Car Polishing 101

Alpha_2nr

Re: Car Polishing 101

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 15th, 2011, 5:33 pm

^^Indeed!

So you got it! Eager to hear how that system works. I was kinda expecting that the correction compound would have come in two stages........but I remember reading that Megs was pushing a new "diminishing abrasive" that helps its compounds act like two-in-one, so to speak.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 16th, 2011, 5:50 pm

ok huys i just read thru the enitre thread, very informative
i hav black nav, tried my best to keep her swirl free for a year, that said damage from the firm washings couldnt be undone as well as minor chemical damage from plant fumes in point lisas

i initially brough tthe turtle wax ice kit as well as clay system..liquid clayed the van once
im thinking of doing it over but need a deidcated wax to put on after, the ice does a good temp job...doesnt last too long
i try to do that every 2 weeks so
ive been thinking of buying this kit
Meguiar's Complete Car Care Kit
http://www.amazon.com/Meguiars-Complete ... sbs_auto_4
anyone have reviews of this?

btw i aslo hav a blue xtrail in desperate need of detailing...karim could you send ure number...think that job is a little beyond me

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 16th, 2011, 11:14 pm

Hey Jhonnieblue, I feel you pain with the black Nav, keeping a black car swirl free one would need alot of commitment and dedication. the kit looks good as it has most of the products for a DIY project.

Here is my number if you need to contact me 784-9290

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 21st, 2011, 8:13 pm

Hey Guys got in some new goodies that i cant wait test

Its the Meguiars Ultimate Polish and Meguiars Ultimate Wax

Here is a little write up on the two products

Meguiars Ultimate Polish: Restore optimum gloss and reflection with Meguiars Ultimate Polish! It eliminates compounding haze and finishes flawlessly using the same micro abrasive technology found in Meguiars Ultimate Compound. Meguiars Ultimate Polish removes light imperfections and leaves paint wax-ready.

Meguiars Ultimate Wax: Meguiars Ultimate Liquid Wax lasts longer than a carnauba wax and even longer than many synthetic waxes. It's formulated to offer the longest-lasting protection and water-beading. Meguiar's proprietary Hydrophobic Polymer Technology reduces surface tension so water beads and rolls off! Meguiars Ultimate Liquid Wax brings out the best in any paint finish.

I have a strange feeling i may test it out this weekend on a certain black car...
Hummm............
Meg Ultimate.JPG

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 21st, 2011, 8:21 pm

You really like your Meguiars stuff bro :lol: Curious to hear your reviews on the Ult Polish and Wax. I've yet to use any polish that matches SRP (I'm no detailer, but I've tried a few offerings out there!). I hope to replace the NXT2.0 with Ult Wax once the current bottle is done.

Ordered some Griots stuff over the weekend (they had a sale :D ) - most notably, their Foam Wax applicator (can be used with a DA or has a holder to use by hand). Eager to see how it compares to the Megs Foam applicator, and my trusty Mothers MF applicators.

My plan is (once time allows and I have a weekend to spare):

Wash -> Megs Clay -> Poorboy's Glaze (skipping a polish step since the car is little to no swirling) -> NXT 2.0 -> Apply Spray Wax/Sealant a day later

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 21st, 2011, 8:42 pm

boy Karim yuh is a boss!

the accord looked better than when it came out the showroom!! job well done

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 21st, 2011, 8:48 pm

^^^ Thanks Aaron, I am glad that you are happy with the Job. You should post a pic of the car to show the other tuners how a Black car should look!! I am sure they are eager to see it !

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 22nd, 2011, 4:08 am

^^Damn str8!!! Can't wait to see pics!

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2011, 5:01 am

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 22nd, 2011, 7:36 am

^^Looks great....but it's a new car man...Karim you really know your stuff. BTW Aaron is Adon on the Abyssia Actuator project as I saw the van near to the site ?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2011, 7:52 am

^ whoever did the detailing for Honda, did a really poor job and there were swirls all over the car...the car looked horrible in the sun.....these pics were taken in the sun and as you can see in the pics, no blemish on the paints or anything....

chemical, AdON is our family business...engineering support and technical services.....not sure what project is that though

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 22nd, 2011, 10:46 am

Karim, that car looks excellent bro.

Good call Aaron_2nr on the delivery condition of the new car.

Sometimes these dealerships do their special DIS package on the car (Dealer-Installed-Swirlss) :lol: ....speaking from one experience on my part as well, as well as two other experiences with family members.

Now I'm sure the owner finally feels as if his car is REALLY a new car! Eager to see some more closeup shots in the sunlight!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 22nd, 2011, 11:21 am

Thank you very much Alpha,

When i saw the vehicle it looked very good from a distance. But on closer inspection. the guys who prepped the vehicle for delivery did a very poor job. It was filled with what Alpha coined it Dealer-Installed-Swirls. Remember guys the dealer is not interested in quality, all they are interested in is getting the vehicle as fast as possible out of their showrooms and getting your $$.

This vehicle took me close to 8 hours to finish, but when i was done it was well worth it as you can see from the pics. No dealer is going to spend that amount of time on a car.

If you want a proper job you need to have the time and resources.

Remember guys your vehicle is an extension of your personality.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 22nd, 2011, 11:39 am

^^Indeed. Did you use the MF DA correction system on that car?

I was looking at a preview vid on you-tube last night about it - they say it's made specifically for DA buffers? How does it work with your Flex rotary buffer?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 22nd, 2011, 1:12 pm

Alpha,, No i have not used the MF DA system as yet. I have a customer who is bringing in a special vehicle and i want to use it on that.

On the Honda, I used my Meguiars G110 Dual action polisher and the Meguiars Ultimate compound to remove the paint defects and i finished with the Meguiars NXT 2.0 to give the finish depth and paint protection.

I only use the Flex with wool and foam cutting and polishing pads. I only use this for vehicles that need medium to heavy paint correction.

For the MF DA system i would use my Meguiars G110 Dual Action Polisher. Cant wait for that vehicle to land in TnT

The G110 polisher is a great tool for a swirl free finish !!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 22nd, 2011, 2:45 pm

^^I can only imagine what kinda car that might be. :shock:

Feel free to hit mih ah PM if you're so inclined!

Meguiars Ultimate compound

I have a bottle of this and Scratch X 2.0 "just in case".

Tried the Ult. Compound on a spot area (by hand, using a Megs GC foam applicator) on one of my cars. The area had no marks; it was just an attempt to see how Ult Compound worked. I wasn't totally happy with it - I looked at the area using a bright halogen light (my "swirl finder") after making two applications on the area....and it seemed to leave "micro marring" (very very fine swirls not visible unless under direct focussed light). Of course, the area had practically zero marring before. Also, this "spot area" was a 3 x 3 inch area on a not-so-noticeable area of the rear bumper.

Is it that I didn't work it in enough? Of course, the car was just cleaned, and the applicator was pre-washed/cleaned.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 22nd, 2011, 2:56 pm

Alpha you need to work the Ultimate compound in a bit more, its a bit tedious by hand and if you dont work it in enough it will "micromar" the paint. Even if it marrs the paint you can come back with a paint cleaner and remove the marring that was left by the Ult. Com.

If you work it in until the compound breaks down you should be last step ready.

Try a different technique and see if you can find the sweet spot with the Ultimate Compound.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 22nd, 2011, 3:08 pm

^^Hmmm...figured as much. <sigh> I'm gonna have to eventually bite the bullet and get a G110v2 or a 7424XP.

What would you recommend as a "finishing" polish after using the Ult Compound? SwirlX maybe?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 22nd, 2011, 3:23 pm

Since you got the ultimate Compound why not try your hands on the ultimate polish and wax. The Ultimate Compound is the consumer version of the M105 the ultimate Polish is the consumer version to the M205. In the Detailing world the M105 and the M205 are the work horse for most detailer s. To get great results use like with like. and before you give up try a different technique.

But judging from what you say, your should not have need to such an aggressive product. The Swirl X should be your best bet. all the swirls would not be remove with one pass,, try 3-4 passes and use your light to gauge the results. You should see my swirl finder! you can light up a cave! lol

Remember you want to use the lest aggressive product on your paint.!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 22nd, 2011, 5:28 pm

But judging from what you say, your should not have need to such an aggressive product. The Swirl X should be your best bet. all the swirls would not be remove with one pass,, try 3-4 passes and use your light to gauge the results. You should see my swirl finder! you can light up a cave! lol

Remember you want to use the lest aggressive product on your paint.!

Oh yeah I hear ya! I managed to get my hand on Ult Compound since it came as part of a kit with NXT 2.0 TW (which is what I had really wanted to try at the time) ! None of my cars have use for that.....well, not yet anyway!

Thus far, SRP has been able to fill the gap for me, in terms of minor defect correct (even by hand with enough passes/application), followed by a sealant/wax etc.

Each of my cars uses one strict brand (e.g. one uses AG exclusively, another uses Megs exclusively etc....and there's no product crossing between the two)....and the car that uses Megs had little or no defects to start with.....so the NXT 2.0 TW worked flawlessly.

What I AM thinking about, is using NXT 2.0 TW as a base on that car, then topping with either Ult Wax, or Deep Crystal Step 3.

I'm not sure if Ult Wax has any mild cleaners (Gold Class Carnauba and NXT 2.0 have mild ones apparently)....so I'll need to "top" the NXT with a really "pure" wax.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 25th, 2011, 6:58 am

^^ C/plus now has the AG HD cleaner approx $450 & the HD wax for $669.

Its too much to spend as this car is now sitting in the garage 2 mths now......Will prob go with the Meg brand for my project on Sunday & put a car cover on it after.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 26th, 2011, 3:11 pm

karim wow that black car look good,
i want to drop off my black nav by yo sometime soon
i just have a long scratch at he back to get repaired hopefully nex weekend once time permits
just ordered to NXT wash and wax kit
would do it myself but massey detailing leaves a lot to be desired , swirl marks for so :(

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 26th, 2011, 7:04 pm

Thank you Joninieblue, with respect to the long scratch, pass you finger nail on the scratch, if you can feel it with your nail, then its possible that it has gone below the clear and the paint which may be too deep to correct. But i will have to see it.

The Nxt wash and wax kit is good you would love it !

Anytime i carry my vehicle to service at the company i always tell them not to wash it, they always instill swirls in the paint.. I hate it !

Give me a call to discuss- 784-9290.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 27th, 2011, 4:24 am

^^So I did my car on Saturday. Went by AA & not much Meg products to choose as most were sold out so this is what I used....

Note no more cleaner wax but 2 clay bars included.

Whats in the box...

Finally the polish used...

The MF cloth included is a waste of time, only one side of MF & woven material is not as dense as the MF cloth from P/smart.

Results were pretty good considering I used the cheap polisher.

NOTE: pls tear off the tag on any MF cloth before using.

Did not use any sealent as car is not in use.

Cheers !

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 27th, 2011, 5:49 am

The MF cloth included is a waste of time, only one side of MF & woven material is not as dense as the MF cloth from P/smart.

Please elaborate the basis used for this conclusion - what was the MF used for?

Also, how was it determined that the Mother's MF cloth was not as dense as the P mart one?

I have not been able to say one way or another - how did you check the desnity? Or you did you just do a visual inspection to determine that?

That MF is intended for use WITH THE CLAY BAR SYSTEM ONLY or QUICK DETAILING. And will NOT work well to remove polish or wax.

Secondly, I would suggst that you do NOT recommend using a combo of Super Resin and Cleaner Wax. That combo will NOT work well, since Cleaner wax will remove any of the filling and sealant base provided by the Super resin polish.

Please, next time around, use only a pure wax or sealant on top of SRP for maximum effect, and try to read up myself and Karim's posts more closely in the future.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 27th, 2011, 6:23 am

Ok, this is the best I can do.

What I'm trying to explain is the distance & weight between the MF's i.e the Mothers VS P/smart MF cloth are alot more meaning the actual woven MF's are less with the Mothers. My basis via visual / feel.

The Mothers MF was used for wiping the detailer spray off after claying as stated in the instructions.
After claying, I used the Mothers C/wax then applied the SRP after. I'm using your advice to layer the SRP today for the second coat.

Yesterday took me approx 4 hrs alone so I'm beat tired this morning !

The p/smart MF was used for removing the SRP.

Still lots of swirl marks on the paint Alpha but its the best I can do for my limited time & equipment.

A/art has the Swirl X 2.0 for $109.00 FYI if intrested but no 2.0 tech wax in liquid form. They had the paste but the tins were rusting meaning its sitting there probably for a long time.

The car is not in use so probably in a week or two I may apply a sealent. The rain keeps falling so the grass is growing WRT yard maintenance if you know what I mean.

Hope this explains Buddy & thanks for all the advice !

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 27th, 2011, 6:44 am

After claying, I used the Mothers C/wax then applied the SRP after. I'm using your advice to layer the SRP today for the second coat.

This was not my advice sir.

If you apply SRP onto of the wax, it'll just remove the wax.

Cleaner wa is an AIO (all in one product), which contains a mild cleaner-polish already, as well as a wax.

Layering a Cleaner wax removes the previous layer as well.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 27th, 2011, 7:46 am

Oh sheit !!! it was the Pre-Wax Cleaner that came with the kit not what I bought :? I know it had some cleaner but could not remember.

Can I use the pre-wax cleaner on it now then use the SRP or just leave it alone ?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 27th, 2011, 7:53 am

As a matter of fact the SRP is still sealed as I had some from my previous bottle. Will try to return it & get the steps 1,2 & 3 Mothers.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 29th, 2011, 11:00 am

Chemical its good to see that you are going the mile to keep your vehicle in best condition and dont worry about the double purchase. it happens to the best of us.

i would recommend that you keep the SRP and use it on the body of the car and use the mothers on your wheels you would be amazed to see how clean you wheels would be when you apply it. or vise versa.

IMO the SRP gives me a better performance than the mothers, But that is just my opinion.

Chemical since you have the two products, why not test it out on the bonnet of your car and see which product works better for you. Apply the SRP on one side of the bonnet and apply the mothers on the opposite side and see which give you better results. you would be amazed to see the difference. the things to look for are

1. which product removes the most swirls
2. which gives better gloss/ shine
3. which last longer.

It would be cool a experiment.

i also would not recommend using these products on top of each other. It would be counter productive as Alpha said.

But keep the two products if you can and find different uses for the other product. e.g use it on the wheels, door stills and any other painted surfaces and when you are finished tell use your experience,and make sure and take some pics