tyres

NR8

Re: tyres

Postby NR8 » April 6th, 2013, 10:21 am

dredman1 wrote:Next closest thing I've had to the V12s are the Sumitomo HTR Z3. Excellent summer performance tyre for the price.

Who sells Sumitomo & what's the price?

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 6th, 2013, 2:51 pm

trini mk5 wrote:I too am looking to buy some new tires very soon. Currently have dunlop dz101, 205/50/15 bought those since decemeber 2010 for $500/each @ racetrack wheels and they have been good thus far. They stand up pretty good to pot holes and bad roads and they look good. However i have noticed it rides pretty hard (i thought it was my suspension) and they make some road noise. ANyone else had the hard ride issue with these tyres? Since in my car i use adjustable shocks and not all my bushings are rubber.
And what is a good tire to look at that is reasonably priced?

After the bazillion tires mentioned in here, even three posts above yours? You people amaze me yes.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 6th, 2013, 5:41 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:I too am looking to buy some new tires very soon. Currently have dunlop dz101, 205/50/15 bought those since decemeber 2010 for $500/each @ racetrack wheels and they have been good thus far. They stand up pretty good to pot holes and bad roads and they look good. However i have noticed it rides pretty hard (i thought it was my suspension) and they make some road noise. ANyone else had the hard ride issue with these tyres? Since in my car i use adjustable shocks and not all my bushings are rubber.
And what is a good tire to look at that is reasonably priced?

After the bazillion tires mentioned in here, even three posts above yours? You people amaze me yes.

Suggest something or GTFO

Postby X_Factor » April 6th, 2013, 9:51 pm

f.used ah tell allyuh
i got a pair of ContiSportContact 3 with atleast 75% left on the tires
400.00!! and the DOM--2011!!!!

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 6th, 2013, 9:55 pm

Where??

Postby X_Factor » April 6th, 2013, 10:19 pm

i got them in a tire shop in charlieville
but since i switched over to f.used, i dont wait till i need tires, anytime im in the area of a tire shop and have time i stop and check out what they have, if they do have something good i buy it

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 6th, 2013, 10:43 pm

X_Factor wrote:i got them in a tire shop in charlieville
but since i switched over to f.used, i dont wait till i need tires, anytime im in the area of a tire shop and have time i stop and check out what they have, if they do have something good i buy it

Blasphemy!!!

Postby Ted_v2 » April 6th, 2013, 10:45 pm

Toyo proxies 888 how good are these for daily?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » April 7th, 2013, 2:44 am

NR8 wrote:
dredman1 wrote:Next closest thing I've had to the V12s are the Sumitomo HTR Z3. Excellent summer performance tyre for the price.

Who sells Sumitomo & what's the price?
Tyre Clinic in Chaguanas. Paid $850 fir 215/45/17 in Dec 2012

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » April 7th, 2013, 2:48 am

sound boy 64 wrote:Toyo proxies 888 how good are these for daily?
The R888? That's a very soft compound tyre designed for dry grip first and foremost. They are expensive and won't last you very long. Also terrible for driving in rain.
Definitely not a good choice for daily driving.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 7th, 2013, 7:41 am

dredman1 wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:Toyo proxies 888 how good are these for daily?
The R888? That's a very soft compound tyre designed for dry grip first and foremost. They are expensive and won't last you very long. Also terrible for driving in rain.
Definitely not a good choice for daily driving.

Thanks.

d@v3

Postby d@v3 » April 7th, 2013, 12:42 pm

want to put some new tyres in my ad what will be a good tyre.....
the tyre man suggests 255 50 16 MAXXIS TYRE @ 650 each is that good ???

Postby Country_Bookie » April 11th, 2013, 4:28 pm

Anyone ever use Double King?
I see them selling ridiculously cheap; $330 for a 195-60-14.

Postby X_Factor » April 11th, 2013, 4:54 pm

^dont even bother with that!!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 15th, 2013, 6:45 pm

In the market for tyres again, 205/50R16. So far Dunlop and Sumitomo are available at $625 at Tyre Clinic. Kuhmo's are $795, but for 205/55R16.

PH365Star

Postby PH365Star » April 16th, 2013, 6:43 am

was reading up on the sailun.....apparently they are getting so GREAT reviews not only from motorists but also people into motorsports! they're not trying to be the best tyre on the market but the best budget tyre that money can buy

check it out!

http://www.autos.ca/auto-product-review ... ilun-z4as/

http://forums.evolutionm.net/toronto-la ... dback.html

http://forums.evolutionm.net/toronto-la ... eview.html

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Sailu ... -Z4-AS.htm

http://www.autos.ca/forum/index.php?topic=81140.0

i'm seeing RaceTrac carries this brand, does any where else carry Sailun?

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » April 16th, 2013, 10:50 am

so would you recommend the sailun to a everyday driver ... on an eco car like a corolla. ? ..I tink it may be a good gamble and im tinkin about tryin a pair.. heard someone say its on the same level as a roadstone or nexxen .. and well it runs pretty ok as an everyday tyre on a subaru legacy ..

PH365Star

Postby PH365Star » April 16th, 2013, 2:52 pm

brandon005 wrote:so would you recommend the sailun to a everyday driver ... on an eco car like a corolla. ? ..I tink it may be a good gamble and im tinkin about tryin a pair.. heard someone say its on the same level as a roadstone or nexxen .. and well it runs pretty ok as an everyday tyre on a subaru legacy ..

:shock: stay FAR from nexen! had some bad experiences with it. but yes i would recommend sailun Z4+AS for an everyday driver. i myself am going to buy a full set tomorrow or thursday for my almera!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 16th, 2013, 7:22 pm

205/50R16 Sailuns are $550 each.

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » April 16th, 2013, 7:25 pm

or ok .. cuz i heard that was just a bad model of the nexen .. hmm the profile for my car is 205/65/15 wa model of the sailun u tink might work well

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 17th, 2013, 11:22 pm

PH365Star wrote:
brandon005 wrote:so would you recommend the sailun to a everyday driver ... on an eco car like a corolla. ? ..I tink it may be a good gamble and im tinkin about tryin a pair.. heard someone say its on the same level as a roadstone or nexxen .. and well it runs pretty ok as an everyday tyre on a subaru legacy ..

:shock: stay FAR from nexen! had some bad experiences with it. but yes i would recommend sailun Z4+AS for an everyday driver. i myself am going to buy a full set tomorrow or thursday for my almera!

What were your bad experiences with nexen? And which series?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 18th, 2013, 8:03 am

Bought the Sumitumos...will see how it goes.

PH365Star

Postby PH365Star » April 18th, 2013, 8:26 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
PH365Star wrote:

What were your bad experiences with nexen? And which series?

N3000 215/35R18...cracks on the outside wall and lumps on the inside wall and NO, i never run my tyres under inflated. the walls on the two front eventually collasped and i changed all four to a new set and never looked back!

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » April 18th, 2013, 9:43 am

heard from jack's tyres that nexen bought over roadstone brand .. they even have similar labelling.. the nexen has a CP 641 if im not mistaken (not the one with the V like thread pattern ).. for $550 .. not sure how well this budget tyre will hold up against the similar sailun which is the same price ..

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 18th, 2013, 11:26 am

Presha!, just now we go see Roadstone coming on new vehicles from the factory also...

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » April 18th, 2013, 3:52 pm

lmfao

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 18th, 2013, 5:20 pm

Today I saw a great looking white DC5 Integra Type R with Triangle tyres on the front and Westlake on the back... Cringe

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » April 19th, 2013, 7:01 pm

PH365Star wrote:

Ive had sailuns on my 2010 corolla for almsot 2 years now not bad for a budget tyre but not the grippiest especially in the wet. last long , fairly even wear got them by racetrac wheels to replace my stock tyres. I wouldn't have a problem recommending them but be careful in the wet especially when they're new. Im running 205/60/15 looking to go goodyear mystique or dunlops next or another decent budget brand...

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » April 20th, 2013, 5:38 pm

installed a pair of Sailun touring tyres .. 205/65/15 ... at first I was concerned that the walls felt very soft.. but the guy there told me not to worry thats how they are .. took his word for it and the tyre ran pretty well from arouca to central. . . too early to tell whether the front holds out better than the nexen or roadstone..

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » April 20th, 2013, 8:26 pm

I see quickservice hsa a special on gt radial tyres ...any reviews?