When checking out a roro car

turbonator

Postby turbonator » May 28th, 2007, 11:09 pm

Yeh boi Rodney T dat making real sense boi. But listen to dis nah fellas although dem dealers and dem rolling back d milage on dem roro cars if yuh going to buy one and yuh make d correct checks yuh should make ah good buy. It have dis place in St. Marys down freeport side, all d sunny wha dey have dey doing around 19000 kms i know dat dey was rolling back d odometer eh but d majority ah d cars was in real gud condition. When ah say real gud ah talking bout d ting looking and smelling like brand new. Some ah dem still had d plastic on d seats :shock: . Well i think dat d only thing d milage might affect is the resale value :|

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » May 29th, 2007, 10:26 pm

you guys need to keep this thread on top cause alot of people didn't know that they could bring in for themselves and am glad to help anyone out if they need info on how to do it...

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » May 30th, 2007, 12:31 am

since plenty ppl ask me to help em out i will just direct them to this post, cause it's easy to reply to everyone in one shot!

well first of all you have to go the the TMA building and just ask for the RORO division.the building is around the roundabout barataria side the one close to the highway flyover...they will give you a form to fill out, let them know you want to bring in a car for personal use....u can go to this website(www.kobemotor.com) and register they are a legit company because i have brought in a couple of cars from them...there are alot of scammers out there...BTW registration if free, u can order a car from them via email or call, email is easier they understand english better...when you request a vehicle from them make sure to ask to quote the price in USD CIF to Trinidad,w.i, Port-of-Spain,

the CIF price is Cost Insurance and Frieght, now insurance is so if anything happens on the ship while it's in transit ur covered...

next thing you do is work out the price of the vehicle after they reply you just multiply the USD price by 6.34 the maximum units the USD can reach for safety sake cause u don't want to miscalculate price...then on that price u work 25% and 15% TAX so together it's 40% on the vehicle. e.g 7000USD *6.34 = 44380TT, so we will work it as 45,000TT * 40%= 18,000, so the cost of the vehicle will be 45,000+18000 = 63,000TT on the road well u have to register and pay for plates but that's minor cost...

whew, see when u use to tell ur teacher when will i ever use this?now is the time byatch...

so anyways next step, so while u wait on ur car, sailing it's merry lil way for about 6-8 weeks, the dealer will send u the docs which consist of the BL(bill of lading) 3 copies each, C-82, cancellation document, it's basically a card with all the info on the car, chassis number, engine no. all that good stuff, basically it's the registration card for the vehicle and shows the previous owner...it also proves that the car was not stolen...it will be deregistered up there and stamped "cancelled", other docs are the proforma invoice and Caricom invoice....

now u make copies of these docs and invest in a good broker, check global down in south, give the broker these copies and he will let u know when the car is here and will clear it for you...broker normally charges like 500-1000 depending on who u know...

when the car gets down here and u have it in ur hands...to drive it around u need to get some D plates, but as it's private, find out from the RORO ppl at RORO division where u applied on how to move around...

you must get a cover note though normally 25 dollars, duh...u go to the bureau of standards in macoya with some new tyres on ur ride, or if they tires good keep em on, walk with all ur docs and when it's passed they give u a pink slip(no not to the car, but to say that the tires are road worthy), now take all ur docs and head down to the tax office down in town and submit ur docs, then after to license office to register...

end of story....hope this was helpful...anything needs clearing up let me know...
Last edited by greyfox2501 on May 30th, 2007, 2:03 am, edited 3 times in total.

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » May 30th, 2007, 12:37 am

awh crap i forgot to mention that this is for 1500cc cars, higher engine size the tax is different, u still have to add the 40% and then add the extra for engine size on top of the price...just call ministry of trade to find out how the engine size prices run...

sorry for taking over allyuh thread, but i think ppl need to start becoming wise about the situation...and stop getting ripped off

paletman

Postby paletman » May 30th, 2007, 2:10 pm

This is great info man, everyone need to bump this thread...and keep it ontop, more people need to know this kinda stuff...BUMP :mrgreen:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 30th, 2007, 4:59 pm

Greyfox... well done. This is one of the more informative thread. Thanks for the info and the website. I can't believe some of the prices of these vehicles.

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » May 30th, 2007, 5:38 pm

told yah...glad i could help

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » June 1st, 2007, 7:31 pm

Great info greyfox

altec

Postby altec » June 1st, 2007, 9:38 pm

does insurance cover if things from the vehicle gets stolen on trinidad's port? I heard that tv/nav gets stolen frequently.

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » June 1st, 2007, 11:18 pm

no insurance is only for when it's sailing, that's why u need to get a good broker, and when u order the vehicle you tell them to hide these things, navi,cd deck,extra key,cd changer in the boot...that way no one will be able to steal anything, even if they try they can't and it would look obvious causing the bastards their jobs... :mrgreen:

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2007, 8:04 am

what's the typical profit margin on a car ?
Is it the same for cheaper cars like b15 vs subaru etc ?

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » June 2nd, 2007, 8:08 am

basically yes, because all the cars come within a certain price range and notice all the dealers sell for nearly the same, probably a few thousand more or less, depends on the deals they get...real price of a b15 is around 45-47k on the road cost price, so work the difference....check the website i posted earlier and work it out, you will see what i mean...

paletman

Postby paletman » June 8th, 2007, 12:38 pm

bump

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » June 8th, 2007, 9:00 pm

what everyone says about rolling back the odo is true. I just bought an instrument panel from a front cut and this car was looking brand new. the instrument panel has a digital odo and when I plugged it into my car it read 120000 km.

some cars might actually have low mileage because japan and signapore has a very efficent mass transport system and these cars would hardly ever been driven.

paletman

Postby paletman » June 14th, 2007, 10:17 pm

more folks need to see this stuff,bump

Postby equipped2ripp » June 15th, 2007, 2:37 am

DE-VE, most cars does have rollback mileage, moreso with the more expensive cars :idea:

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » June 25th, 2007, 1:23 pm

bump

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 25th, 2007, 1:36 pm

I guess it probably have fellas trying to roll back the mileage in Trinidad as well. With new engine technologies and modern engine oils, a car with 100 000km (only 60 000 miles) ain't that much. That's only 10 oil change. On a well maintained vehicle, that nothing.... according to my mechanic.

What a dealer told me is that because every other dealer was rolling back the miles he didn't have much of a choice. If he didn't, those less knowledgeable potential car buyers, wouldn't be interested.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » June 26th, 2007, 1:25 am

BUMP

SPEC_C

Postby SPEC_C » June 27th, 2007, 10:20 pm

nah ras most a dem have roll back mileages.......if u lucky u will get 1 wit d thru mileage like if u buy a sti or evo or some...

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » June 27th, 2007, 11:23 pm

most of the Subaru's have rolled back mileage as well, from the TS to the STI, no car is safe from the odometer being tampered with...once it's RORO!!!now am not saying that every dealer does this, but they are forced to now because of competition between dealers, no one wants to buy an identical car for the same price with higher mileage, it's obvious the customer would go for the one with lower mileage on the ODO...
you want to know the real mileage order it for yourself, talk to the original dealer and you will now for sure!!!that's the only way...

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » June 28th, 2007, 6:27 pm

some good info here to spot rollback :

http://www.autofacts.ca/press/article040223.htm

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 28th, 2007, 6:35 pm

You tell them Greyfox.... another thing is that once a car is well maintained 100 000km is nothing on a modern engine. That's 60 000 miles... only 10 oil changes. But I guess we all go for mileage when there's a lot more to look at....Like you said the RORO is big business but it's also very competitive and no dealer wants to lose $$$

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 6th, 2007, 11:45 pm

greyfox2501

Thanks a million man.

As someone said before, some cars the simple thing to do is just change the gauge cluster. I know someone take off bout 40,000kms already by simply doing that.(On a Primera)

Not to mention I not buying anything used from him.How can I trust him after dat??

Anyway keep your eyes open

BUMP

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 7th, 2007, 10:19 pm

Relll nice thread here

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 8th, 2007, 1:01 pm

ppl, i want to know what are u views on a Japanese Vs Singapore vehicles....we lookin to purchase one soon but, need to know which is the better vehicle.....

i heard the singapore cars are Inferior and uses "cheap" parts....eg: the electronics doesnt last long...

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 8th, 2007, 8:31 pm

^^ I believe dat the Japanese vehicles are of a better quality. :|

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » July 8th, 2007, 9:07 pm

Japan and Singapore vehicles are the same...i have brought down vehicles from both, Japanese vehicles tend to go cheaper because they have less features...Singapore vehicles come with added stuff, flare kits,mp3 decks, leather interior blah blah blah...hence the prices are a bit higher...i have never had any electronic problem with any vehicles from Singapore though, beside the battery needing to recharge and the gas being low...but that's about it...every car from those countries will have problems if the previous owner's did damage to the car, or mistreated it...obviously...look out for dealers that bring down damaged cars and just flash paint em(do a check for the car's history if you have a direct link in Spore or Japan)...check for filler and weird "knocks", check the chassis make sure everything lined up straight...

it's a common thing down here to bring down damaged cars for dawg cheap and just buff it out and mark up 200%, be careful, as i advised earlier bring one down for yourselfDragsta,

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 8th, 2007, 9:26 pm

greyfox2501, is the parts for the japan and singapore cars the same?
like sensors, suspension parts, engine/tranny parts etc....
eg: corrolla and almera

and are they available down here?

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » July 8th, 2007, 9:52 pm

yup they are available down here, just go to the firm or any dealer that distributes parts for whatever company and carry your chassis number and make sure and tell em that it's RORO and they will be able to get it for you...the myth about not getting parts down here for vehicles especially RORO vehicles kinda past...and it is no longer a problem since the industry has grow to such a large extent...doesn't make since to bring down vehicles and not support them, the market value would drop and ppl will be very particular on the vehicles they purchase...