how good is viper alarm?

eitech

Postby eitech » January 28th, 2008, 11:22 pm

as an alarm specialist from car search told me :" ppl invest so much money so dem could buy car, (thousands of dollars), plus music, rims, etc...yet when they come to secure it, they buy cheap $300 alarm..it doh mek sense"

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 28th, 2008, 11:27 pm

i agree wit u 100%. dey does go all out to get d best car but they does hold back on d security

Postby *KRONIK* » January 29th, 2008, 5:38 pm

Conrad wrote:The best solution is as follows:

Remove key entrance from trunk.
Install gas cut switch and install in the most hidden place (behind carpet, bolted to under seat, inside glove compartment (which you lock also) etc.)
Keyless entry is your friend.
Keypad start system (expensive)
Alarm system (cant remember the name of the one used on commercial/heavy-duty vehicles). Make sure it has GPS alarm system.

The best advice...wait for it...

Don't be stupid and put things in your car that you can't afford to lose. If you love it soooooo much don't be a dumb crunt and go banging it out in your nearest gas station's parking lot.

Spring Chkn

Postby Spring Chkn » January 29th, 2008, 10:44 pm

wi have d viper 791 and wont start once d alarm activates..

A nice feature with this model is the remote shut down... a good use for it is when parkin up for fetes/malls.... you can activate the remote shutdown after yuh park then arm the car.

It not fool proof but as said before.. is jus a deterrent and should make it a lil more difficult for the potential tiefs...

Oh.... and about security at malls.... when was de last time yuh see a guard in the car park at trincity, g/bazaar or west mall???

The only mall i see regular patrols at is long circular mall and movietowne... Havent been to Gulf city in a while... :D

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 29th, 2008, 10:46 pm

gulf city is d only mall i know of dat does still give out cards but i never noticed patrols around the carparks and stuff

Postby nervewrecker » January 29th, 2008, 10:52 pm

wen lass yuh went gulf city?

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 29th, 2008, 11:04 pm

a few weeks ago less than a month for sure

Postby Sky » January 30th, 2008, 1:37 am

eitech wrote:as an alarm specialist from car search told me :" ppl invest so much money so dem could buy car, (thousands of dollars), plus music, rims, etc...yet when they come to secure it, they buy cheap $300 alarm..it doh mek sense"

Who say that boy lol.

Best thing?
Use a good quality alarm as athe 1st deterant. Have a killswitch or two that activates when it arms

Use a killswitch, NOT connected to the alarm, hidden and making it harder to go with the car ( by now alarm might have been found)

Then to make it EVEN more difficult, shifter lock. This one's really difficult to get past, and some bandiits wont even bother when they see that.

Now this was all in the case of your car being alone. For car jackers, there's Lo Jack ( Car Search). Because when thy carjack you they just got past all those dragons and moats you put up. Even something as simple as having the keys.

Yes people does bend for the Lo Jack price, but happy when they get back their car. If anyone interested in in, pm me to orgarrange a discount.

Plus I'm working on something now and wont mind a few guinea pigs. (An anti carjacking thing independent of the alarm)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » January 30th, 2008, 2:11 am

wadeva u do..those gsm alarms are toots from what i hear..

eitech

Postby eitech » January 30th, 2008, 8:27 am

^^^to sky, yuh know it done aginst d rules for certain tuners to call names of ppl in businesses..lol

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 30th, 2008, 8:34 am

sky was a rough estimate on car search??

Postby nervewrecker » January 30th, 2008, 9:19 am

gulf start bak handing out cards then.....

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 30th, 2008, 12:18 pm

well once before i went and it was rel busy so they werent handing them out but d time i talking about recently it wasnt all da busy it was a day during d week

Postby Sky » January 30th, 2008, 12:53 pm

eitech wrote:^^^to sky, yuh know it done aginst d rules for certain tuners to call names of ppl in businesses..lol

Call name nah lol. Not like they said something wrong. Its true. People does come in with $50k plus in music and rollin on lexani, but when they hear the price they fine it too high.

Saleem, about 2700 for the basic system. Thats where u tell us your car's stolen, and we activate the system we put in it
. And about 3445 for the automatic system that activates itself under certain conditions and we might know something wrong before you. Both prices include the 1st year's coverage. After a year you come back in and pay roughly 1130for another year and we'll service the system one time. Make sure it workin like it should.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 30th, 2008, 3:10 pm

^^^ohor u wokin dey...ah didn't ketch

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 30th, 2008, 8:01 pm

lemme put it this way

estimate cost of car = roughly 60000.00
music in most men car = 6000.00+
engine mods = 5000.00+
interior mods/accessories = 3000.00+
exterior mods/accs = 6000.00+
Electronics (gauges etc) = 2000.00
total = 100000.00

price of d only thing that can help men from takin yuh car from u and never getting it back = 2000.00 (full shelby with remote shutdown, 3 point immobilizer etc etc etc.(D WORKS) but men does say daz too much to spend

eitech

Postby eitech » January 31st, 2008, 6:52 am

^^^ah feel u is d man ah tork to...lol...

Crazymofo

Postby Crazymofo » January 31st, 2008, 8:45 am

Sky wrote:Plus I'm working on something now and wont mind a few guinea pigs. (An anti carjacking thing independent of the alarm)

We go talk 8-)

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » January 31st, 2008, 2:45 pm

As pretty said alarms are just a deterent and as bushwakka said no body takes them on if they are go off in a carpark or mall
what you could do is install a fuel kill switch which will prevent someone from reaching any distance if they steal the car ---just extra precaution
for your music(speakers and amp) instead of using self thread screws use nuts and screws and for added protection you could go by a welding shop and get them to tack the scre so the only way it coming out is by filing out or cutting ( make sure u cover your speaker with wet cloth and you just need one little tack

As for the amp weld the screws to the body of the vehicle and when you bolt it up tack the nuts also
it will take longer to remove

for your sub do the same use bolts and nut (on a couple holes) what i did was remove my port and reached in from there to put the nuts (need to make to hole in the box larger than the screw so that it spins in there ) for added protection use lock tite or bend the screw on the inside

i like how this sounds :roll:

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » January 31st, 2008, 3:29 pm

does anyone know the range of the remote transmitter for the 791? I know it can receive a signal from a 1/4 mile. I was thinking of installing some kind of additional deterrent on one of the outputs that I can activate if the pager goes off.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 31st, 2008, 4:20 pm

^^^i was thinkin of installin a kill switch usin one of the outputs...like for a realy or sumtin

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » January 31st, 2008, 7:11 pm

I was thinking of something more like a 140dB siren inside the cabin :twisted:

eitech

Postby eitech » January 31st, 2008, 7:20 pm

^^^dais jus cruel...lol

Postby Sky » January 31st, 2008, 8:24 pm

DE-VE wrote:does anyone know the range of the remote transmitter for the 791? I know it can receive a signal from a 1/4 mile. I was thinking of installing some kind of additional deterrent on one of the outputs that I can activate if the pager goes off.

I think the 791 has 5 auxiliary channels ( don't quote me on that) and you can do whatever you please, and they are programmable to either send a pulse, or make a latch on/off. A simple relay circuit could be used to cut off fuel pump/starter wire/ign on wire/ecu power etc.

A colleague did something with a lancer the other day. I thought it was sweet.
The Lancer had abs. He learned how the system worked and tap the alarm into it. When you hold down a button and activate an output, the abs system is fooled into locking up itself toight!!! Some Gotham City kinda antics.

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » February 7th, 2008, 12:19 pm

eitech wrote:^^^ah feel u is d man ah tork to...lol...

ya is me u talk to.. btw ppl tobago waters was sweeeeeeeeeeettttt this lat week

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » February 7th, 2008, 2:34 pm

^^!SPAWN!^^ wrote:Invest in car search bro .

bess thing, cuz if they really want it they go just put a gun to your head and take it, and no alarm helping you there..............

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » February 7th, 2008, 5:58 pm

bess thing, cuz if they really want it they go just put a gun to your head and take it, and no alarm helping you there..............[/quote]

not true the shelby has one with remote shut down where for up to one mile you can remotely shut d car off with a combination on your secondary remote(which u should keep around your neck or in your pocket or something) and the car wont start until that combination is punched in again.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » February 11th, 2008, 9:30 am

very good ;) except for theh ones that tak to u....they are annnoying!

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » February 13th, 2008, 1:25 pm

slacker_jack wrote:gulf start bak handing out cards then.....

They haven't been handing out cards for almost ah yr now cause of all the construction so i eh know where he get a card from.

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » February 13th, 2008, 2:30 pm

A33_VQ35, it was a day during d week. i went a few times during d week and didnt get but that one day i went during d week they was handing out. btw we passed dat topic a few days ago...