005, 6:57 pm

ah geh meh relay box by p/town auto supplies but it's a popular enough item to pick up at any part place. A word on the head light sockets "beware of the shining tiger products" wa does happen the wire does be thick nor arse and the parts man guh tell yuh 'this iz the best!' buh when yuh really look at it yuh could count the amount copper strans at a glance..........this is not good!.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 19th, 2005, 10:42 pm

Wait... why put 110W on Fogs?

Anyways... I holding out for the HID setup... I'm sure that they will be getting cheaper in the months to come.... hoping so at least! :)

Nothing else seems to make sense :)

seekoo12

Postby seekoo12 » July 3rd, 2005, 2:03 pm

There is an electrician at McBean on the main road who will install 2 relays and change your wiring for approx. $140. In this way you can use 130Watts blub and your plug would not melt.

Postby Hook » July 3rd, 2005, 11:42 pm

what I cyar unnastan is dat nobody seem to want to tell mih where de fcuk dey gettin these 130W bulbs

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 4th, 2005, 9:54 am

^^^ I go ask Jerry for you :P
That b1tch have all kinda bulbs :)

Nissan_Chick

Postby Nissan_Chick » July 4th, 2005, 7:54 pm

honestly, i've changed my headlites like 2 times in 6 mths already. i doh see too well at nites nah...but the only thing that was wrong was that it needed adjusting. :oops:

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » July 4th, 2005, 8:19 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:^^^ I go ask Jerry for you :P
That b1tch have all kinda bulbs :)

jerry in persea?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 4th, 2005, 9:18 pm

^^ Spring Village...
I just say so cause he does keep headlight bulbs and thing in stock.
You can probably go see him if he has them... :?

fastredminx

Postby fastredminx » July 4th, 2005, 11:20 pm

if yuh must use the 'classic' two relay set up go wit bosh or nissan.....now not 4king up anybody but i'll seen a couple of relay setup's that was real failure's jus because of how they were 'hooked up' and this was supposed to be ah simple thing!

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 4th, 2005, 11:56 pm

okay oaky.. i have used the coloured higher watage bulbs.. to me if u drive in town alot .. DONT USE THEM.. that what streeet lights are for.. if u liek me where i used to drive all over the friging bush in the night it made a huge diffrence.. with the green being the most natural and the white easist to use.. i never used bule bulbs.. police wil harass u but say what.. my car passed inspection with green multi coloured bulbs.. 80w low 100 w high.. and they were very good when focused the didn blind the other driver as much and threw light much further.. now the downsides.. i used them in the laurel for one reason the lamp is metal not plastic. going up from a normal 60 lo 80high bulb to a a 80 low an 100 high means a significat increse in heat the lancer plastic lamps cannot take it.. and they will eventualy go bad fast in the best case.. melt and catch fire in the worse case( yes i have seen this happen) the hid kits are expensive no arse but run a tad cooler due to the systems.. the best bet u have is to get the super white xeon bulbs normal watage or even the silverstars as close to the stock wattage as possible put them in get ur lamps focused and leveled.. and clean ur lens hter si a method to do this using aluminum mag cleaner and plastic polish :wink: have funn

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 5th, 2005, 9:08 am

I once bought the HID blue headlamp bulbs for 35$ ea. and surprisingly, from what you allare saying, those things shone brughtly.They were 90watt bulbs but ppl were cussin when i came toward them while im on low beam...Did however melt the sockets..No probs though, went to Jurawan in dieago and he had heavy duty sockets which i took home and replaced myself..car got into a lil accident and had to change the bulbs after abut 8 months and when it was fixed someone in the garage f#$%^ed them up. So i went to a popular car place in Champs fleUrs and bout the xenon blue bulbs for $100 >First of all the lights were'nt blue at all, they are marked 100 watts, but im not at all impressed ...I am literally catching my a$$ to see at night!
So my next move is to go back to my lil $35 dollar Bright no a$$ bulbs and relax mihself..

Also, does anyone know how to properly focus the lights on your car??

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 5th, 2005, 9:25 am

face a straight wall and use a screwdriver to turn the screws on the back of the headlight housing, you will see the focal point change.
Move it to where you want. REALLY easy

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 5th, 2005, 9:32 am

I know how to physically adjust it with the screws and all , but thats it??? theres no distance you should be from the wall??and height of beam or anything..

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 5th, 2005, 9:46 am

well you decide man, not everyone is the same height or has the same visibility issues. You adjust it to suit yourself, just be mindful of other motorists.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 5th, 2005, 10:48 am

I once bought the HID blue headlamp bulbs for 35$ ea. and surprisingly,

firstly . hid is the system not the bulbs.. but what ever the bulbs were let me know if they seriously bright i want some

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 5th, 2005, 11:26 am

ultimate agencies movietong! :lol:

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2005, 4:51 pm

I once bought the HID blue headlamp bulbs for 35$ ea. and surprisingly, from what you allare saying, those things shone brughtly.They were 90watt bulbs but ppl were cussin when i came toward them while im on low beam

fella...ppl weren't cussin because ur beams were real bright eh...blue light scatters more readily than any other colour in the visible spectrum...it wasn't particularly bright but it caused severe glare to oncoming traffic
u ever notice u can't see squat when yuh driving at night and the road wet? and ppl still flashing yuh to dip yuh beams even tho u on low on top ah dat?
blue tinted bulbs pretty much waste the useful part of the light produced and let only the blue portion through....now assuming u did the right thing before your bulb upgrade and your 90W bulbs are getting 90W of power, try the 90W untinted bulbs and see what I'm talking about

and doh study that the HID setups on luxury cars look blue and purple and all that...that has to do with the "colour temperature" of that particular HID setup and the light scattered when it hits objects

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2005, 4:56 pm

red sleeper wrote:I know how to physically adjust it with the screws and all , but thats it??? theres no distance you should be from the wall??and height of beam or anything..

here ya yo pallie....I did this myself at work one night shift and it's proven true...drive safe 8)

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=804783#804783

hjchinw

Postby hjchinw » July 15th, 2005, 11:35 pm

hook doh forget to see if yuh find the diagram and parts for the light upgade.

plex

Postby plex » July 16th, 2005, 6:27 am

i have had that same problem buying these xenon bulbs and my wattage is 55watts around there normal car specs..when i driving at night it is bad sometimes especially when rain falling..some how i feel get rid of those bulbs, save some money go HID.but i going and raise the angle again and see..some of those bulbs just not worth it..i have front fogs..i used 100watts xenon bulb not much difference i found..the white used to show up better...this time i looking for safety not style anymore..

Postby Hook » July 16th, 2005, 11:06 am

hjchinw, I found it like the same weekend I posted that up but it look like ppl more interested in in buyin ting fuh other ppl to install instead..just begging to be hit a 6 for a 9
besides I doh know where to get no lazy man upgrade kit and I do most of my stuff for myself

if u want, I can e-mail u a word file complete with diagram and instructions and explanations since u the only one interested in getting off ur ass and actually doing it instead of playing helpless like these folks

hjchinw

Postby hjchinw » July 17th, 2005, 1:07 pm

yeah that will be fine hook thanks.

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » July 17th, 2005, 10:58 pm

{I know how to physically adjust it with the screws and all , but thats it??? theres no distance you should be from the wall??and height of beam or anything..]
Masterserv can do a proper headlight adjustment for you...they have the correct equipment. Think it was $40.00 + VAT. I did mine there...accurate adjustment makes quite a difference, especially if your headlights were poorly set.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 17th, 2005, 11:59 pm

^^^^that's good to know man 8)

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 18th, 2005, 12:01 am

where is masterserv again?
Lady Young?