Choosing the right Wax

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » April 2nd, 2007, 2:31 pm

venum wrote:
VWBaby wrote:Ok venum, but since my car is proned to bird putting their doodle on it can I use a compound lightly to remove doodle stains? The yellow encourages birds to have a hay day on my car :lol: . If compound is rub lightly does it still remove some of the clear coat?

compound for bird crap is overkill :!:

simply wash off with a lil water

if it is hardened, then soak it with water, leave for 5-10 min and then wash off

thaz all you really need to clean off bird crap

once the car is polished, then this becomes even easier - no compound need for bird crap, ever . . . unless them birds sh!tting concrete, even then it's a hammer that you'll need and not compound

Oh wow, thanks, I would have ruined my clear coat. Mostly when the bird goes to the toilet on my car I forget to clean it off and sometimes it is difficult to remove even with hot water :shock: and tends to leave a ring around the doodle, so that is why I asked about the compound. Glad to know that that is no no. Thanks bunch :twisted:

Postby equipped2ripp » April 2nd, 2007, 5:21 pm

crazybalhead, no. 7 is de worst.

that's for vehicles w/o clearcoats though... they have a clearcoat polishing compound though, but u don't see it around much over here.

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » April 2nd, 2007, 5:42 pm

do the product specify what no etc the compound is

what about the turtle wax compound

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » April 2nd, 2007, 7:00 pm

So why make a compound and not declare on the label that it strips clear coat :evil: or do they :roll:

Postby equipped2ripp » April 2nd, 2007, 7:43 pm

if it's a clearcoat compound, it would say POLISHING COMPOUND safe for clearcoats... if not, don't use it... that's all?

VWBaby, i'm surprised you didn't reach 200 tech posts today :lol:

venum

Postby venum » April 2nd, 2007, 10:27 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:venum, the 2 in 1 one right? where u gotta shake to activate

nah boi

i does stay far from that

my pardna who selling it in his parts place warn me bout that

it dries off quickly and leaves ugly stains\marks on the paint

I use plain old turtle wax zip wax

as for NO.7 - that is a real healer for a white car with no clearcoat (the CK) ir removed every kinda mark

do not use on your clearcoat though

[b]VWBaby[\b] they say not to use on clearcoat on the label

for your VW, use some Auto Glym or Meguires

I find that teh 3M compound leaves much to be desired

douglaking

Postby douglaking » April 4th, 2007, 1:21 am

so then venum what do you suggest I used cause i have clear coat on mine and i haven't polished,waxed or anything in a while

Postby equipped2ripp » April 4th, 2007, 2:15 am

venum, yeah i know it does dry off and leave stain marks... just gotta keep the suds wet on the car at all times though.

i find the zip wax too watery... haven't used it in years though

venum

Postby venum » April 5th, 2007, 12:22 am

douglaking,

there is a Mothers polish for clearcoat, can't remember the name exactly, but i believe it has CARNUBA WAX on it. it specifically says that it is for clearcoat

i do not suggest that you compound any car with clearcoat, just polish with a clear coat safe polish

equipped2ripp, out of everything that I have used (HS, Mothers, Armor All and Turtle wax) I find that teh turtle wax is the best, as constant use results in protection and a clean looking finish

it is a bit watery

Postby wagonrunner » April 5th, 2007, 12:33 am

that no7.............anyone have photo? or a picture of the label?

Postby equipped2ripp » April 5th, 2007, 12:49 am

wagonrunner, doh play dotish now :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » April 5th, 2007, 12:51 am

^^ does see it all over for $25 or so now

^^ this one you never see, well i never saw it for sale

^^ this rubbing compound is not to be confused as polishing compound... it's only to be used for BAD WEATHERED paint... (yuh might as well paint over!!) - DO NOT USE and take this for regular compound!

^^ same as the no. 7, yuh would see this - but not as common as no. 7

^^ rubbing compound again... do not use!!

Postby equipped2ripp » April 5th, 2007, 1:01 am

^^ and this is what mr. venum swears by...

this is the zipwax, right shawn?

Postby equipped2ripp » April 5th, 2007, 1:07 am

oh... and how could i forget

Postby wagonrunner » April 5th, 2007, 1:38 am

but i didnt know, been a while since me or my car saw that.
nice, feel it will get a dose soon.

Postby equipped2ripp » April 5th, 2007, 3:22 am

well doh stick...

the wingroad doesn't got a clearcoat?

Postby wagonrunner » April 5th, 2007, 5:50 pm

it white...................no clear coat

venum

Postby venum » April 5th, 2007, 6:49 pm

This is the real deal for a white car with no clear coat. removes scratches like they were never there.

really good if you have slight damage due to scratches from touching gates, walls etc

I never used this one, but if it heavy duty, that just might strip paint off to the metal :!: cuz the regular is real strong

I never used any of the Turtle Wax polishes or compounds

Auto Glym Super Resin polish - another product that I can swear by:

equipped2ripp wrote:Image

^^ and this is what mr. venum swears by...

this is the zipwax, right shawn?

yeah E2R, that is it self, really great stuff, except I never seen that size locally.

I wish I can get that size, cuz 2 cars does finish the regular sized bottles fast

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » April 5th, 2007, 8:08 pm

auto glym super resin is for clearcoat paint jobs only i take it?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 8th, 2007, 7:11 pm

Try Liquid Glass. You will flip with the results... I DID.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 9th, 2007, 1:58 am

Saied wrote:Try Liquid Glass. You will flip with the results... I DID.

Liquid Glass is the step AFTER the polish right :?: I think I'll look for it this week. What about the AutoGlym shampoo? Ever tried it :?:

BTW, there is an Auto Glym Polish for dark colours - real money - but supposed to be really worth it.

Did a regular wash on the car this weekend - no detergent or cleaner - just water cause it wasn't really too dirty. Then got to work with the the Auto Glym Resin. It's one of the easier products to work with, IMO. Went on creamy smooth and buffed out really easily. The results were excellent.

Spirit R

Postby Spirit R » April 9th, 2007, 12:44 pm

where can i get autoglym polish

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 9th, 2007, 10:20 pm

Anywhere man... depends on what PRICE you want to pay. I paid $115 for the this:

:P :P

venum

Postby venum » April 10th, 2007, 5:44 pm

you can get the 1 litre for ~ TT$115.00

there is a smaller size one that sells for ~ TT$80.00

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » April 10th, 2007, 6:40 pm

hmmm auto glym looks good

Postby equipped2ripp » April 10th, 2007, 11:12 pm

other than carplus, who sells autoglym?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 11th, 2007, 9:43 pm

equipped2ripp, TJ's - You know I mention that already... I sure alot of other places as well... CAS? Sheriffs?

BTW... Saw my straightener using this today:

Says it's all he ever used...

Contains no silicone

Postby equipped2ripp » April 11th, 2007, 10:22 pm

bleedingfreak, yeah i used that already... won't recommend it for dark colours though - it leaves swirl marks

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 12th, 2007, 10:15 am

I saw him use it on a black car... It really does work.

But then again he *IS* a straigthener / painter and know alot more about applying polishes, etc. than the average us. :roll:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 13th, 2007, 10:58 am

^^that the polish i currently use. Excellent product!!!