Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

chris1388

Re: Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

Postby chris1388 » September 26th, 2010, 12:51 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:I goin and try d Eneos 15w-40 next oil change yes...i go let allyuh know how it feel...dem Japanese wouldn't put no crappy oil in dey engine in d first place...

It doh have 15-40 its 5-40 and i use it in my car

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 26th, 2010, 1:35 pm

^^^well give we a lil rundown on the runnings, nah! cooler? quieter? smoother?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 26th, 2010, 2:30 pm

chris1388 wrote:
turbo_beast369 wrote:I goin and try d Eneos 15w-40 next oil change yes...i go let allyuh know how it feel...dem Japanese wouldn't put no crappy oil in dey engine in d first place...

It doh have 15-40 its 5-40 and i use it in my car

I stand corrected....

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 27th, 2010, 6:44 pm

eva i told you about it already earlier in this thread LOL....i definately find its holding out better than any oil i've used thus far and yes the car does run quieter ......this is compared to 10-40 amsoil.....i was truly impressed

shotta4life

Postby shotta4life » October 6th, 2010, 1:57 pm

mobil delvac change every 5000km works for me.

Postby X_Factor » October 7th, 2010, 8:41 pm

quaker Q full synthetic 5-50
57$ a quart!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 7th, 2010, 11:32 pm

Good price on the Quaker State Q, word here in the states is that it is the same as Shell Helix Ultra.. no confirmation from shell but its been mentioned many times...
Nonetheless, good pricing..

But question is, where you getting that price? Share the joy

Seeker

Postby Seeker » October 27th, 2010, 4:36 pm

Shell Helix 20/50
$110 gal.
regular changes every 3mths or 5000kms.
Never need to add any oil between changes.
Over 100,000kms driven and in extreme conditions - heavy traffic, high speeds etc.
Shell works for me.

Postby X_Factor » October 27th, 2010, 5:09 pm

distributor price!
i think its the price the parts shops buy it at and then resell around 70$
if anyone wants i can get for them as well

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » November 26th, 2010, 6:08 pm

Total Quartz 9000 5W40 at Repuauto Supplies & Accessories, Southern Main Road, Marabella
for $220
Phone Contact # 653-5896

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 26th, 2010, 10:35 pm

Repuauto is a great store and good to see you repping them... That said, the total can be had cheaper if you shop around..

What you think of the Total Quartz 9000, I loving it for the year and a half I using it..

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » November 27th, 2010, 7:53 am

CD4Accord you are totally right, excuse the pun, when you say that Repuauto is a great store.
They may be a bit 'hot' on the Total oil but the ease and convenience of dealing with knowledgeable people in the auto parts industry is worth it.
I am going to change the oil in the buggy this November month's end.
Will see how the car responds to this new oil and will give feedback soon!

Regards,

p.s. how much 'k's can I get from this oil before I need to do a change?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 28th, 2010, 5:46 am

I couldn't tell you to be honest...

My vehicles been getting very very low usage lately so I been running the total 9000 for roughly 5 months between changes, but that comes up to less than 6000km in my case...
Not much running at all, so I just go more based on time...

What oil you were using before? Does your engine have any sludging? If so, that total going to clean all that gunk right out for you..

tracyk859

Postby tracyk859 » November 29th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Thanks for the post.
Hi guys, Im a newbie. Nice to join this forum.

mr NZE

Postby mr NZE » November 30th, 2010, 3:53 am

shell helix - - 20w 50 - - $105 - - princess town (close to tyre warehouse)

ibanez11

Postby ibanez11 » January 22nd, 2011, 3:18 pm

castrol GTX 20W50 5litre 12.50 US....walmart

mobil1 fully synthetic 15W50 4litre 18.00 US....walmart

oxidation

Postby oxidation » January 22nd, 2011, 10:45 pm

question here guys : i have been running amsoil 10w-30 in my car for abt 80,000km (car currently doing 105,000km), and wanted to know if i can up it up to a higher weight oil, say 10w -40 or 20w-50.

and also if i do decide to use the 20w-50 if i can switch back to 10w-30....

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 23rd, 2011, 2:39 pm

Why would you want to up it to a higher grade of oil oxidation.. If the 10w-30 is working for you and you have no leaks or burnoff stick with it.. Dont be like all these other people running 20w-50...

to Ibanez, you using 20w-50 in the US? Where you located, because that probably far too viscus for any of the temperatures up here..

oxidation

Postby oxidation » January 23rd, 2011, 7:44 pm

CD4Accord wrote:Why would you want to up it to a higher grade of oil oxidation.. If the 10w-30 is working for you and you have no leaks or burnoff stick with it.. Dont be like all these other people running 20w-50...

to Ibanez, you using 20w-50 in the US? Where you located, because that probably far too viscus for any of the temperatures up here..

cool cool

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 27th, 2011, 6:58 pm

^^Just finished changing oil myself. Decided to make a point so I purchased the Castrol Syntec for $272 plus a Purolator L14612 oil filter for $37 bucks from Dollar Savers. L80 could f@#k off with their price increase. D/savers had the M1 for $77qt however 7 mths ago I pd $67 qt.

BTW I do approx 15k max / yr & hardly drive over 100km so it really doesn't matter. Started to run oil to 8k now so 2 oil changes / yr will cost $618/yr.

I don't know how i started to use M1 as my first car I used the syntec & sold that car with 285k km. The motor never burnt any oil (8 valve B12)

Second car sold @ 169K km using syntec also.

Third car @ 130k km however using GTX.

IMO most syn oils do just about the same. The difference to me is alot of North Americans tow Campers, trailers with their SUV's / Mini vans & drive long distances (state to state or even N/york to Canada & vice versa or even the pick up's that haul lots of load for work purposes (in TNT the idiots call it a sports van with twennies & carry a large tray empty) & thats what sever conditions are termed coupled with very hot summers & dealing with winters.

When I lived in Brampton & worked in Markhan (Rain, snow , hail , freezing winds) that distance was approx 175 km return however I used Pennzoil Dino oil for 2 reasons....money was limited & secondly the car was a Saturn SL1 :?

Not from tong to sando @ 120km and balling I need RP, Amsoil de bess & changing @ 5k km still :|

CD4accord, I agree fully with your logic however Total was not available on my way home today. Was tempted to buy the 10W 30 GTX for $143/gallon but I backed off though its supposed to be pretty good for 7500km.

Alpha, I still believe U can run your oil longer, just use a high flow oil filter such as OEM or K&N.

My bro has an STI but I think he goes to 5k using 5w 50 syntec. That oil change is real ketchass as you have to remove the guard plate....approx 25 screws.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 27th, 2011, 11:33 pm

Honestly, if I was buying Dino I have read repeatedly on the BITOG forums that Penzoil Yellow bottle is the best mass market Dino oil you will find.... My experiences with it have all been good, but I moved all my vehicles up to synthetic when I started getting the Total 9000 at under $200 a gallon..

My main reasons for syn, I know I drive hard in 1 or 2 of the vehicles, and I know that my oil changes happen bi-annually.. Around Dec and June/July so it means that most of the vehicles do about 6000km no sweat between changes

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 28th, 2011, 5:04 am

^^Point taken, however Castrol was pretty expensive in Canada. Penzzoil markets their oil in Toronto just like Castrol does in Trinidad. Most quick lube change stations use Pennzoil.

Called LubeTech y/day & was qouted 186 + vat for the Total 9000 10W 40. I use 10w 30.

Point to note why synthetic is better to use as its made in the lab, all the molecules are exactly the same shape & size, making sludge ALMOST impossible to form.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » January 28th, 2011, 7:49 am

Chemical wrote:Point to note why synthetic is better to use as its made in the lab

Not true anymore. In the early days of synthetics, this was true.
As far as I know, Amsoil and Redline are lab made. Royal Purple is reputedly lab made made as well.
Most of the other synthetics, Castrol, Mobil, etc, are super refined dino oil. Castrol Edge uses a mixture of dino oil and lab made stuff. This is why synthetics from these manufacturers are cheaper than the real stuff.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 28th, 2011, 9:06 am

Thanks Big Z,

BTW I had to pay .10c environmental charge each qt :?

And when purchase tires , had to pay advanced disposal tax also :?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 28th, 2011, 6:02 pm

Well thats the first world for you, charges for everything...

Anyway, concerning Group 3 or hydrocracked oils, most of the big brands tend to use this methodology now but there is a bit of confusion still.. eg. Most agree that regular Mobil1 is hydrocracked (highly processed) from an organic base stock, but on the flipside Mobil1 Extended Performance or Delvac1 may be either entire lab made, or possibly a mix of lab (group 4 and 5) and grp 3

At the same time, Total Quartz 9000 is group 3, but Quartz Energy 9000 is Group 4 (dont get it in Trinidad)...

Castrol Syntec is group 3, but there is some confusion as to what Castrol Edge is made of..
Same goes for Pennzoil Platinum and Pennzoil ultra etc.,.

While Amsoil, Redline, RP etc may be entirely lab made and I respect the quality, for MY PURPOSES and MY USES, its overkill and not worth the extra expenditure... I'm not judging anyone elses oil habits, just speaking for my own..

Where is lubetech located? You can get the Total cheapest in Mathura's St James

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » January 28th, 2011, 6:13 pm

No confusion at all wrt Castrol Edge. Exactly as I said earlier.
Click here for info from Castrol Edge US website

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 28th, 2011, 7:32 pm

CD4Accord wrote:While Amsoil, Redline, RP etc may be entirely lab made and I respect the quality, for MY PURPOSES and MY USES, its overkill and not worth the extra expenditure... I'm not judging anyone elses oil habits, just speaking for my own..

i use d RP in my car because i do a LOT of running (north-south everyday), & i run pretty hard most times (= 6000RPM with my CVT).
RP = extended oil change (every 3 mths per 10,000km) + quiet engine + "bess" protection for my hard runs :mrgreen:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 3rd, 2011, 7:38 am

^^Just an update on using the Castrol Syntec..

- Gas mileage is the SAME
- Engine idles just as smooth when I used Mobil 1
- Cold start ups....can't tell the difference
- Color of oil is still "gold" .

No issues at all.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » February 9th, 2011, 1:05 am

any reviews on Kendall oil

vanbella