What's your fuel mileage?

Re: What's your fuel mileage?

Postby wagonrunner » October 16th, 2012, 11:34 am

GA15DE
$100-$110 super. 350-400km. been a while since i crossed 450 on a tank, but no longer on highway everyday.

Postby rollingstock » October 16th, 2012, 1:49 pm

Had cause to gee dem some fyaz weekend.

Mileage using US gallon = 23.2mpg
Mileage using UK gallon = 27.87mpg
Clearly lost some mpg's, but who can complain with 172km/h in third gear before shifting up, didn't look down after that, plus it eh make no difference tach taps out at 180km/h

Btw guys with bigger wheels recalculate your rolling diameter, it will affect your mpg calculation. I am yet to recalculate mines.

At present rate should get 591km from this tank.

Postby wagonrunner » October 16th, 2012, 2:22 pm

rollingstock wrote:Btw guys with bigger wheels recalculate your rolling diameter, it will affect your mpg calculation. I am yet to recalculate mines.

mines is off. but not by much. just an extra 4.1k every 100

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 16th, 2012, 2:29 pm

Tarantula wrote:Average should be about $5.00 per km using super and I'm getting about that right now.

I said that wrong- s/b 5km per dollar using super.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » October 16th, 2012, 8:25 pm

B15 - QG15DE

551 km from full tank to the "gas-light" with normal driving. I cannot complain about this car since I had it
for over 4 yrs. Its really good on gas for an old car with an outdated engine.

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 16th, 2012, 8:59 pm

^^^How much super does your tank take to full?

Postby BrotherHood » October 16th, 2012, 10:54 pm

NR8 wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:
NR8 wrote:Nissan
B12 with QG15DE, a/c on less than 50% of the time, $80 super:

250 kms before service

280 kms after service including cleaning of injectors & throttle
body (which had no carbon build up), change of plugs, air filter and
fuel filter. This does not seem good to me, since I see some tuners in
another thread saying they get upwards of 400 kms from their B15s. Dunno
what could be causing this poor fuel economy :?

With all that you have done with relation to sevice on the car, it sort
of just boils down to your driving habits that cause you to get the gas
mileage you currently get.

That's with conservative driving. :| Plus car hardly ever crosses 80-100km/hr

Damn, :?
Do you have bigger, aftermarket wheels?

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 17th, 2012, 8:28 pm

^^^ well, bigger than stock.. 195/50/15

Could a bad PCV valve decrease fuel economy?

Also, the original B12 exhaust manifold was reused during conversion to avoid cutting & welding so there is no pipe connecting manifold to EGR valve. I've read somewhere that the QG15DE ECU does not use EGR data to affect its operations though, it just displays it when connected to a scanner. Dunno how true that is.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » October 18th, 2012, 8:35 pm

680km from $98 of 92RON fuel.. Yes, you read that correctly.

Car? 2012 Suzuki Swift :)

Postby rollingstock » October 18th, 2012, 8:47 pm

^ hey jonathon...........fcuk you :(

:lol: I keed.

Needle between 3/4 and 1/2, $168 premium to fill it back up. Got 303km since last filled.

US gallon = 24.39mpg
UK gallon = 29.29mpg

Should get a little over 660km to a tank at those figures.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » October 18th, 2012, 8:59 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ hey jonathon...........fcuk you :(

:lol: I keed.

Oh god, yuh make me laugh there... But seriously, I feel that car running on some kinda obeah yes!! :lol:

Postby BrotherHood » October 19th, 2012, 12:59 am

Jonathan wrote:680km from $98 of 92RON fuel.. Yes, you read that correctly.

Car? 2012 Suzuki Swift :)

Excellent mileage. What's the displacement on that Swift?
1300cc?

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » October 19th, 2012, 6:29 pm

it's the new 1400 engine.. K14B.

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 20th, 2012, 8:17 pm

You driving style? Moderate? Zorce? Ac? None? Hills? Flats? Cause I got the same from my tank after the stories above...

Postby rollingstock » October 21st, 2012, 1:12 am

Got 32.84 mpg, seems traffic is my enemy.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » October 21st, 2012, 2:41 pm

Reform to trincity everyday, AC on all the time, cruising between 90-100kph.

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 21st, 2012, 9:10 pm

Do all of you guys have your thermostat installed?

Postby rollingstock » October 21st, 2012, 9:15 pm

^ Yep, a must for me.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » October 22nd, 2012, 6:05 am

^and me!

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 22nd, 2012, 11:46 am

The mechanic who did my conversion took out the thermostat. I didn't even know until after when I asked him about the change interval for it. He and his apprentice was like "dem ting is fuh cold country wit snow an ting bai" :roll:

Always told myself I would try replacing it on my own but never got around to doing it.

Postby cinco » October 22nd, 2012, 12:37 pm

NR8 wrote:The mechanic who did my conversion took out the thermostat. I didn't even know until after when I asked him about the change interval for it. He and his apprentice was like "dem ting is fuh cold country wit snow an ting bai" :roll:

Always told myself I would try replacing it on my own but never got around to doing it.

no thermostat also accelerates sludge build up

i do 400-450 on avg on $90 super 1.5 engine
a/c on/off is no difference
most ive done is 575 till the gas light came on cost 120 to fill back up

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » October 22nd, 2012, 5:57 pm

NR8 wrote:The mechanic who did my conversion took out the thermostat. I didn't even know until after when I asked him about the change interval for it. He and his apprentice was like "dem ting is fuh cold country wit snow an ting bai" :roll:

Wayss, mechanics still doing this utter shite?

Postby Morpheus » October 22nd, 2012, 6:14 pm

When I bought my car it used to take ages to get to operating temperature, even after cruising for a while.

Turns out there was no thermostat :roll: . Installed one and the engine gets up to temperature in half the time now

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 22nd, 2012, 8:17 pm

cinco wrote:no thermostat also accelerates sludge build up

You mean engine oil sludge? Or sludge/rust in the radiator/cooling system?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » October 23rd, 2012, 6:34 am

Jonathan wrote:

Wayss, mechanics still doing this utter shite?

yes! even up on my side in central, mechanics still saying this.
they always have a surprised look on their face when i tell them i have my thermostat installed !

Postby cinco » October 23rd, 2012, 7:06 am

NR8 wrote:
cinco wrote:no thermostat also accelerates sludge build up

You mean engine oil sludge? Or sludge/rust in the radiator/cooling system?

engine oil sludge
your oil requires a certain temperature to operate efficiently
too cold accelerates sludge build up which is why they recommend warming you car up in the winter months in the colder countries

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 25th, 2012, 6:32 pm

Jonathan wrote:Reform to trincity everyday, AC on all the time, cruising between 90-100kph.

Orrrr da is why. Not plenty traffic or start stop and a controlled right foot. lol. I actually have to change my air filter and plugs I can see the gas consumption increase plus after all that discipline and failing to meet my target I say eff day and just zorcing like an idiot. 1/2 tank gone already 0_o best behaviour from next week once the service do. I cyaa afford to live so. Park up and ride oui...

Postby BrotherHood » October 26th, 2012, 3:38 pm

cinco wrote:

no thermostat also accelerates sludge build up

i do 400-450 on avg on $90 super 1.5 engine
a/c on/off is no difference
most ive done is 575 till the gas light came on cost 120 to fill back up

excellent mileage.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 26th, 2012, 5:21 pm

dafuq ppl convert to mpg!

km per tank / 1.6 = miles per tank
miles per tank / tank size (gallon) = MPG

km per tank dont anything.

Anyways, I'm in excess of 30mpg. Not too bad for a cammed 4 cylinder running standalone ems :mrgreen:

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 28th, 2012, 12:01 pm

Why convert pal? We putting gas in liters. We driving in kilometers. So we'll know how many kilometers for a tank. My car does mpg or l per km. Ironically I don't use the mpg in Trini...