tyres

CD4Accord

Re: tyres

Postby CD4Accord » April 20th, 2013, 9:35 pm

Special on GT Radial is a relative term. They are some ok tyres but they are likely going to charge way too much for that anyway. Cross reference their price against Mileage Mack who also sells the same brand and then reference the price against Kumho (who I consider the median of tyres in T+T)

Postby Dave » April 23rd, 2013, 12:57 pm

There is a gt chamiro uhp that seems to be very decent but i am sure we won't be getting that

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 23rd, 2013, 9:51 pm

Any1 shop for tyres recently? Need to get 215/45/17 .... not interested in any Chinese brands. Would appreciate any info on brand, price and location.

Thanks

jimdawg

Postby jimdawg » April 24th, 2013, 3:54 pm

i looking for 205 45 17 too... i hear chag have the best prices

Postby A172 » April 24th, 2013, 4:07 pm

195/40/15 or 195/45/15

how hard are they to get locally?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 24th, 2013, 4:20 pm

probably very.. you will find 195/50/15 and 205/50/15 im sure but the 40 and 45 if you do find it will probably be in a cheap brand..

Postby A172 » April 24th, 2013, 5:14 pm

chit

gonna have to look around then

Postby X_Factor » April 24th, 2013, 6:57 pm

A172 wrote:195/40/15 or 195/45/15

how hard are they to get locally?

there are alot of them in that size f.used
and in quite good condition since most ppl dont use that size
i've seen almost new 40series tires in proxies while looking for 55 series

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 3rd, 2013, 10:03 pm

Anyone can say what time tyre clinic opens on a Saturday?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 4th, 2013, 10:27 am

Opened about 830....

Got sumitomo htr z iii 225/45/17 summer tyre.

$875 per tyre. Good service too.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 4th, 2013, 12:40 pm

^^^ give us your review of the Z3s once you get a feel for them

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 11th, 2013, 11:15 am

Bumping for info on where have reasonable tyres 195/55/15 ;205/50/15 or 205/40/17; 215/40/17

L&D has Kumho Solus kh 17 195/55/15 for 689
Andy nitto threadwear 280 205/50/15 for 1000
Wheel Wizard Roadstone 195/55/15 for 475
Tyre clinic Dunlop dz101 195/55/15 525
Tyre clinic Dunlop dz101 205/50/15 575
Tyre clinic Dunlop dz101 205/40/17 645
Tyre clinic Dunlop dz101 215/40/17 725

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 11th, 2013, 2:48 pm

Nittos by Andy's are NeoGen?

Paid $6xx for NeoGens in that size 2 years ago at Andy's

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 11th, 2013, 10:30 pm

Oh I forgot to give my reviews

Kumho KH1? 195/55/15 bought from L&D for around $500 a piece. Lasted 2-3 years
These are good in wet and dry IMO. I will say these are better than the maxxis z4s in the wet.This tyre should replace all those roadstones/ chinee brand tyahs on all vehicles on the road. Performed admirably till treadwear indicator.

Maxxis Z4S 205/50/15 bought from Singhs down south around $480 a piece.
These have very good traction, accelerating and braking, Lateral traction could be a bit better though, heard some tyre squeal around a roundabout during some spirited driving. The compound wore fast even thought the threadwear stated 420, then again I had stoptech brake pads during that time which would have contributed to the wear.

Hankook Blackbird V2, remains the best tyre I have used to date.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 11th, 2013, 10:41 pm

Saw some Goodyear F1 but it was made in DOT 4707. Could I take the chance and buy it for autocross or that tire is too old and will be a risk. The owner said it was stored in a drake place and he wanted $550 for 1. Give me your reviews guys.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 12th, 2013, 3:17 am

I'd JUMP on those goodyears for autocross if you have the cash to spare..

A bit too old for a daily, but a brilliant tyre, especially in the dry

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 12th, 2013, 12:48 pm

Well ended up with the Dunlops DZ-101 ... wasn't really my first choice but cost wise it was the best for a non-chinese brand. Paid $750 each @ a place in Gasparillo.

First impression is that it's very quiet ... but then I was going from really worn Proxes T1-Rs which were noisy as hell. Ride is very comfortable, dry traction seems ok waiting on the tire to wear out the slippery coating before I really try to push it hard. All in all they seem to be working really good hope they wear good and stay quiet.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 12th, 2013, 1:43 pm

After all dem DZ101 reviews you real brave to buy them.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 12th, 2013, 2:33 pm

ek4ever, be sure to post a review when you finally get a chance to push it..

All I will say is be careful in the wet...

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 12th, 2013, 6:07 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:After all dem DZ101 reviews you real brave to buy them.

The thing is I've seen reviews that say these tires are terrible and ones that say the performance was much better than what was expected, some even saying it was better than some tyres that were way more expensive or have more pedigree ... the extremes in reviews is interesting to say the least.

So yeah I'll post on my experience after about 5000kms

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 12th, 2013, 6:35 pm

I hear yuh. Reviews all over the place so best you see for yourself. Hopefully it works out well.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 12th, 2013, 11:09 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Got sumitomo htr z iii 225/45/17 summer tyre.

How you find the Z3? Had enough time yet to get an early impression?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 14th, 2013, 11:01 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I hear yuh. Reviews all over the place so best you see for yourself. Hopefully it works out well.

I think it might actually be the most fuel efficient tyre I've ever purchased since I'm always so aware of all the bad reviews I tend to drive very moderate with them :D

Had some rain on the hiway this morning and they felt pretty good. Need to find an empty car park and do some wet weather testing ... just to see what could happen

Good price for the Sumitomos btw ... shoulda check Tyre Clinic first .... oh well next time

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 15th, 2013, 9:36 am

ek4ever, how did you like they t1r's? I think they are seriously overrated.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 15th, 2013, 9:47 am

dredman1 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Got sumitomo htr z iii 225/45/17 summer tyre.

How you find the Z3? Had enough time yet to get an early impression?

So far no issues. Haven't tested much in the wet. Better traction in the dry than my factory Bridgestone Potenza RE050. Haven't done much miles in them yet so will post back on road noise long term later. Not a bad summer tyre for the price.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 15th, 2013, 1:26 pm

ghostbusters wrote:ek4ever, how did you like they t1r's? I think they are seriously overrated.

The T1Rs worked well for me .... good feedback and steering response , however it would tramline. Wear was good to a point. Unfortunately an alignment issue caused uneven wearing and the rear tyres started cupping. Also when down to the wear bars the tyres are really noisy. I kept running them hard and they started to come apart .... but I suspect it was due to the alignment issue, although a friend of mine said his T1Rs also came apart. Had no issues in the wet though.

I think I got about 40,000kms out of them and probably would've gone longer if it wasn't for the excessive wear caused by my alignment problem. It's a good tyre but not as good as the Potenzas I had before. For the price in TT I would look at getting something better from tirerack.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 15th, 2013, 6:30 pm

hmm, i have a set on right now, but i found the feedback to be kinda muted, I find the tyre feels like it's gripping more than it actually is, but, my suspension isnt set up ideally right now, so it might be that. will post better feedback after i improve my suspension.

FD3S

Postby FD3S » May 17th, 2013, 7:14 pm

Picked up a set of Yokohama advans a046 yesterday @ ramrattans in vistabella. Couldn't believe I stumbled across those. My evo is back up to OEM standard :)

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 17th, 2013, 8:38 pm

FD3S wrote:Picked up a set of Yokohama advans a046 yesterday @ ramrattans in vistabella. Couldn't believe I stumbled across those. My evo is back up to OEM standard :)

They have 15"?? send me there number

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 17th, 2013, 9:01 pm

FD3S wrote:Picked up a set of Yokohama advans a046 yesterday @ ramrattans in vistabella. Couldn't believe I stumbled across those. My evo is back up to OEM standard :)

price?