tyres

silent_riot

Re: tyres

Postby silent_riot » January 5th, 2016, 7:33 am

Brantec (has G3) and M Ramrattan (has both).
Treadwear on the G3 is 180AA, RE760 is 340AA. Both are priced the same @ $650.
Online reviews say that the RE760 is the better tyre, and seems to be quieter due to its asymmetric tread.
My concern with the G3 is that it shows up discontinued on several sites, so I'm not sure of the origin of the ones we have here.

G3 Reviews:
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Bridg ... a-GIII.htm

R760 Reviews:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... E760+Sport
http://www.1010tires.com/Tires/Reviews/ ... E760+Sport

Postby BrotherHood » January 5th, 2016, 9:24 am

konartis wrote:I fine 32 rides to ruff, 30 is great.

I run 34 right around on 205/60/14.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 5th, 2016, 2:26 pm

Tires due for a change so I feel I will try the Maxxis Z4S soon.

Any negative reviews on this one?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 9th, 2016, 12:25 pm

I got the Potenza R760 sports from M Ramrattan @$650 each. Included with the sale is a 3 year road hazard warranty and road side assistance with the tyres.
All four tyres were manufactured in the 34-36th week of 2014.

Postby cinco » January 10th, 2016, 10:18 am

originalbling wrote:Tires due for a change so I feel I will try the Maxxis Z4S soon.

they arent the quietest tyre ive used and they get a bit noisy when worn
thats about all i can say bad about them

konartis

Postby konartis » January 10th, 2016, 11:25 am

cinco wrote:
originalbling wrote:Tires due for a change so I feel I will try the Maxxis Z4S soon.

Experiencing this right now with road stone, have to change them, looking for a quiet ride

SYKO

Postby SYKO » January 10th, 2016, 11:38 am

Tuesday I bought a set of maxxis UA603. Online reviews were good. My word those tires aounding like tractor tires. Coming Frm Yokohama which were factory tires, it was bad. I went back on Wednesday and changed to good old fashion nexen cp672. And quiet again.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 11th, 2016, 8:52 am

SYKO I feel factory tyres, no matter the brand made differently. If you get Bridgestone factory and then buy Bridgestone here, the local one wouldn't last as long as the factory.

Postby cinco » January 11th, 2016, 7:31 pm

SYKO wrote:Tuesday I bought a set of maxxis UA603. Online reviews were good. My word those tires aounding like tractor tires. Coming Frm Yokohama which were factory tires, it was bad. I went back on Wednesday and changed to good old fashion nexen cp672. And quiet again.

you are comparing two different models of tyres
cp672 are comfort tyres made to be quiet and compliant
ua603 are more performance oriented

Which is why I always say know what you expect and then buy what suits your needs. you wont get the handling of the maxxis with the roadstone/nexen but you wont get the quiet and soft ride of the roadstone with the maxxis
btw be wary with manhole covers and dem cp672 in my experience the sidewalls are easily damaged

SYKO

Postby SYKO » January 11th, 2016, 8:58 pm

Thanks Cinco, will keep that in mind about the manhole covers. Well I got the maxxis for a deal 2200 for the set so I thought I would have given it a shot.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 12th, 2016, 9:07 am

I realise that about Roadstone I had on my SUV. As the tyre wear down a little, any pot hole yuh go down in, is to balance over the tyre.
I have those Maxxis UA-603 on a NZE and they lasted me the longest.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 12th, 2016, 8:46 pm

Any reviews on Durun?

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby cinco » January 12th, 2016, 8:50 pm

ADONI wrote:I realise that about Roadstone I had on my SUV. As the tyre wear down a little, any pot hole yuh go down in, is to balance over the tyre.
I have those Maxxis UA-603 on a NZE and they lasted me the longest.

Guy in a tyre shop told me never unmount and re mount a roadstone from the rim how it never balances properly. (Take that with a pound of salt I sell it like I buy it)

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 22nd, 2016, 10:05 am

cinco wrote:

Currently have Dunlops and them noisy :(

Is there any that balances good performance and low noise especially as they wear?

Postby cinco » January 22nd, 2016, 11:17 am

in my experience michelins pilot sports stay quiet and have superb grip but they pricey as fffuk

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 22nd, 2016, 12:43 pm

I'm currently running the Maxxis Z4s, they are great. installed in december, they are very quiet atm. good wet and dry traction and rated at 400 treadwear...hoping they last at least a year. Will update if their performance changes as time goes by.

Postby cinco » January 22nd, 2016, 12:47 pm

you will definitely get a year i got a year and 2 months with daily and dexing

Postby MG Man » January 22nd, 2016, 1:19 pm

Dunlop on everything now....road hazard warranty ftw

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 22nd, 2016, 1:48 pm

I feel I will try the maxxis and just rotate often since they are within my budget atm.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 22nd, 2016, 5:30 pm

Who has the best prices on dz102 225 45 17? In aranguez it selling for 800 each

Postby cinco » January 22nd, 2016, 6:24 pm

MG Man wrote:Dunlop on everything now....road hazard warranty ftw

Good thing I tell u bout that yuh ingrate

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 24th, 2016, 7:43 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Who has the best prices on dz102 225 45 17? In aranguez it selling for 800 each

$650 a tyre at Ryan's tyre shop.

Postby cinco » January 24th, 2016, 7:56 pm

racedriverpro wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:Who has the best prices on dz102 225 45 17? In aranguez it selling for 800 each

Tyre clinic for dunlops or nuttin. Road hazard warranty ftw

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 24th, 2016, 8:04 pm

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » January 24th, 2016, 8:39 pm

^^This

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 25th, 2016, 9:44 am

DZ102 was 550/piece for 16's when I bought the maxxis. This was at HK. Balliram on Debe main rd.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 28th, 2016, 6:46 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Purchased 4 Dunlop DZ102 in 205/45/17 at Tyre Clinic. $615 each.

The only non Chinese tyre available in that size i could find. Coming off Kumho Ecsta SPT which not available in any 17" size anymore apparently.

Very skeptical about these after having used DZ101s but needed new shoes in a hurry. Time will tell.

2 months of use and I have found these to be mediocre at best.

Much more ABS intervention in straight line braking compared to previous tyres.
Lateral grip not too bad, corners have gone well so far (...so far).
Rides softer than previous Kumhos (probably due to taller sidewall) but pretty noisy in comparison. Not hum/drone noisy but more so than any tyre should be.
No hydroplaning YET up to 100kph, I don't do faster than that in heavy rain.

Sadly, I may put another set of these on my other car for lack of anything better in this size.

FU tyres in almost any 17" size is almost impossible to find and where has, is like new tyre price or they worse than the Kumhos I changed in the first place.

Bought some more of these for second car, got them for $570 this time.

Never thought I'd say this about Dunlop.... They have way WAY more grip than the previous tyres on the car, Nexen N'Fera SU4 (Bought the car with those).

Breathing hard on the accelerator on the Nexen from a standstill would have me wandering all over the road in a very bad way. The Dunlop has straightened that out. Pleasant surprise.

It should be noted the Nexen had 50%+ tread left so there were not worn out by any means. If you're thinking about buying N'Fera SU4, DON'T. They also have shitty soft sidewalls. I have 8 damaged sidewalls on those.

Postby X_Factor » February 1st, 2016, 11:10 pm

how are those dz 102 holding up
whats the avg price for the 195/55/15?

Postby cinco » February 2nd, 2016, 1:40 am

Picked up some 215/50/17 maxxis z4s from Singhs always a pleasure doing business with them and I will continue to rate maxxis as the best budget tyre on the market in my experience

simplejack

Postby simplejack » February 2nd, 2016, 3:00 pm

cinco wrote:Picked up some 215/50/17 maxxis z4s from Singhs always a pleasure doing business with them and I will continue to rate maxxis as the best budget tyre on the market in my experience

That's Singh & Son's in Couva? Have stock 14s on my NZE and need to buy some tyres soon, will check them when I'm ready. Thanks