Liqui Moly

Re: Liqui Moly

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 9th, 2013, 4:00 pm

So all you did was to use the Chevron fuel treatment and all your stated problems went away?

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » August 10th, 2013, 8:43 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:So all you did was to use the Chevron fuel treatment and all your stated problems went away?

i didnt say that
read it again

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » August 10th, 2013, 10:44 am

cinco wrote:why do you guys think these products are necessary?

These are necessary to keep your vehicle / engine performing at its designed potential and even better.
In many cases these products can solve problems that otherwise would be expensive and labour intensive to fix.
For example, our Hydraulic Lifter Additive, dampens the noise caused by hydraulic lifters and improves their lubrication. To fix this problem mechanically, is expensive and cumbersome. This is why the professionals love this product.

FUEL SYSTEMS (Diesel and gasoline):
During the normal functioning of any engine, the continuous circulation of fuel through pumps, hoses, injectors and intake valves will cause build-up of material, (gum like) pretty much like what happens in your water lines at home. Also, the combustion process in the chamber creates carbon particles that eventually will also build-up on the piston heads and valves. When this happens, the performance of the engine is compromised because the irregular spray pattern from the fuel injectors is not allowing proper atomization of the fuel and therefore, combustion is not optimum which generates more carbon build-up. When carbon builds-up on piston heads and specially on valves, proper compression is partially lost due to an inadequate seal because of the carbon building up precisely on the valve seats.

This is when the Liqui Moly chemical tools are useful for cleaning and maintaining the fuel systems in optimum operating conditions by removing gum and carbon deposits as well as protecting the system from corrosion.
For this, use Injection Reineger every 2000km for gasoline fuel systems and use Super Diesel Additive for diesel fuel systems as often as possible due to the low quality of diesel fuel in T&T.
An intensive cleaning of the fuel system of your vehicle by a professional is recommended once a year, depending on usage. Liqui Moly provides professionals with the specialized products and equipment for this.
Remember, when servicing injectors for diesel or gasoline engines, on board the engine, you are servicing the entire fuel Systems as opposed to servicing them separately off-board the engine where you only clean the injectors but not the valves, pistons and fuel pumps.

ENGINE LUBRICATION.
This aspect of an engine is the most important when it comes to minimizing wear and extending the life of any engine.
Oil: always use the manufacturer's recommended oil viscosity for which your engine was designed. No other. Never! The engine was designed, made specially, to work with a particular oil viscosity. Thicker or thinner oils than the recommended will not lubricate the engine properly and therefore reduce the life of the engine.

OIL LOSS:
If your engine is old enough to have some wear, and looses some oil through seals or burning, you can use the Liqui Moly Motor Oil Saver which will refreshen the seals and stop oil loss.
If your engine is really burning a lot of oil and showing thick blue-gray smoke through exhaust, then you can use Liqui Moly Smoke Stop as a temporary solution which will considerably reduce the smoking and the oil loss while you get around to overhauling the engine as a permanent solution.

WEAR PROTECTION
To reduce wear in your engine, you can use Liqui Moly Oil Additive with MoS2 (Molibden Disulfide) which when added to the engine oil, bonds to al metal surfaces creating an anti-friction coating that reduces engine wear considerably and makes the engine run smoother and quieter. It also reduces fuel consumption due to lower resistance in engine moving parts.
There is also the new CeraTec with ceramic technology which added to your engine oil every 50,000 kilometers, will coat all metal parts so that wear now happens on the ceramic coating and not directly on the metal of your engine.

Furthermore, Liqui Moly engine oils contain larger additive packages to ensure the stability of the oil, maintain it's viscosity and it's cleanliness, protect it from contamination and acids and eventually prolong its life.

Remember to always flush out the old oil with Engine Flush before adding the new oil. It does not make sense to add fresh new oil in to a dirty engine. For obvious reasons this will affect the life of the new oil and creat harmful sludge in the engine.

Postby rollingstock » August 11th, 2013, 10:10 pm

liquimolytt wrote:

These are necessary to keep your vehicle / engine performing at its designed potential and even better.
In many cases these products can solve problems that otherwise would be expensive and labour intensive to fix.
For example, our Hydraulic Lifter Additive, dampens the noise caused by hydraulic lifters and improves their lubrication. To fix this problem mechanically, is expensive and cumbersome. This is why the professionals love this product.

This i am interested in, where has?

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » August 12th, 2013, 12:55 am

liquimolytt wrote:

In our recently launched website www.liquimolytt.com you can find all retailers and service centers that either sell Liqui Moly products or use them professionally or even both. You can search them by zone as well to find the ones close to you. You may also contact us via the website or over the phone.
Enjoy.

Postby cinco » August 12th, 2013, 3:21 pm

liquimolytt wrote:

i switched to amsoil and my lifter noises have eased :|
i dunno why ppl feel additives are necessary when all u are doing is putting a bandaid on an issue.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » August 12th, 2013, 7:28 pm

^^ best oil

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » August 13th, 2013, 3:14 pm

cinco wrote:
liquimolytt wrote:

i dunno why ppl feel additives are necessary when all u are doing is putting a bandaid on an issue.

Probably that was all you needed to do. Make an oil change. Hydraulic lifters can be noisy usual to lack of proper lubrication. This can happen by using the wrong oil or dirty oil (sludge).
We recommend for this problem an egine flush and oil and filter change. If that does not clear up the problem, then you can use the Liqui Moly Hydraulic Lifter Additive.
(You can also replace the lifters if you prefer not to use an additive)

Professional Mechanics are the main users of this product.

Postby rollingstock » August 13th, 2013, 7:47 pm

cinco wrote:
liquimolytt wrote:

4g93 gdi, that doh help. now hush yuh cyat!

ModMania

Postby ModMania » August 13th, 2013, 9:14 pm

Using an engine flush is very harmful to the engine...its like putting kerosene in it...it will starve bearings of proper lubrication and later on you will end up regretting it..just change oil more regularly and that should clean up your engine

Postby cinco » August 14th, 2013, 4:19 pm

cinco wrote:
liquimolytt wrote:

no you hosh yours fawke

Liquimoly guy how does that hydraulic lifter additive change the viscosity and make up of my oil?
and no i didnt just need an oil change i get noticeably more lifter noise with shell oil than amsoil

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » August 14th, 2013, 4:59 pm

ModMania wrote:Using an engine flush is very harmful to the engine...its like putting kerosene in it...it will starve bearings of proper lubrication and later on you will end up regretting it..just change oil more regularly and that should clean up your engine

You're right about these being harmful if you use a low quality product (or kerosene) or fail to follow the instructions carefully. I have heard of people pouring an engine flush in the motor oil and then taking the car for a drive, and furthermore, bringing the car back the following day for the oil change!
We can't talk for other brands, but the Liqui Moly Engine Flush is to be added to a hot engine oil (at operating temperature) and then let the engine "IDLE" (no revving) for no more than 10 minutes. Drain old oil immediately, change filter and add fresh oil.
The Liqui Moly Engine Flush will dissolve sludge and lacquers and keep them in suspension preventing their sedimentation to ensure full removal when draining. Also, it makes the old oil scurry off all engine parts so that none is left behind.
All Liqui Moly cleaning products (Injection Reineger, Super Diesel Additive, etc) are formulated to maintain adequate lubrication, when used as instructed, while cleaning engine parts in the fuel or oil systems to ensure no harm is caused to your engine.
We are aware of the general concern there is for the use of these products. This is why this subject was specifically addressed during our T&T Liqui Moly Seminar back in April 2013, to explain the use, properties and benefits of the Liqui Moly Engine Flush, some of which are mentioned above.
For a video and further info on this item go to:
http://www.liquimolytt.com/index.php/pr ... flush-plus

Hope you find it helpful

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » August 14th, 2013, 5:21 pm

cinco wrote:
liquimolytt wrote:

no you hosh yours fawke

Liquimoly guy how does that hydraulic lifter additive change the viscosity and make up of my oil?
and no i didnt just need an oil change i get noticeably more lifter noise with shell oil than amsoil

It does not change the viscosity nor the make of your oil. What the Hydraulic Lifter Additive does is to foment the lubrication of the lifters by improving the lubrication properties of the oil itself and by clearing partially clogged valve bores to allow oil to pass freely, and this way preventing them from sticking. It also dampens the noise of worn lifters.
see http://www.liquimolytt.com/index.php/pr ... r-additive

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » August 16th, 2013, 7:33 am

Protect your investment with the complete range of premium products which is offered by Liqui Moly

http://www.liquimolytt.com/
LM Resell.jpg
All from Liqui Moly

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » August 31st, 2013, 7:32 pm

LIQUI MOLY is the most popular oil brand in Germany

Readers of three major car magazines elect LIQUI MOLY the market leader

March 2013 – The people have spoken: independently of another, the readers of three of the largest German car magazines have voted LIQUI MOLY as their favourite motor oil brand. "Receiving this award in the home country of the car shows us that quality and service pay off," says Ernst Prost, Managing Director of LIQUI MOLY. It is not the first success for the brand.

Each year, three of the leading car magazines confront the most important car brands with the opinion of its readers. Publication number one: 'Auto Zeitung' asked its 690,000 readers for their top brands. In the lubricant category LIQUI MOLY was clearly at the top. And in the care product category LIQUI MOLY came in second place. It is now the third time in a row that the 'Auto Zeitung' readers have voted LIQUIMOLY the best oil brand.

Publication number two: 'Auto Bild' called on its 2.75 million readers to give their opinion on the best brands in the car sector. In the lubricant category there was, as in the previous year, a clear winner: LIQUI MOLY. And in care maintenance LIQUI MOLY also reached second place.
Publication number three: 'Auto Motor und Sport' asked its 3.15 million readers for their opinion on the 'Best Brand'. The result for lubricants was also: LIQUI MOLY, for the third time in a row here also.

"This triple success is already a great achievement," says Ernst Prost. "But to repeat such a result and to be able to keep global corporations such as Castrol, Shell, Mobil, Total and Valvoline at a distance as an SME is truly fantastic." Even if LIQUI MOLY is best-known in its home market of Germany, being repeatedly voted at the top of the podium in reader questionnaires is not taken for granted. "The size of the company is not decisive for success," says Ernst Prost. "What is decisive are top quality products and the drive to provide customers with the best service every single day."

As satisfied as Ernst Prost is with the result, he is not going to rest on his laurels: "We want to defend our pole position in Germany. And we are working hard on becoming the most popular oil brand in other countries, too."

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » August 31st, 2013, 8:12 pm

VERY GOOD READING ON OIL CLASSIFICATION

The quality of motor oils is defined by a complex combination of letters and numbers. These will be explained as follows. The correct oil for your car can be identified by our oil guide.

http://www.liqui-moly.de/liquimoly/web. ... guide.html

API CLASSIFICATIONS
The American Petroleum Institute (API) has laid down the quality requirements and test criteria for motor oils worldwide. S stands for Gasoline and C for diesel engines. The next letter denotes the issue of the classification. API-SN is currently the latest and highest quality grade for gasoline engines.

ACEA SPECIFICATIONS
The ACEA (Association des Constructeurs Européens d’Auto mobiles) has been the official successor to the CCMC since 01.01.96. This organization defines the quality of motor oils according to European specifications. The ACEA classificatons use the abbreviations A1, A2, A3 and A5 for passenger vehicle gasoline engines. The abbreviations B1, B2, B3, B4, B5 apply to passenger vehicle diesel engines. There are so-called Low SAPS or Mid SAPS oils for passenger car gasoline and diesel engines with exhaust gas aftertreatment, e.g. soot particulate filter, as per Euro 4 standard or higher. These oils also carry the designations C1, C2, C3 or C4. The abbreviations E2, E3, E4, E5, E6, E7, E9 apply to diesel engines in commercial vehicles and working machinery. The additional number indicates performance criteria.

EURO 4/5 STANDARD
The Euro IV emissions standard has been in effect as of January 1, 2005. The Euro V standard is in effect throughout Europe for passenger cars since September 1, 2009. This means that the emissions from diesel engines must be reduced by up to 57 percent.
Complying with this new standard not only re quires technical modifications to engine technology or exhaust gas aftertreatment systems; the mineral oil industry also has been commissioned to develop new lubricants. To this end, LIQUI MOLY has engineered ”TOP TEC
4xxx”, lubricants specially designed to comply with the new emissions standards. Daimler , VW, BMW and Opel for example, prescribe mandatory use of such lubricants for their diesel-powered vehicles equipped with a soot particulate filter.

COMPANY APPROVALS
Different vehicle manufacturers place additional requirements on motor oils: for example, Mercedes-Benz – Sheets 228.1, 228.3 228.5 and 228.51 for commercial vehicle diesel engines and 229.1, 229.3, 229.31, 229.5 and 229.51 for passenger vehicle gasoline and diesel engines; VW: Out-of date VW Standard 500 00 already withdrawn, VW Standard 501 01 is the standard for gasoline engines, VW Standard 505 00 for diesel engines with exhaust-gas turbocharging, 505 01 for diesel engines with pumped-jet injection systems and VW
Stand ard 502 00 for gasoline engines with enhanced performance. All VW standards named require a change interval of a maximum of 15,000 km or, for low mileage drivers, an annual oil change interval. VW Standards 503 00 / 506 00 / 506 01 are valid for gasoline engines, diesel engines with and without pumped-jet injection as well as extended maintenance intervals (WIV) as of model year 2000. For pumped-jet engines with extended maintenance intervals (WIV), the standard 506 01 came into effect starting 5/2001. A Standard 506 01 lubricant is currently mandatory for R5 and V10 TDI engines up to manufacture year June 2006. All other engines can be filled with Standard 504 00 / 507 00 oil (LIQUI MOLY TOP TEC 4200). With this motor oil, oil change intervals of up to 50,000 km are possible as per the manufacturer’s specifications. The oil change must how ever be performed after 2 years, at the latest (see manufacturer’s specifications).

sliperywhenwet

Postby sliperywhenwet » September 9th, 2013, 9:08 am

Personally used the engine flush when i did my oil change . Now running the 5W40 full synthetic Liqui Moly on a B16a5 engine . with the Ceratec additive ..... startups on mornings are noticeably easier. Vtec engaging with more response . oil color is still clean on the dip stick after 500 km . engine idles smooth ....... Good Product here guys !

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 9th, 2013, 2:28 pm

^^arent vtec engines supposed to run Xw30 oils?vtec is supposed to engage more lazily with a Xw40 oil...does this mean that a w40 liquimoly is as viscous as a w30 body anything else?...that means liquimoly oils are less viscous than stated?

sliperywhenwet

Postby sliperywhenwet » September 9th, 2013, 3:01 pm

ghostbusters wrote:^^arent vtec engines supposed to run Xw30 oils?vtec is supposed to engage more lazily with a Xw40 oil...does this mean that a w40 liquimoly is as viscous as a w30 body anything else?...that means liquimoly oils are less viscous than stated?

thats the thing alot of ppl dont even know what DOHC VTEC engines suppose to run, ill get to that in a lil while. When i went to the liqui moly website they have an oil guide , you search your vehicle and engine by manufacturer and it recommends the oil for your engine. On seeing this i was in the same ship as u thinking that vtec engines suppose to run on xw30 oils. So i started researching and all confirmed the liqui moly oil guide.. see below.

http://asia.vtec.net/topics/oil1.html
http://www.ek9.org/forum/engine/509-oil ... -b16b.html

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 9th, 2013, 6:20 pm

both links you posted recommend 10w30 for our climate...

sliperywhenwet

Postby sliperywhenwet » September 9th, 2013, 9:02 pm

ghostbusters wrote:both links you posted recommend 10w30 for our climate...

This debate could go on for months . But i dont think u took the time to read . The first link shows you what Honda recommends for there engines nowhere there say anything about temp.

The second link shows temp which u say the w30 is recommended for our temp. but it also shows the w40 in the same temp range. Also in that second link what did everyone recommend ?

which all comes back to the first link . Than Honda made the w40 oil for DOHC VTEC and the w30 for the LEV engines .

IDK why u trying to fight down the Liqui Moly guys thread . I came to tell d man i used it and getting a nice response after doing my investigations. U sound like your'e an agent for another oil and afraid to use Liqui Moly because you'll switch and get fired !!

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » September 9th, 2013, 9:24 pm

Big Z wrote:Somebody say 5W30 in a B16A?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 10th, 2013, 11:22 am

sliperywhenwet wrote:
ghostbusters wrote:both links you posted recommend 10w30 for our climate...

This debate could go on for months . But i dont think u took the time to read . The first link shows you what Honda recommends for there engines nowhere there say anything about temp.

The second link shows temp which u say the w30 is recommended for our temp. but it also shows the w40 in the same temp range. Also in that second link what did everyone recommend ?

which all comes back to the first link . Than Honda made the w40 oil for DOHC VTEC and the w30 for the LEV engines .

IDK why u trying to fight down the Liqui Moly guys thread . I came to tell d man i used it and getting a nice response after doing my investigations. U sound like your'e an agent for another oil and afraid to use Liqui Moly because you'll switch and get fired !!

the 10w30 says vtec...and no, i like some liqui moly products, no fight down intended. w40 is expected to be used in climates with higher ambient temperatures than ours...

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » September 10th, 2013, 5:39 pm

Hi guys,
thanks for the feedback sliperywhenwet and ghostbusters.
We did some research on this ongoing matter and ended up with mix responses from different manufactures worldwide. So have your pic from below

SHELL
Engine oil viscosity recommendations <2000:
Below 35°C, 5W-30*;
-20°C to 35°C, 10W-30;
above -20°C, 10W-40;
above -15°C, 15W-40/15W-50;
above -10°C, 20W-40/20W-50. *
Except cars fitted with H22A1, H22A2 engines which may only use 5W-30 below 0°C

AMSOIL

2000 HONDA CIVIC 1.6L 4-cyl Engine Code B16A2 VTEC
LUBRICANTS & FLUIDS:
Engine Oil
Grade 1......API*
Maximum Performance SAE 5W-30 Signature Series 100% Synthetic Motor Oil (ASLQT)
Performance Plus XL 5W-30 Synthetic Motor Oil (XLFQT)
Performance OE 5W30 Synthetic Motor Oil (OEFQT)
Above 19 F......10W-30
All TEMPS......5W-30 [1]

MOBIL 1
Current Vehicle:
Year: 1997
Make:Honda
Model:Civic
Engine Type:4cyl. 1.6Liter VTEC Naturally Aspirated

Mobil 1 Extended Performance 5W-30
Mobil 1 High Mileage 5W-30
Mobil 1 5W-30. Mobil 1 0W-30 Advanced Fuel Economy

MOTUL
Recommendations engine oil viscosity
below 35 ° C, 5W-30 *, -20 ° C to 35 ° C, 10W-30,
below -20 ° C, 10W-40, beyond -15 ° C, 15W-40, 15W-50;
beyond -10 ° C, 20W-40, 20W-50. *
Except cars with équippées H22A1 engines, H22A2 which can only use 5W-30 below 0 ° C

CASTROL
Civic 1.6i VTEC
EDGE 5W-40 (a)
Magnatec 10W-40 A3/B4

LIQUI MOLY
Top Tec 4100 5W-40
Leichtlauf High Tech 5W-40
Leichtlauf Special AA SAE 5W-20
Super Leichtlauf 10W-40
Synthoil High Tech 5W-40
Last edited by liquimolytt on September 11th, 2013, 7:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 10th, 2013, 6:09 pm

Whats the hths of the liquimoly 5w30 and 10w30?

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » September 10th, 2013, 10:17 pm

Big Z wrote:Whats the hths of the liquimoly 5w30 and 10w30?

This Info is not readily available. I requested it from Liqui Moly-Germany. We'll get back to you on this.

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » September 11th, 2013, 7:25 am

liquimolytt wrote:

This Info is not readily available. I requested it from Liqui Moly-Germany. We'll get back to you on this.

Hi Big Z,
The HTHS viscosity is not explained by the SAE viscosity for example 10 W-30. The HTHS is depending on the ACEA specification. See graphic below for explanation.

Also, I found this article from Lubrizol HDDEO which I found to be very helpful to understand HTHS quality of motor oils

High Temperature High Shear Viscosity of Engine Oils, what it means to your engine
High temperature high shear (HTHS) viscosity of engine oils is a critical property that relates to the fuel economy and durability of a running engine. The drivers behind lowering HTHS viscosity are new global governmental regulations to improve fuel economy (FE) and lower greenhouse gases (GHG) in new vehicles. Lower HTHS viscosity tends to improve FE and lower GHG but higher HTHS viscosity affords better wear protection so a careful balance must be found when formulating an engine oil. Sufficient HTHS viscosity is critical in preventing engine wear in the critical ring/liner interface area by maintaining a protective oil film between moving parts. One method used to measure HTHS viscosity is ASTM D4683. Oil is introduced between a rotor and a stator at the test temperature of 150°C. The rotor experiences a reactive torque to the oils resistance to flow (viscose friction) and this torque response level is used to determine the HTHS viscosity. HTHS viscosity by ASTM D4683 has been found to relate to the viscosity providing hydrodynamic lubrication in light duty and heavy duty engines. HTHS viscosity has also been found to relate to fuel economy. Think of the protective oil film as if you are trying to swim. If the film is too thick like molasses you can barely move and have to expend a lot of energy; too thin and you sink to the bottom. What you want is the right balance of support and ease of movement. The oil has to be thick enough to maintain separation of the critical moving parts but thin enough to allow for fuel efficient operation.
A new heavy-duty engine oil category, PC-11, is currently under development. PC-11 may be split into two categories one with HTHS viscosity less than 3.5 and one equal to or greater than 3.5. PC-11 oils with HTHS viscosity <3.5 would offer FE benefits but would be restricted to engines designed to run on lower HTHS viscosity oils. This may exclude many older engines. Engine manufacturers are evaluating their hardware to see if engine durability, especially for ring and liner scuffing is an issue with low HTHS viscosity oils so they can take advantage of the engine lubricant delivering improved FE to meet the new US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) FE and GHG requirements. Engine manufacturers may have to redesign their engines to take advantage of the potential fuel savings of low HTHS viscosity oils. PC-11 oils with HTHS viscosity equal to or greater than 3.5 would cover the heritage fleet and new engine requiring higher HTHS viscosity for wear protection.
A critical issue for the oil industry is how misapplication of low HTHS viscosity oils will be avoided. The use of low HTHS oils will save fuel in engines designed for their use but could lead to excessive premature wear in some engines.

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » September 11th, 2013, 7:30 am

liquimolytt wrote:

Hi Big Z,
The HTHS viscosity is not explained by the SAE viscosity for example 10 W-30. The HTHS is depending on the ACEA specification. See graphic below for explanation.

Also, I found this article from Lubrizol HDDEO which I found to be very helpful to understand HTHS quality of motor oils

High Temperature High Shear Viscosity of Engine Oils, what it means to your engine
High temperature high shear (HTHS) viscosity of engine oils is a critical property that relates to the fuel economy and durability of a running engine. The drivers behind lowering HTHS viscosity are new global governmental regulations to improve fuel economy (FE) and lower greenhouse gases (GHG) in new vehicles. Lower HTHS viscosity tends to improve FE and lower GHG but higher HTHS viscosity affords better wear protection so a careful balance must be found when formulating an engine oil. Sufficient HTHS viscosity is critical in preventing engine wear in the critical ring/liner interface area by maintaining a protective oil film between moving parts. One method used to measure HTHS viscosity is ASTM D4683. Oil is introduced between a rotor and a stator at the test temperature of 150°C. The rotor experiences a reactive torque to the oils resistance to flow (viscose friction) and this torque response level is used to determine the HTHS viscosity. HTHS viscosity by ASTM D4683 has been found to relate to the viscosity providing hydrodynamic lubrication in light duty and heavy duty engines. HTHS viscosity has also been found to relate to fuel economy. Think of the protective oil film as if you are trying to swim. If the film is too thick like molasses you can barely move and have to expend a lot of energy; too thin and you sink to the bottom. What you want is the right balance of support and ease of movement. The oil has to be thick enough to maintain separation of the critical moving parts but thin enough to allow for fuel efficient operation.
A new heavy-duty engine oil category, PC-11, is currently under development. PC-11 may be split into two categories one with HTHS viscosity less than 3.5 and one equal to or greater than 3.5. PC-11 oils with HTHS viscosity <3.5 would offer FE benefits but would be restricted to engines designed to run on lower HTHS viscosity oils. This may exclude many older engines. Engine manufacturers are evaluating their hardware to see if engine durability, especially for ring and liner scuffing is an issue with low HTHS viscosity oils so they can take advantage of the engine lubricant delivering improved FE to meet the new US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) FE and GHG requirements. Engine manufacturers may have to redesign their engines to take advantage of the potential fuel savings of low HTHS viscosity oils. PC-11 oils with HTHS viscosity equal to or greater than 3.5 would cover the heritage fleet and new engine requiring higher HTHS viscosity for wear protection.
A critical issue for the oil industry is how misapplication of low HTHS viscosity oils will be avoided. The use of low HTHS oils will save fuel in engines designed for their use but could lead to excessive premature wear in some engines.
ACEA TEST SEQUENCES.jpg
ACEA Tests sequences and OEM

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » September 19th, 2013, 6:36 am

Another reason to use additives
to extend the life of your motor oil and the performance of your diesel vehicle
TBN (Total Base Number)

One factor that harms your motor oil is the high sulphur content in diesel fuel which increases the acidity of the motor oil, therefore reducing its TBN.
The new European emission standards (Euro 1 to 5) have required a reduction of sulphur content in diesel fuel from 2,000 ppm (parts per million) in 1993 to 10ppm in 2009 for passenger vehicles.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EN_590

The EN 590 had been introduced along with the European emission standards. With each of its revisions the EN 590 had been adapted to lower the sulphur content of diesel fuel - since 2007
this is called ultra low sulphur diesel as the former function of sulphur as a lubricant is absent (and needs to be replaced by additives).

emission standard at latest sulphur content cetan number
Euro 1 1. January 1993 max. 0,200% min. 49
Euro 2 1. January 1996 max. 0,050% min. 49
Euro 3 1. January 2001 max. 0,035% min. 51
Euro 4 1. January 2006 max. 0,005% min. 51
Euro 5 1. January 2009 max. 0,001% min. 51
Euro 6 1. January 2014

Diesel fuel in T&T?

According to Petrotrin, from their website: http://www.petrotrin.com/Petrotrin2007/ ... oducts.htm
Diesel / Heating Oil
Petrotrin supplies various grades of gas oils (38 to 45 cetane) to the Local, Regional, and International Markets. Typical sulphur is 0.5 wt% but some low sulphur (0.05%) material is also available
This is equal to 5,000 ppm of sulphur content

TBN and how it affects the life of the engine oil:
PETROLEUM QUALITY INSTITUTE OF AMERICA
Total base number (TBN) is a measure of a reserve alkalinity of a lubricant. The test is relevant to internal combustion engines due to the acidic byproducts of combustion generated when gasoline and diesel fuel are burned. These byproducts, including SOx, NOx, and others enter the crankcase via blow-by gases getting past the piston rings.

In addition to acids entering the engine crankcase from blowby, acids are normally generated in other areas of the engine due to heat, oxidation, and other chemical processes.

In an effort to counter the corrosive effect of acids on engine parts, constituents are added to the oil (oil additives) that have basic properties. As bases, they act to neutralize the acids in the engine. The additive commonly used is calcium sulfonate. Others, however, including magnesium sulfonate, phenates, and salicylates are also used. In addition to contributing to the TBN of a lubricant, these additives are multifuctional in that they are also highly valued as dispersant additives.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 19th, 2013, 7:26 am

The high sulphur content in local fuel is easily handled by using the correctly rated oil.

There is no need for any oil additive for this purpose. Use of an API CI-4 rated oil will correctly handle this issue.

The vast majority of diesel engines will be best served by the use of an API CI-4 rated oil.
API CJ-4 rated oils should be avoided, as the TBN is lower, reducing the lifetime of the oil.
The are no tangible benefits from using an API CJ-4 rated oil.
Take note of this, gents with newer model pickups, who think that newer and more expensive oil is better. An API CI-4 rated oil is what you should be using.