trottle body cleaning

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 3rd, 2007, 6:11 am

eitech wrote:^^^^and what if you have a fuel injected car? does this rpm get higher?

It's F.I. I'm speaking about.

eitech

Postby eitech » September 3rd, 2007, 4:41 pm

ok..so how would you rectify d hi rpm problem? or is it that the ecu has to learn a new idle rate as the air flow change from cleaning throttle body?

venum

Postby venum » September 3rd, 2007, 4:55 pm

I cleaned mine this weekend with a TB cleaner

car feels better now, response is better

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 4th, 2007, 5:59 am

eitech wrote:ok..so how would you rectify d hi rpm problem? or is it that the ecu has to learn a new idle rate as the air flow change from cleaning throttle body?

:roll: Ammm... As I said before You would need to adjust the Idle air screw until the RPM drops. You would also need to reset the ECU by disconnecting the negative pole.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 4th, 2007, 1:34 pm

i wont recommend adjusting the idle screw on EFI....cuz when it was clean ent it used to work good?????? just pull the negative terminal off your battery for ah 10 mins. or pull the fuse for the ecu if yuh doh want to reset your radio presets and clocks in your car.

i need to clean my TB....but i feeling lazy.....will do it when i cleaning he K&N :mrgreen:

trinianouk

Postby trinianouk » September 4th, 2007, 4:04 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:i wont recommend adjusting the idle screw on EFI....cuz when it was clean ent it used to work good?????? just pull the negative terminal off your battery for ah 10 mins. or pull the fuse for the ecu if yuh doh want to reset your radio presets and clocks in your car.

i need to clean my TB....but i feeling lazy.....will do it when i cleaning he K&N :mrgreen:

What will happen if you don't reset the ECU after cleaning the TB and adjusting the air idle screw?? :?:

eitech

Postby eitech » September 4th, 2007, 6:44 pm

it have ah idle air screw tuh adjust on fuel injected. me eh know dat?

Postby Maserati » September 11th, 2007, 4:02 pm

great link pete

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 11th, 2007, 6:55 pm

my bad, never came across an idle screw on EFI.....

teichou

Postby teichou » September 12th, 2007, 7:06 pm

my cs3a has an idle screw and i think is efi i have

eitech

Postby eitech » September 12th, 2007, 9:44 pm

^^^ook..so can sumbody confirm if an idle screw is present on if not all efi engines?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 13th, 2007, 10:26 am

it not on any of the EFI'si have home one is e-throttle and the other is normal throttle

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 13th, 2007, 12:14 pm

eitech wrote:it have ah idle air screw tuh adjust on fuel injected. me eh know dat?

My engine has one.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » February 1st, 2008, 11:15 pm

ok ah bumpin this back up. Where can I get the wynns TB spray tomorrow in the east? Curepe area? Ah went by the dealer today and nobody was there.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 2nd, 2008, 1:01 am

^ did you try the Gumsolve cleaner? works great..

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » February 2nd, 2008, 5:45 am

nah ah want the wynns brand or any other "Throttle Body cleaner" that is o2 friendly.

Postby RBphoto » February 2nd, 2008, 8:48 am

^^^^I believe cyclo is O2 sensor friendly as well. However, if you clean it properly, there should be no reason to worrry about that. Reason being, when cleaning the TB, some ppl spray a whole set of the cleaner onto the plate, letting the cleaner run into the body, into the intake, causing a big puff of toxic smoke when you start up. A better way to do this is to spray it sparingly onto the plate, and use your rag immediately to wipe up residue, or spray directly onto the rag and wipe the plate. Takes longer, but none of the cleaner runs into the body. You can feel safe using just about any cleaner, including gum solve this way.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 2nd, 2008, 12:03 pm

i find it easier to take off the throttle body.. can do a through clean that way.. you just have to make sure not to damage the gasket...

CBharath

Postby CBharath » February 4th, 2008, 12:56 am

who here clean the one for the nze 1.6 corolla

Postby *KRONIK* » February 4th, 2008, 8:07 pm

3stagevtec wrote:i find it easier to take off the throttle body.. can do a through clean that way.. you just have to make sure not to damage the gasket...

also if it have any rubber seals on the throttle body remove them as the cleaner damages rubber!

altec

Postby altec » February 5th, 2008, 7:28 am

sometime last year i carried my ck lancer to a mech near work because i was getting a rough idle. the cleaning was the same procedure but afterwards the idle would drop low, almost to cutting off. it was only afterwards that i realised that the dirty run-off should not get into the 2 holes that go to the idle control motor/sensor. How to clean that? if that can't be cleaned i would have to buy a t/body in the bamboo.
Last edited by altec on February 5th, 2008, 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

blazing

Postby blazing » February 5th, 2008, 7:30 am

^^take out the sensor and hand clean

altec

Postby altec » February 5th, 2008, 7:34 am

mind saying how to do that and clean it if it is a diy project? mechs i know don't like doing these kind of small work.

venum

Postby venum » February 5th, 2008, 4:14 pm

good points on this last page

i cleaned mine on teh car, to avoid any damage to gasket and sensors when removing the TB

Postby *KRONIK* » February 5th, 2008, 7:41 pm

talking bout gaskets!

i need to get a TB gasket cuz during removal of my last one i broke it on the edge!

i feel it go break bad during my next TB servicing!

where to get the gasket?

4g15DOHC TB/IM gasket

blazing

Postby blazing » February 5th, 2008, 11:14 pm

altec, there are 2 bolts i think 10mm holding a black motor device with a 6pin harness on the base of the TB. Just disconnect the harness, unbolt it and pull the sensor off.

Alternatively, you can pull off the entire TB, which is the better way of cleaning it but requires a little more work.

*KRONIK*, you can get gasket material and cut a new one.

I'm about to ugrade my TB again.. i should do a lil writeup with pics.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » February 6th, 2008, 9:57 am

*KRONIK*, you can get gasket material and cut a new one.

Don't waste your time with that is more trouble than it's worth i know. Best to try to source an original one even if it means going to the firm, always best to get one before taking off the intake, well unless it's metal or aftermarket that is.

So i notice a good few guys knocking Bars, I dont understand that, i've cleaned quite a few intakes with it and never had a problem. I even spray it into the head onto the valves to clean up the build up that's there. Once you run the car out after you good to go and you know that your going to.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 6th, 2008, 12:47 pm

Good read but any of you all thought about using oil catch cans and eliminate (or reduce) all that crap that's coming into the TB in the first place?

I recently bought one, but I am having some trouble deciding if the best place for it. Should it be located between the PCV valve and the throttle body, or along the breather line, in between the tappet pan cover and the air intake duct?

I have a feeling that a lot more crap comes from the PCV side than the air intake side......so that's where I am going to put it.

Anyone can advise otherwise?

Postby Dave » February 6th, 2008, 1:27 pm

PCV vents one way so no need for it there
usually placed on the breather hose
do u throw oil with the ck?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 6th, 2008, 1:54 pm

bars is not for TB.......i dropped my car to change an intake manifold gasket by L&D, and they used bars to clean the TB.......because bars does not lubricate the TB.......its sticking now.......going to scrap it out tonight.