Re: W.T.K noob question on cleaning air flow sensor

Postby 5forward » February 28th, 2011, 7:40 am

where do you get this crc product?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 28th, 2011, 8:18 am

^^most 'parts place' should carry it! i bought mine in central!

5forward

Postby 5forward » February 28th, 2011, 8:16 pm

ok.but where in central cuz im from there too

Postby cinco » March 1st, 2011, 6:36 am

all them parts place
sonnys have
kawal singhs have

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 1st, 2011, 7:05 am

^^^what he said! 8-)

5forward wrote:ok.but where in central cuz im from there too

bought mine by king or rick...really can't remember,that was a while ago! :oops:

both on the same compound so u can't miss it! :oops:

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 1st, 2011, 9:42 am

god info here, cleaned mines, i hit some silver spray on the housing one time....will upload a pic later.

or an another tip, refrain from using oil sprayed air filters.... :shock:

Postby Hook » March 1st, 2011, 12:48 pm

been using K&N drop-in replacement filters 5 years in one car and 3 in the other with no issues whatsoever...just follow instructions, don't over-oil it and you'll be fine

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 1st, 2011, 3:09 pm

true^ but so i read somewhere on some other forum....i using a k&n cone abt a year now an no problems either...but i guess its really all in about how u apply the spray.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 2nd, 2011, 6:37 am

Hook wrote:been using K&N drop-in replacement filters 5 years in one car and 3 in the other with no issues whatsoever...just follow instructions, don't over-oil it and you'll be fine

5YRS old the filter Hookman?weyyyyyyy :shock:

j/k eh! doh ban meh
:lol: :oops:

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 2nd, 2011, 7:40 am

me eh even have licence 2 years good.....

5forward

Postby 5forward » March 7th, 2011, 8:46 am

Thanks for the info guys.

Jus a question...what would happen if you have a cone filter,wash it once inna while,but dont spray any oil?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 7th, 2011, 5:48 pm

^^^shorter life span,if not used as directed!

Postby cinco » March 9th, 2011, 6:22 am

less filtration ability

5forward

Postby 5forward » March 10th, 2011, 5:28 pm

Ok.So how do i know when to change it? because i dont wana damage the engine.

Also,do they sell the oil spray separately? (if yes,where in central can i get it)

Postby cinco » March 11th, 2011, 6:48 am

a brand name air filter (K&N) is supposed to last 1000000 miles
depending on the filter also you can get the oil and cleaner kit
check glens for the K&N kit

5forward

Postby 5forward » March 11th, 2011, 5:54 pm

thanks

azlan

Postby azlan » June 27th, 2011, 5:04 pm

Can you use Gum-Solve® CARBURETOR and CHOKE CLEANER to clean the air flow sensor?

I carried my car by the mechanic to service my air flow sensor on a vigo and now I have a delay when accelerating.It like a one second delay. I read on the can that it was safe for all oxygen sensors.

Could this spray damage my sensor?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 27th, 2011, 6:49 pm

sounds like ur sensor got facked up bro...sry!

Postby Hook » June 28th, 2011, 8:15 am

Didn't we say to use CRC Electronic Contact Cleaner? *steups*

azlan

Postby azlan » June 28th, 2011, 9:17 am

It was the mechanic who used this gum solve spray on it.... I thought he know what he was doing....

Strange enough, I drove the van this morning and the delay is no longet there.... How can this be? If the sensor was damaged , wouldn't be permanently damaged?

Postby Hook » June 28th, 2011, 9:41 am

azlan wrote:It was the mechanic who used this gum solve spray on it.... I thought he know what he was doing....

Strange enough, I drove the van this morning and the delay is no longet there.... How can this be? If the sensor was damaged , wouldn't be permanently damaged?

It could have been how he cleaned it.
Typically, you'd want to clean it when it's cold to prevent it "sweating" on the inside. It's similar to when you carry a car with a DIS to get an engine wash and come out with a stutter because the distributor cap "sweat" on the inside. It's possible with just driving it, whatever moisture condensed where ever, simply dried up.

azlan

Postby azlan » June 28th, 2011, 12:07 pm

Oh well that would be great news !!!
By chance HOOK, Do you have a garage? I would like to bring a fielder wagon by you and the VIGO to do some checks with some other concerns....
Can u PM me your details if u have a garage...

Postby Hook » June 28th, 2011, 12:19 pm

:lol: naw sry meng, my garage is for parking my cars...I'm no mechanic...I do this for t3h lulz (well, that and I have this deep-seated hatred for mechanics who don't do what they're paid to do)

azlan

Postby azlan » June 28th, 2011, 2:53 pm

Ever since I have been on Tuner , u always have good advice and it always turns out that u are correct.

Thanks for the great advice bro... U should probably be a mechabic, u would probably be richer !!! lol...

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » September 5th, 2012, 3:35 pm

thanks guys.