Synthetic oil question...

QG

Postby QG » June 1st, 2007, 10:13 am

QG's are great engine but when injectors become clogged, it takes a while for the engine to kick. But as long the injectors are not foiled or clogged...look out ppl and make way for the QG.

Chemical Darryl, which u think is faster, QG or GA? Feel free to research first and then give me your answer.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 1st, 2007, 10:56 am

QG15, no need to research & to answer your question.......Definately the GA series. The GA's came with 16 bit processor, but you could still tinker around with the engine e.g advance the ignation timing however, the QG's have a 32bit processor which you really cannot manipulate much except software.

The qg's are supposed to be approx 25% more economical on fuel over the Ga series & finally once the engine is a neo or lev it is designed for reduced co2 output where you get special tax breaks in japan when purchasing a car with these types of engines. :D

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » June 1st, 2007, 12:07 pm

Nice read Padna...

I run Mobil 1 exclusively...an since the first time I put it in, the performance is much better in my big engine. In the winter months, I run a 5w30, which is a lighter oil, and it gets moving around in the block much easier in the cold...in the summer I run 10w30, as it provides a better lubrication property in the hot weather. It does however take some performance away...it is harder to move around than the 5w, but not so much to notice significantly. Oil level never goes down in mine between changes.

If your tune is not quite good, or your rings are worn a bit, you may be burning that oil off...bettah burnin than bleedin...

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 1st, 2007, 12:53 pm

Thanx Hoddie, I'm also from Calgary, Dalhurst Way is where we lived & i'm quite familar to those terrible winter conditions. Do you have the g/prix with the V6 3.8L or the 8 cylinder ?

When we lived there that was in the 70's so we had a Pontiac Le Mans.

How are you making out with those gas prices across there. I know alot of people were getting rid of their gas guzzlers cause it just does not make any sense keeping them unless you have a winter beater.

Time to go for the Caddy CTS now :D

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » June 1st, 2007, 5:17 pm

Hey...I have the 3.8 V6 with the M90 supercharger...all modded up. I cannot believe the gas prices...I wish I was in Trini...lol.

QG

Postby QG » June 6th, 2007, 7:34 pm

chemical darryl, what does DD stand for in QG18DD?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 8th, 2007, 8:26 am

I really don't know.......polydor can you help out QG15 ?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 8th, 2007, 11:53 am

it means double overhead cams and direct injection
DE means double overhead cams and electronic injection
and well u could figure out DET and DETT :fadein:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 8th, 2007, 12:28 pm

Thanx , see you can learn alot from ah caca, buckle your safety belt !! :D

QG