jason3000

Re: HAVE A AE91 5A ENGINE GETTING FUEL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS

Postby jason3000 » January 25th, 2011, 10:23 pm

cinco wrote:pinging is preignition
sounds like your problem aint solve buddy it is just waiting to go boom again

well guys good news after all the research and advice i got from you guys the problem turned out to be pre ignition. THE CULPRIT WAS THE ALTERNATOR, HAD IT SERVICE TODAY AFTER GETTING WARNING LIGHT AND ALARM. It turnd out that the power cable from the alternator ( i think the electrician called it transducer, doh noh if am rite.) was burnt, therefore the vehicle was running on a faulty 12 volt system. what was happening in the past was every time i ajust the timing the noise will go for a while and then gradually come back. Well today after the service of the altenator cable not a sound.... even though it is early days i think dis car never felt better will see how it progresses.

Postby Hook » January 26th, 2011, 12:19 pm

This isn't the first time I heard about a faulty alternator causing pinging.

I know a guy with an A172 Lancer ("box lancer") that has an alernator problem where his charge light comes on intermittently...the engine starts pinging like crazy when this happens.
I could understand the link between poor charge and pre-ignition on an EFI system where cam and crank angle sensor signals could get inteference, but not in an old school carby car.

Still, glad u got through...hope the fix is permanent this time.

Postby cinco » January 27th, 2011, 7:21 am

thanks for telling us the solution to the problem also too many people fix it and dont share the knowledge of the solution
hopefully you sorted out now
it might be the regulator in the alt never heard of anything alt related called transducer

Postby Hook » January 27th, 2011, 9:35 am

lol...a "transducer" converts one form of energy into another eg. a speaker is a transducer that converts an electrical signal into kinetic energy (and thus sound energy).

Either you heard it wrong (transistor?) or that electrician could walk d walk, but can't talk d talk :lol:

still, glad u got thru...so now we know, after everything ignition and timing-wise checks out and you're still pinging, check the alternator

jason3000

Postby jason3000 » January 28th, 2011, 8:38 pm

well transister is not what i heard, jus could not remember what i heard but had to write, car still running well, fuel economy is at its best will keep you posted :)