stay away from REDLINE WATER WETTER

Re: stay away from REDLINE WATER WETTER

Postby 3stagevtec » March 13th, 2011, 12:00 am

Now I am not sure if the Redline WW caused the slimy brown residue seen inside the rad mainly because I can't remember if it was there from before. So I can't say much on that.

The 'brown globules' seem in the coolant is basically what was mentioned on other websites. When you rub it between your fingers, it will break down quite easily and feels pretty slimy. I never noticed this forming inside my system because when I looked at the coolant reservoir the dark green coolant made it difficult to see..

Last year when I changed the coolant, I had used a Rad flush and then cycled clean distilled water 3 times through the system before finally filling up with coolant etc.. so I am sure this was not there from before..

Postby 3stagevtec » March 13th, 2011, 12:16 am

I was thinking about trying this..

http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/rdcb.aspx

AMSOIL Dominator® Coolant Boost

It has good corrosion protection, is designed to lubricate the water pump and outperforms the redline water wetter..

but then I noticed this..

Directions: With engine off and cool, make sure cooling system is filled with selected coolant. Shake bottle and pour calculated amount of Coolant Boost into radiator. Start engine, turn heat on high and run for 15 minutes. Do NOT use distilled water unless mixed with 50% antifreeze.

Why would they recommend that?

I want to run a 15% antifreeze - 85% distilled water mix.. (I certainly doubt i'll have any issues with freezing here in Trinidad..)

Postby 3stagevtec » March 13th, 2011, 12:24 am

http://www.royalpurple.com/radiator-additive.html

Royal Purple Purple Ice

Important Precautions: Be sure your cooling system is working properly and that the radiator is free of blockage and corrosion before using Purple Ice. Antifreeze should be properly mixed and filled to manufacturers' specifications. Distilled water and / or demineralized water should not be used if you elect to run a mixture of straight water and Purple Ice in your radiator.

Same recommendation here..

Not seeing that recommendation on Redline's webpage though..

http://www.redlineoil.com/product.aspx?pid=74&pcid=10

Now don't say I bough all that distilled water for nothing.. :|

Postby bushwakka » March 13th, 2011, 11:25 am

^^bahhh.....jes collect rainwater

W2J

Postby W2J » March 13th, 2011, 10:02 pm

Postby 3stagevtec » March 13th, 2011, 10:31 pm

DEI's Radiator Relief gave our Civic the lowest cylinder head temperatures and lowest idling temperatures out of the bunch when mixed with pure distilled water.

I hear ya...

Postby Rainman » March 14th, 2011, 1:52 pm

I've used the Prestone premix (green stuff) in two vehicles over the last 7 years

Mazda 3: 2008-Present with a semi annual drain, flush and refill.
Mitsubishi Lancer (CS3A): 2004-2008 with a semi annual drain, flush and refill.

i flush with distilled water (blue waters 5 liter bottle)
Never had any problems with the radiator, no buildup or gunk (Knocks on wood HARD!!)

Postby 3stagevtec » March 15th, 2011, 1:26 am

Got a response from Amsoil today regarding the use of distilled water with their coolant boost.

Distilling water removes some of the chemical “contaminants” that are actually beneficial in this application. Please use any available drinking water with the Antifreeze/Coolant. Using the Coolant at 15/85 mix ratio is OK. You may also add the Coolant Boost for further heat reduction. Our recommendations are general recommendations fitting most common circumstances.

Technical Services

Makes you rethink the whole distilled water theory..

Oh well, off to buy some Blue Waters..

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 15th, 2011, 8:54 am

blue waters != distilled water.
Bottled water contain minerals which can also cause scaling or deposits in the radiator!

distilled water aka battery water is about 25-30 per gallon and can be bought in most auto parts stores.

venum

Postby venum » March 15th, 2011, 9:26 pm

well that explains a coating on teh inside of a roro CS3 lancer that overheated couple years ago

Mitsu long life coolant or glycoshell FTW ONLY :!:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 20th, 2011, 2:53 pm

air condition water?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 21st, 2011, 9:59 am

THE SYNDICATE wrote:air condition water?

distilled water real cheap.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2011, 2:40 pm

THE SYNDICATE wrote:air condition water?

that might have contaminants in it too I would suspect..

right now I just using Castrol coolant + distilled water.. gonna leave out these additives for now..

Postby MG Man » March 22nd, 2011, 10:56 am

meh mothing but glycoshell in the cars, including the old British one that does not like heat......no problems with any of them