Wiper Blade review thread.

JM

Postby JM » December 13th, 2009, 12:56 pm

When it snows.....the snow doenst get caught in the frame.......

btw...my mich frameless not wiping very good at all any more....gotta get something else...

eitech

Postby eitech » December 13th, 2009, 1:46 pm

ok i would remember that in trinidad

GoS

Postby GoS » December 13th, 2009, 2:25 pm

hmmmm i think i need to invest in this

Postby rollingstock » December 14th, 2009, 10:26 am

JM wrote:When it snows.....the snow doenst get caught in the frame.......

btw...my mich frameless not wiping very good at all any more....gotta get something else...

:rofl: can't let those snow flakes stick on the wiper, dawg, but really the michelins work really good with no noise

JM

Postby JM » December 14th, 2009, 8:41 pm

^^^^ i seeem to be the exception....
mine work horribly now...like....i need new wipers for christmas bad...
They work good when i thoroughly clean them, but only for a week..
when i first got them...the only problem was that distal end of the left blade not making contact with the screen....which to me was annoying..others dont seem to mind..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 15th, 2009, 1:10 am

I found the Michelin frameless (radius) to be an excellent buy.. Bought it in the states and carried it down with me, costs too much down here..

Anyway, I had wicked wiper chatter for years with uneven wiping, the frameless blades made all the difference..

If you don;t want to spend so much, the Michelin rainforce (high performance) is an excellent buy

hindian

Postby hindian » December 15th, 2009, 4:51 pm

michelin frameless excellent buy '92 prelude...

Zanzan2010

Postby Zanzan2010 » December 30th, 2009, 2:19 pm

SASHREENA IN ARANGUEZ SELL THOSE MICHELLIN WIPER BLADES ....

Zanzan2010

Postby Zanzan2010 » December 30th, 2009, 2:20 pm

I GOT A PAIR ON MY 05 CIVIC BUT SOMETIMES I SILL GET A STIKING EFFECT ...ANNOYING..ANY IDEAD HOW TO FIX THAT.....DONT WANNA USE TOO MUCH SQUEEZY IN MY WATER BOTTLE..THAT MESES UP THE WINDSCREEN

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 30th, 2009, 2:44 pm

Also using Michelin frameless ... working really well .... best replacement wipers so far....highly recommended

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » December 30th, 2009, 9:31 pm

my frameless Michelin's (Optimum) worked great for a week, and now after 3 months dey leavin lace curtains @ places along d length

kinda annoyin, but livable with :?

masterofmindzchris

Re: Wiper Blade review thread.

Postby masterofmindzchris » May 12th, 2010, 6:43 pm

frameless wiper and rainex/defog duz do wonders!

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » May 12th, 2010, 9:15 pm

waz the price so for rainx???

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 13th, 2010, 10:52 am

Using the SAME PIAA super silicones....going on 3 years now....still working as flawlessly as the day I put them on.

No streaking, no "hopping", absolutely silent.

Yes they cost more, but given the longer run of life thus far, maybe it might be somewhat justified.

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » May 13th, 2010, 10:59 am

Knight1 wrote:Using the SAME PIAA super silicones....going on 3 years now....still working as flawlessly as the day I put them on.

No streaking, no "hopping", absolutely silent.

Yes they cost more, but given the longer run of life thus far, maybe it might be somewhat justified.

nice, well this post good old, where can i get a pair of those?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 13th, 2010, 7:27 pm

^^Bought them online from PIAA usa directly. You could just buy the silicone wiper refills, but I opted for the ultra-rice "carbon look" wiper frames also.

Cost me about 650-700 for both IIRC. This was for the WRX. Obviously, the refills would be cheaper.

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » May 17th, 2010, 6:50 am

The thing about it is people quick to blame the blades this brand that brand don`t understand that glass need`s to be cleaned use a glass cleaner or rainx , rainvision and the same old wipers and you see the diffrence.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 17th, 2010, 11:54 am

^^Never had to use that with the PIAA's. Just used the initial "pre treatment" on the windsheild, and that's it.

Never had to change....in THREE years.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 17th, 2010, 12:29 pm

ne1 kno wher i can get d PIAA wipers 2 buy?

neva saw any 4 sale on d forums, & i need 2 change wipers soon...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 17th, 2010, 1:04 pm

Unless yuh is a bush-mentality kinda fella, then get a skybox and get your own stuff

Knight1 wrote:^^Bought them online from PIAA usa directly. You could just buy the silicone wiper refills, but I opted for the ultra-rice "carbon look" wiper frames also.

Cost me about 650-700 for both IIRC. This was for the WRX. Obviously, the refills would be cheaper.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 28th, 2010, 9:56 pm

How much the frameless michelins been selling for in Trinidad?

They go for about 12 or 13 US each up here so wondering if to buy here and bring down a few..

Postby X_Factor » May 31st, 2010, 11:11 am

anyone ever used ANCO blades?

Postby Dave » May 31st, 2010, 1:37 pm

ANCO is a good american brand

I am about to install my PIAA silicone refills

Have eagerly waited to installed based on all the good reviews on them

Will report back....

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 31st, 2010, 2:14 pm

Dave, how long did d original PIAA wipers last?

wuz checkin dem out ,along wit d Bosch, but dey're like TT$500 & up A SIDE!!!

wtf?!?! r dey worth it?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 31st, 2010, 3:07 pm

I know that PIAA are excellent blades but I just cant justify such an expense when I can pick up Michelin frame-less for less than quarter the price (even less for me cause I buy them in the US)

Right now I have the michelin on 3 different vehicles and the only one it doesnt agree perfectly with is the volvo... just get a slight bit of squeak on the windshield... all the others its flawless.. even solved wiper chatter issues i had for years on my accord

Where is the cheapest place for the michelins in trinidad?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » June 1st, 2010, 8:10 am

u can get dem direct from LdG Warehouse (hopin 2 buy a new pair there soon), or in Federal (about TT$200 a pair, i tink)

Postby Dave » June 1st, 2010, 8:56 am

PIAA refills are very inexpensive esp. the silicone units, AMamzon super saver shipping saved the shipping cost as the wipers cost me like $12US

EVA Unit-01, these are my first PIAA's but using a generic silicone wiper right now and apart from the plastic frame holding the blade breaking, the wiper themselves still wipe very good

I expect the PIAA to be even better

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 1st, 2010, 9:53 am

that's probably a ralliart lancer model that a certain roro dealer was pushing sale as a evo 10...

Correct.

The refills are pretty cheap.

I bought the fancy PIAA branded wiper blade/mount thingy in it's entirety (due to the CF look and the "aero" style :lol: ) along with teh actual refill, so it obviously cost me a little more.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » June 1st, 2010, 1:21 pm

tort u were replacin d blades on a PIAA u had, Dave...

Knight1, the cost of bringin them in now is about TT$500 a SIDE :shock: need real justification 4 dat price... how r urs workin?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 1st, 2010, 2:48 pm

^^Did you price the REFILL (as in just the rubber/silicone wiping "strip") alone for your application? That price sounds like the entire wiper blade assembly. You can buy the refills and use them on your existing wiper blade thing.

The price you're quoting seems a bit outrageous e.g. the larger wiper (22") for the WRX only costs 23 USD....so with taxes and all that, you're looking at about 230 TTD for the driver's side.

So the total cost is (the other side is a 17") works out to about 230 + 190 = 420 TTD for the pair of base "non-aero" Super Silicone wiper BLADES. The Super Sporzas (more rice nah) cost more...but still, nowhere near 500 per side.

The silicone refill for my application is priced at 8.49 USD on PIAA's site - see here:

http://www.shopatron.com/products/productdetail/part_number=PIA94055/353.0

I should note though that I'm not sure if they sell the windshield treatment wipes with the wiper refills - the treatment is normally recommended to be used before the initial use of the wipers, and comes with every wiper blade kit (one time usage only).

As for mine, still working perfectly - no skipping/streaking/smudging/whatever.