what not to do to yur K&N filter

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 29th, 2006, 7:31 pm

^^^^ i believe it. and my filter came with the unlimited mileage, 1 year warranty. if something happens to it after the year. it would have paid for itself already, with all the filters i would have had to buy, so in the long run it's a good investment and if u take care of it, then u have nothing to worry about. :roll:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 30th, 2006, 9:02 am

Ah hope he ain't drivin' it...ah he won't need a next one.

actually i doubt that. my dad used to run his datsun 1600 without an air filter, cuz he didnt have a choice. he had installed a webber cab and there wasent enough room for a filter so he ran it open. yea i sucked in dust and whatever else, but he had it like that for about 3 or 4 years, and nothing ever happened to that engine. he never even changed a gasket. then he sold it :cry:

another thing not to do to yur filter that i wont recommend is using the clamp supplied. that thing cuts into the flange, leaving it disfigured. when u have to remove the filter for cleaning or any other work, u end up loosening that clamp then re-tightening and it does even more damage. my one has some huge permanent 'dents' in the flange. i switched clamps to a t-bolt clamp, which gives a more even clamp and dosent have an uneven clamping surface like the screw type clamp.
this is what my one looks like now:
IMO its worth the extra $30~$40 to get the clamp. in the long run u may have developed a hole in yur flange, which could mean more $$$$$

Postby cinco » December 2nd, 2006, 12:10 am

how tight u screwin dat in man
i never had a problem with the scren type because i never had to over tighten it

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 2nd, 2006, 1:31 am

dont know bout u, but i tightened up mine and it actually fell off the adapter. this happened a total of 3 times :shock: :?

i really had to tighten it up so it would stop coming off.

btw, the flange on my filter is shorter that the average K&N so this could have had an effect on the clamp not holding well. but the t-bolt really holds it down
:!:

hottstuff

Postby hottstuff » December 4th, 2006, 10:29 am

Yow! Doh let nobody chain up yuh head.Venom talking sense,I running an upgraded EVO and hear what is my recipe for cleaning my filter(or any other intake parts).
1)Using a gallon bottle,one cover of pitchoil(kerosene),two covers of squeezy or any dishwashing liquid,mix with half gallon of warm water.
2)Place filter in for half hour,remove and continuously dunk filter in solution until clean.
3)Rince with pipe water till suds fade away.
4)Leave in sun until properly dried.
5)Apply low viscousity oil eg.power steering oil.
6)Reinstall