QG

Postby QG » November 28th, 2008, 10:46 am

^now that's a very GOOD question.

QG

Postby QG » November 28th, 2008, 10:48 am

Or maybe because the Maszda 6 Timing is low????

As long as you have a high compression eg. 11.0:1 and you drop the timing, then it's safe to use RON 92 in most cases.

jmarson

Postby jmarson » November 28th, 2008, 11:27 am

cool. forgive my question but how u check timing on my sport 20? have to get a diagnostic device or something?

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » November 28th, 2008, 11:41 am

centralized(m) wrote:another fact-----trinidad not producing super or premium gas!!!! IT'S ALL IMPORTED BABY!!!!

i heard of this b4 bt i also heard we gettin it from venezuala, bt idk if its soo true, dats jus tlk.

Postby Greypatch » November 28th, 2008, 4:48 pm

hmmm certain cars >2.0 engines can also run super

QG

Postby QG » November 28th, 2008, 7:01 pm

jmarson wrote:cool. forgive my question but how u check timing on my sport 20? have to get a diagnostic device or something?

And you are correct :wink: .

Oh and to adjust your timing, if you have a Distributor...raise it upward (clockwise direction) to increase and downward (anti-clockwise) to decrease timing.
There's a way to determine how much to turn and what degrees, But I don't know :( . Maybe you can ask a mechanic :idea: .

If you have the COIL ON PLUG (no distributor) then you will need a scantool to do the adjustment

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 28th, 2008, 8:06 pm

^^There isn't really a "fixed" adjustment on most modern day cars what run C-O-Plug systems as in slightly older ones.

In newer cars, like the later QG powered, HR-powered nissans, run an ignition setup which allows the ECU to adjust timing as it sees fit.....and that is done based on the response the ECU sees from the engine's own knock sensor.

If you log your Ign Adv. values (in terms of degrees) as done by a "scantool", you will see a range of values (positive and negative) as you drive.

Chances are that scantool can't really CHANGE anything per say, but rather will tell you what's actually happening.

AS for the "degree" readings that you see, it's up to you to find out what the threshold values are, so as to determine whether you're getting knock or not.

Or better yet, your car's ECU might even log Knock Correction in some form or fashion.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 28th, 2008, 8:10 pm

another fact-----trinidad not producing super or premium gas!!!! IT'S ALL IMPORTED BABY!!!!

We don't???????????

OMG.......that means I've been going to work everyday, to something that is purely a figment of my imagination for the past few years!

:oops:

QG

Postby QG » November 30th, 2008, 12:15 am

lol.... :fadein: :lol: :lol:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » December 3rd, 2008, 12:44 pm

Then 1 question...that QG 15 e-throttle is pinking on super....why is the knock sensor not picking that up. Right now it costs approx 160-170 to full up with premium as i have no other choice & don't want to fu ck the engine up. :?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 3rd, 2008, 1:50 pm

that QG 15 e-throttle is pinking on super

WTF is "pinking".

Yuh mean PINGING or knocking? Strange to hear that happening with a QG15 S2.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » December 3rd, 2008, 2:27 pm

^^"pinking" and "pinging" means the the same thing....google it ..u'll see

Knocking (also called knock, detonation or spark knock, pinking in UK English or pinging in US English) in spark-ignition internal combustion engines occurs when combustion of the air/fuel mixture in the cylinder starts off correctly in response to ignition by the spark plug, but one or more pockets of air/fuel mixture explode outside the envelope of the normal combustion front. The fuel-air charge is meant to be ignited by the spark plug only, and at a precise time in the piston's stroke cycle. The peak of the combustion process no longer occurs at the optimum moment for the four-stroke cycle. The shock wave creates the characteristic metallic "pinging" sound, and cylinder pressure increases dramatically. Effects of engine knocking range from inconsequential to completely destructive. It should not be confused with pre-ignition (or preignition), as they are two separate events.

QG

Postby QG » December 3rd, 2008, 6:14 pm

phreakazoid, good info there boss. Knowledge is power :lol: :mrgreen:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 4th, 2008, 5:29 am

Knocking (also called knock, detonation or spark knock, pinking in UK English or pinging in US English) in spark-ignition internal combustion engines occurs when combustion of the air/fuel mixture in the cylinder starts off correctly in response to ignition by the spark plug, but one or more pockets of air/fuel mixture explode outside the envelope of the normal combustion front. The fuel-air charge is meant to be ignited by the spark plug only, and at a precise time in the piston's stroke cycle. The peak of the combustion process no longer occurs at the optimum moment for the four-stroke cycle. The shock wave creates the characteristic metallic "pinging" sound, and cylinder pressure increases dramatically. Effects of engine knocking range from inconsequential to completely destructive. It should not be confused with pre-ignition (or preignition), as they are two separate events.

Showoff.........You pulled that from wikipedia didn't you? :lol: :lol:

I believe this same post was quoted in another thread on knock and detonation. :?
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on December 4th, 2008, 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

achillies

Postby achillies » December 5th, 2008, 6:57 am

banzai wrote:my little contribution..........I have switched to super with my L touring no performance issues but definitely less mileage. Even with this loss (30km per tank some times more)

this is what is happening to me right now and i am not really pleased about it, when i was using premium i use to get 410-440 kilometers from a full tank till the gas light comes on, now i only getting 320-350 kilometers from a full tank since i switched to And all the typos is not my fault this google chrome browser friggin up

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » December 5th, 2008, 9:00 am

i stickin wit premium if i dont is pinging galore

butch246

MORE HELPFUL INFO

Postby butch246 » December 8th, 2008, 9:10 am

SOON TO COME THERE WILL NOT BE SUPER GASOLINE AVAILABLE TO ANYONE. AND DIESEL WILL BECOME ALMOST IF NOT THE SAME PRICE OR HIGHER THAN PREMIUM, BUT THE QUALUTY WILL BE 100% BETTER.
BUT IT WILL TAKE SOME TIME FOR THIS TO TAKE PLACE. SO ENJOY THE FIGHT BETWEEN BETWEEN GASES AND WHO WANT TO GO TO DIESEL, SOON THIS WILL ALL BE JUST A PART OF HISTORY.

Celica GTS

Postby Celica GTS » December 21st, 2008, 4:53 pm

i changed from the premium to super also about a year now and i have noticed since the super is a more dense gas it takes more time for it to burn out hence the improved gas consumption. the engine is a toyota 3sge 5fwd with extractors and 2 inch exhaust and it still working good up to date.

haterforever

Re: MORE HELPFUL INFO

Postby haterforever » December 29th, 2008, 8:30 am

butch246 wrote:SOON TO COME THERE WILL NOT BE SUPER GASOLINE AVAILABLE TO ANYONE. AND DIESEL WILL BECOME ALMOST IF NOT THE SAME PRICE OR HIGHER THAN PREMIUM, BUT THE QUALUTY WILL BE 100% BETTER.
BUT IT WILL TAKE SOME TIME FOR THIS TO TAKE PLACE. SO ENJOY THE FIGHT BETWEEN BETWEEN GASES AND WHO WANT TO GO TO DIESEL, SOON THIS WILL ALL BE JUST A PART OF HISTORY.

so where u got this info? cuz i noticed somegas stations only had premium last weekend

QG

Postby QG » December 29th, 2008, 4:45 pm

Maybe butch is psychic :shock: ?
:)

butch246

Postby butch246 » January 2nd, 2009, 9:46 am

QG and haterforever - I am not psychic. i just have been doing alot of reserch on the issue and wanted to spread the knowlage. also i have been into cars since i small, it also help when you have " inside information".
Celica GTS - i dont think you have it right. super gasoline to my understanding is not more dence then premium. they both are the same gas. whoever told you that is not telling you everything. Premium and Super are the same only the octne level which effects combustion is diffrent hence the super burning less. read the first few posts. remember more octane more combustability hence more burn.

PEOPLE - remember these are my opinions i have reserched and found these answers it is up to you all to believe, i have tried it and my results i have posted.

n e ways bless up. happy new year all tuners

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 2nd, 2009, 9:53 am

I am running boost and WAS using super. The engine was performing horribly. I switched to Premium and improvement was noted. Its not in your mind, but actual noted changes in engine performance.

slick

Postby slick » January 2nd, 2009, 1:34 pm

Just a little experience.
If you are thinking about using Super in your Lexus RX300, the ones with the 3.0 V6, you're better off sticking with Premium.
The 3.0 doesn't do well with Super :!:

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » January 20th, 2009, 4:52 am

Thought I'd share my experience. The pump attendant filled super in my Lexus last week even though I told him Premium. I thought to myself hey it took $150 instead of $230 so I had a lil extra $70 more than usual after the fillup so I did not complain.

But it cost more than it was worth because I ended up spending all weekend doing diagnostic checks and trying to solve the problem I spent $1100 to buy a new MAP/airflow sensor because the idle was erratic and the car was near stalling after racing a few bikes on the highway. Very embarrassing too when I stopped next to the bikers and my car wanted to cut off.

When I floored the pedal the car seemed to respond slower but I thought it was in my mind because I was still getting my usual 200 km/hr with ease and it was hard to tell. But at gear changes I was getting a loud pop and I was told fire was coming through the exhaust.

It turned out my airflow sensor was good because the new one did the same thing and now that I refilled, the car is back to normal with nothing done to the fuel mapping and my old sensor is working now too. It was as a result of the aftermaket ECU's tuning for a higher octane that was receiving the Knock Sensor signal and retarding my engine beyond the normal threshold and possibly to avoid that knock and maybe conflicting with the VVT-i timing on the valves to actual combustion in the cylinders that was giving the erratic performance. The engine is DLI so the timing can not be retarded manually for a lower octane and the compression ratio is a very high 11.5:1 so it is dangerous to use low octane fuels.

So the question is not if Super is better to use than Premium, it's a question of finding out if your engine requires Super or Premium- check your compression ratio too. If Super is recommended then don't waste money on Premium or vice versa don't waste your money on a new engine. Most economical cars require Super.

Another thing (from experience), detonation can occur in a turbo engine if it is boosting and the fuel runs lean. Your pistons can melt and con rods brake and rip through your engine block and end up in unbelievable places. The same thing can happen if your octane is too low from what it was tuned for and you boost it hard.

I use Super in all my other vehicles with no probs - I like that TT$2.7/L.

silver racer

Postby silver racer » January 20th, 2009, 8:56 am

I thought to myself hey it took $150 instead of $230 so I had a lil extra $70 more than usual after the fillup so I did not complain.

so M-TECH u din realise u din get premium wen d cost come to jus 150?

But some ah dem attendants aint easy dred.. u hadda monitor dem most ah d time.

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » January 20th, 2009, 9:12 am

silver racer wrote:
I thought to myself hey it took $150 instead of $230 so I had a lil extra $70 more than usual after the fillup so I did not complain.

so M-TECH u din realise u din get premium wen d cost come to jus 150?

But some ah dem attendants aint easy dred.. u hadda monitor dem most ah d time.

Yeah I realised before I paid. I was buying a phonecard the same time and only after I was walking back I notice it was super he pumping. What I meant is that I did not bother to make a fuss because to make him empty the tank and fill back would have been some antics.

You does have to monitor them on how much you paying too!!

butch246

Postby butch246 » January 22nd, 2009, 12:01 pm

sorry to hear that so many people having trouble with the super in their car. i have a sr20de (silver top) in my p11 and it works well with super, the only change is topping and for me that is not an issue for i dont race my car. i did get some pinking in the beginning but after about 20 mins, it disappeared. i was told it is because the brain box had to adjust to a lower octane fuel. i also adjusted the timing in my engine so the performance is just about the same as if i was running premium. for turbo, larger sized engines premium is the only way to go.

teekshan

Re: MORE HELPFUL INFO

Postby teekshan » February 10th, 2009, 3:53 pm

butch246 wrote:SOON TO COME THERE WILL NOT BE SUPER GASOLINE AVAILABLE TO ANYONE. AND DIESEL WILL BECOME ALMOST IF NOT THE SAME PRICE OR HIGHER THAN PREMIUM, BUT THE QUALUTY WILL BE 100% BETTER.

With the recession soon to come into effect in Trinidad and job losses expected in the construction and energy sector, Patrick should consider a "plan B' rather than 'Damage Control' when the big S hits the fan. Where am I going with this seemingly not-on-topic point is that the US and other countries are turning to BIO-FUELS, bio-diesel being one of them that works just as well as normal diesel from what I've read.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 10th, 2009, 4:41 pm

ok...after reading the posts just some clarifications:

1. Octane rating refers to the resistance of a fuel to spontaneously ignite when compressed....the higher the rating the more resistant.

2. Compression ratio is not the deciding factor as there are high compression engines which do not require premium....cylinder head design, fuel mixing, ignition mapping and valve operation plays an important part.

3. Engine size does not matter....there are many engines over 2 litres that do not require premium fuel....again engine design is important

4. Unless your car's manual expressly states premium must be used super is also safe as long as it meets the octane rating. The ECU will compensate and you will notice a change in performance.

5. Trinidad does produce gasoline.....the Petrotrin refinery imports oil since it cannot meet it's requirements from it's land and sea based production. Most of the oil is purchased from Venezuela...which is why high oil prices are not necessarily a good thing for Trinidad

6. The manual for my car with B16A specifies premium RON 95 fuel for peak performance, however,it states that RON 92 can be used but there will be a drop in performance. So SiR owners can use super even though CR is 10.5:1. This is a local SiR though.

7. You need to be more careful with RORO vehicles and JDM models which were not meant for sale outside of Japan. The engines in these cars may be tuned differently and have a different fuel requirement than the cars that were built for export. Remember in Japan pump gas is RON 98 and higher.

8. EFI cars are very sophisticated and can adjust the engine operating parameters to compensate for atmospheric and environmental conditions as well as fuel quality....it does not require intervention from the owner as long as all sensors are working properly

teekshan

Postby teekshan » February 10th, 2009, 6:41 pm

Well said dude.