Car Polishing 101

Alpha_2nr

Re: Car Polishing 101

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 12th, 2011, 6:31 am

^^I used it on my gf's car the other day - which believe it or not, for a NEW car, comes with a single stage finish (no clear).

Long story about the paint.

But anyway, with that paint, any "polish" or "Cleaner" ends up removing some of the "coloured paint" (since there's no clear), so you see your paint coming off in your application towel for example.

I tried Turtle Wax Ice on it...and...NO paint residue. My logic? It isn't a polish at all......it acts more like a non abrasive protective sealant.

For further comparison, I used a Mothers carnauba on another portion of that car, and it acted the same way (no paint colour residue).

So my conclusion - ICE is more of a wax replacement...and the name polish is a misnomer. ICE does seem to have good fillers though, for hiding mild swirls. It doesn't seem to be very durable, so in her case, I ended up topping the ICE with the Mother's Step 3 a week later.

DONT use a QD after you apply any paint sealant as it would interfere with the bonding process of the sealant. Sealants need time to "molecularise"/ cure before you top it off with something else....

Oh yeah I hear ya! I use two buckets + grit guards + LW wash mitt :D

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 12th, 2011, 6:35 am

Parvin wrote:Applicator was a microfiber cloth ( new one for each step and was turned frequently )

Good...but not all MF's were created equal! THat said, you should be fine with a general MF for application IMHO.

I remember reading about using a foam applicator as well - I have these at home but I'm not a huge fan of them.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » January 12th, 2011, 8:45 am

Taken from another thread
Dunman wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:i have use it .. its an ok product ,,,,, but its no different than the traditional paint sealant

Karim,

In your professional opinion, which do you think is better, a sealant or a wax?

IMO i like both.

A sealant is made up of synthetic polymers and is a man made product . A wax is a natural occurring wax. Most wax come from the Carnauba palm which is found in South America.

Thats really the main difference.

Some people say that paint sealants last longer and is more durable than a wax and others say that a wax gives the final finish a warmth and glow.

Both the sealant and wax do the same job. Its just your personal taste and preference.

I use Rejex on my rims :lol:

But if you use a wax or a sealant regularly then you should not have a problem with paint protection.

Guys remember your car is the second most valuable asset after your house and you should take care of it by way of maintenance.

Maintenance does not mean changing oil and changing mechanical parts. It also means cleaning and protecting your motor vehicle interior and exterior.

So IMO it does not matter if it is a wax or sealant, but the key to use either the wax or sealant on your vehicle REGULARLY So as to prevent premature damage to your most prized asset.

Dunman

Postby Dunman » January 12th, 2011, 5:13 pm

Thanks and well said!

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 12th, 2011, 8:59 pm

This IMHO is the best thread on TT.

Postby cinco » January 13th, 2011, 11:37 am

Karim Khan wrote:Taken from another thread
Dunman wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:i have use it .. its an ok product ,,,,, but its no different than the traditional paint sealant

Karim,

In your professional opinion, which do you think is better, a sealant or a wax?

IMO i like both.

A sealant is made up of synthetic polymers and is a man made product . A wax is a natural occurring wax. Most wax come from the Carnauba palm which is found in South America.

Thats really the main difference.

Some people say that paint sealants last longer and is more durable than a wax and others say that a wax gives the final finish a warmth and glow.

Both the sealant and wax do the same job. Its just your personal taste and preference.

I use Rejex on my rims :lol:

But if you use a wax or a sealant regularly then you should not have a problem with paint protection.

Guys remember your car is the second most valuable asset after your house and you should take care of it by way of maintenance.

Maintenance does not mean changing oil and changing mechanical parts. It also means cleaning and protecting your motor vehicle interior and exterior.

So IMO it does not matter if it is a wax or sealant, but the key to use either the wax or sealant on your vehicle REGULARLY So as to prevent premature damage to your most prized asset.

THANK YOU
hence why my 7 year old car does not look like utter crap although its a Kia with stock paint (save the regular dings and dents from usage)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 22nd, 2011, 12:05 am

Chemical wrote:This IMHO is the best thread on TT.

have to agree with you !!!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 22nd, 2011, 7:09 am

^^Oye Unkle, ya ever got through with those marks you asked about (a few pgs back)?

Curious to hear how that turned out.

Dunman

Postby Dunman » January 31st, 2011, 10:20 pm

Now this is detailing...

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 1st, 2011, 6:53 am

^^Nice, however materials just too overpriced.

Q. Was that a normal sponge he used ?

Q. Is a MF Blanket the same as a MF cloth ?

Q. Locally where has the best carnauba wax ?

Need to do over an application @ mth end.

Dunman

Postby Dunman » February 1st, 2011, 7:06 am

* looks at the question and awaits a response from Karim Khan or Alpha_2nr*

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » February 1st, 2011, 8:32 am

MF blanket is the same as a MF cloth i believe. i bought a Turtle Wax Liquid Ice kit (don"t remember which one ) and it came with a beach towel sized Microfiber cloth

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 1st, 2011, 10:10 am

^^Nice, however materials just too overpriced.

Q. Was that a normal sponge he used ?

Q. Is a MF Blanket the same as a MF cloth ?

Q. Locally where has the best carnauba wax ?

Need to do over an application @ mth end.

Didn't look at the vid, so I can't help with the sponge question. Most likely, it would have been a foam sponge with an outer MF layer....or maybe a wash mitt?

As for the MF blanket and cloth...remember not ALL MF's are the same. They use a different weave and grade of fibres for added smoothness etc etc.

E.g. MF's good for removing polish are generally a tad thinner in "pile" ...while QD / Spray Wax MF's tend to be a bit thicker in "pile".

As for teh best carnuaba wax - define best! Best shine? Best/easiest application? Best lasting?

So far, in terms of local products, I'm having good experiences with Meguiars NXT Tech wax and Mothers Step 3 Carnuaba. The trick to maintaining any waxed finish though, is to use a Quick Detailer or a Spray Wax after "normal" washes (i.e. between waxes) from time to time, to add some additional protection to the underlying wax layer.

E.g. With the Mothers Wax I use on my gf's car, I encourage her to "top" up the wax after a weekly wash (or every other wash) with a Spray Wax, such as the Mothers Reflections Spray Wax.

Speaking of durability - check this out, I compared the beading of Meguiars NXT 2.0 topped with UQD vs Mothers Step 3 topped with Reflections SW (both cars haven't been washed for two weeks):

NXT 2.0

Mothers Pure Carnauba:

If you want durability Chemical, a sealant is going to be a better bet. Not many sealants in use locally...but NXT 2.0 is technically a sealant, although I don't find it lasts as long as others. I'd recommend a Poorboys or Wolfgang sealant, but you can't get those locally.
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on May 27th, 2011, 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 1st, 2011, 12:55 pm

^^Thanx Alpha, I'm in the mood to detail my cars as the Xmas season is over.

http://www.autogeek.net/wolfgang-fuzion ... x-kit.html

Was looking @ the wolfgang products for a while & the reviews are great.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » February 1st, 2011, 5:14 pm

Chemical wrote:^^Thanx Alpha, I'm in the mood to detail my cars as the Xmas season is over.

You ordering that kit?

Link me if you are please

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 1st, 2011, 7:36 pm

Now looked at the vid.

Chemical, that's an MF wash pad/mitt he's using there.

Also, like the guy in teh vid, I prefer to dry using MF waffle weave drying towels. If I do use a chamois, it's a synth chamois, and I pat dry, rather than "wipe" dry. The MF Blanket which he used to dry with is different in consistency to a "regular" MF. The MF blanket has a different "pile" and in some cases, a "pitted/waffle styled" weave pattern to give more surface area for absorption.

One of my drying MF's uses a foam core for added abosrbency when "pat" drying. The other waffle weave has no foam core, but has a larger overall surface area (again, to hold more water).

Also, the Wolfgang Connoisseur's Kit is nice, but pricey! You can get good performing WAXES, with "top up" sprays, for less locally.

Like I said, if you want to stick with a SEALANT however, then consider Wolfgang's Spritz Sealant (and maintain with Wolfgang Auto wash only). To that end, the "mini" connoisseur's kit would be a better bet IMHO.

The real secret lies in the "top up" spray (be it a Quick Detail spray, or a Spray Wax ;) )

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 1st, 2011, 8:30 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Oye Unkle, ya ever got through with those marks you asked about (a few pgs back)?

Curious to hear how that turned out.

actually I haven't and it seems to be getting lighter and lighter (or maybe it's just hiding under the dirt..lol)....

yuh know what I just wash car let me go and check it out yes.....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 1st, 2011, 8:46 pm

man I really can't seem to find the spot....must have faded away or something......but thanks for the assistance anyway!!!!

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 2nd, 2011, 6:58 am

Parvin wrote:
Chemical wrote:^^Thanx Alpha, I'm in the mood to detail my cars as the Xmas season is over.

You ordering that kit?

Link me if you are please

Nah Guy.....thats a bit too much to spend, however I may consider the wax as time is against me on weekends

(cut lawn, wash yard, prune trees etc)

I need to put something on my 2 cars to last for approx 4 mths.I guess I'm looking for a VERY durable wax.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 2nd, 2011, 7:16 am

What U guys think of this....seen on speed tv on Sunday.

Air is heated 30deg above ambient and all the attchements are rubber so they can't damage your car. Comes with a 1 YEAR WARRANTY.

The AirForce Master Blaster Dryer features a total of 8 peak horsepower. Two twin fan, 4.0 Peak horsepower motors that deliver up to 58,500 feet per minute of clean, filtered, warm airflow. Two switches allow users to set the airflow and temperature at 3 different levels. Use either motor (front or rear) independently or both simultaneously for maximum power. Five different nozzles enable users to position airflow where desired and eliminate water spots.

Features Include:

8 Peak Horsepower Dryer unit on wheels with
12 foot cord
Rugged all Steel Construction
10-Foot Heavy Duty Hose
Heavy Duty Neoprene Blower
NozzleAir concentrator
Air streamer tool
Micro adaptor
Male/male adaptor
5 Piece Attachment Kit
1 YEAR WARRANTY

Construction: Sturdy All Steel
Motor: 8.0 Peak HP / Two Motors
Air Flow: 58,500 ft./min.
Fan: 2 Motors / 2 Stage Dual Fan
2 Speeds / 2 Temperatures
Amps: 18 Amps
Hose: 10ft. x 1.5 inch Commercial Strength Flexible Hose
Nozzle: Heavy Duty Neoprene Blower Nozzle
Cord: 12 ft. Heavy Duty 3 Conductor
Weight: 16 lbs.
Filter: E/Z Change Foam Filter

Or

http://www.motorcycledryer.com/default.asp

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 2nd, 2011, 10:25 am

^^Actually, some detailers swear only by devices like that, to dry the car w/o touching it so to speak.

IMHO, proper technique with a MF waffle weave will work for the major panels, with "forced air drying" for crevices etc.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 2nd, 2011, 12:59 pm

OK guys, as Alpha perfectly indicated, there are different microfiber cloths for different applications. eg. Drying, polishing, glass, door jambs etc. each are made up differently for the relevant purpose. I use them and they make my work much easier. My microfibers are not cheap. My most expensive microfiber cost in excess on $150.00 TT and that is only one cloth. These are what I call tools of the trade. Just like the blower above, it’s a great product; It is designed to make the work much easier. (For me I would not go with the Master Blaster. I would rather get a wet and dry vacuum with a blower in it.).

I had a look at the vid, the guy is amazing. With respect to the tools he uses, all I can say is there are tools and then there are TOOLS. Now guys his niche market is exotic car and the owners of these car ent want any $2 product on their car, they want the BEST. Not only they want the best products, they want someone who has the best skill to do the job. Tools and products, IMO only contribute to about 30% of the job, the other 70% is based on pure skill and experience. This is what you pay for.

When I am detailing a vehicle that is worth over $1 million TT. I only the best micro fibers, best buffing pads, best applicators etc. and all must be new.

With reference to waxes and paint sealants. Paint Sealants are designed to last longer than waxes... Yes I know in my last post I indicated that they are all the same once used regularly. My point is to USE THE PRODUCTS REGULARLY. ONCE USED REGULARLY your second most valuable asset will be well protected and your vehicle would be looking its best. Why would you want to neglect something that you spent so much money to purchase?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 2nd, 2011, 6:46 pm

^^Thanks alot Alpha / Karim

Never knew bout the Diff MF cloths.I bought a big pack in P/Smart & use it to wash / dry / wipe interior etc.....its no wonder i see water marks on the paint :? :?

Q. where can i buy the mf cloth to dry?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 2nd, 2011, 8:19 pm

^^I find those MF's from Pmart are a waste. I can't vouch for their quality, and that they don't scratch.

They've been demoted to interior dusting (house and car) and other minor duties.

I've never come across any waffle weave MF"s locally. You'd have to buy online......As a start, you can try the Cobra Guzzler (available on Amazon if that's any help).

Like I said, you CAN use a synthetic chamois (I still use one on my daily car)...once you pat dry! (The garage queen/weekend car of course, is only touched by MF drying towels :lol: )

E.g. when drying the bonnet, I would presoak the Chamois, wring dry, then spread the cham flat out on the bonnet for it to absorb the water. After, I would remove, wring dry, and pat any remaining droplets.

Doing vertical/side panels requires more finesse, but it can be done.

its no wonder i see water marks on the paint

That may be due more to your wash technique, rather than the cloth! E.g. Using the two bucket wash method vs 1 bucket? How often do you rinse the wash cloth while washing a panel on the car? etc etc

Take me for example, it takes me about 1.5 hours to wash my car ALONE...if it's dirty. Why? I would wash out my wash mitt about four to five times while washing a given panel, so I ensure I'm not spreading dirt around.

Sure it's lengthy, hard on my back etc....but the cars are STILL virtually swirl free....and yes, one of them is BLACK :twisted:

And no, I don't waste water.....I just work very slowly, panel by panel, when I'm washing the car.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 2nd, 2011, 8:55 pm

Wow 1.5 hours to wash your car ALONE..I'll love to hear you pipe that same tune when you get married / kid / house etc. (I was like that when I was in my mid twennies)

Car Plus has a MF cloth (Autoglym) so maybe Saturday I'll make a pass as I'm going to Align meh bedder half cyar @ MM.

I wash the dirt off the car with running water & keep a bucked of water filled to wash out the cloth.

Then I use a bone sponge and mix the turtle wax car wash with water and wash the entire car, then rinse.

Drying is normal back to front vice versa.

If the MF cloth is too expensive i'll probably get the Cham Wow cloth.

I take bout 45 min max to wash & dry a car.

(wonders how long he would take if he had a European Import)

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 2nd, 2011, 8:59 pm

Car Plus has a MF cloth (Autoglym) so maybe Saturday I'll make a pass as I'm going to Align meh bedder half cyar @ MM.

Oh yeah, heard from the local AG agents that they might be getting the Hi Tech MF. Never used it, might give it a shot though!

That bone sponge - it's from the Turtle Wax "gift pack" isn't it? Dump it....seriously.

A simple terry cotton/100% cotton towel cloth will do much better if you don't want to go the expensive route of buying a wash mit. I see P-mart had some MF wash mitts a while aback, those may be worth your while (never used them though).

(wonders how long he would take if he had a European Import)

You sounding like a REAL stalker dey Unkle...how do YOU know I don't have one?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 2nd, 2011, 9:22 pm

My crystal ball shows me (A black Subaru Impreza)

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 3rd, 2011, 8:53 am

^^Nope. Never had a black ..or any dark coloured Subaru Impreza. My "garage" is updated frequently :oops:

Your crystal ball needs some polishing :lol: :lol: :lol:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 3rd, 2011, 9:54 am

^^Nope. My "garage" is updated frequently :oops:

Crystal ball can't keep up with U man :arrow:

:(
Last edited by Chemical on February 4th, 2011, 6:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 3rd, 2011, 11:01 am

^^WTF......posting my bizness on tuner dey bai?????
Daiz only ricer car dem in dat list anyways :oops: :lol:

BTW two more added to the list since then.

And yes, I still think you're a stalker :skurry: