tyres

ek4ever

Re: tyres

Postby ek4ever » September 29th, 2012, 8:45 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Quick Service always has exorbitant prices. Too much for me.

Yeah ... dem smoking something in there with those ridiculous prices. Good place to go if you want to get robbed

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 30th, 2012, 2:02 am

ek4ever wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:Quick Service always has exorbitant prices. Too much for me.

Yeah ... dem smoking something in there with those ridiculous prices. Good place to go if you want to get robbed

i went in a couple years back to price out a set of tires for a pickup; when they start of telling me about some highway tire starting at $1800, i nearly tell them the least they could do is buy me a drink before they fcuk me yes :lol:

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 1st, 2012, 3:12 pm

If I switch from 195/65/14 to 195/60/14,

according to this site http://www.cargister.com/calculator-tire there will be a decrease in diameter of 19.5mm.... this means there would be an overall drop of 9.75mm in the car's height.
Honestly, I would hate for my car to be dropped lower than it is. So is this 9.75mm drop as significant as I am making it out to be? :oops:

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 4th, 2012, 8:47 am

can someone direct me to a good alignment shop? getting the tyres at tyre clinic 2000 but im not sure if to do alignment there (if they offer that service).

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 4th, 2012, 10:20 am

they offer alignment i'm sure but its all a matter of how much you willing to spend..
You can't go wrong with a Mileage Mack alignment is what I have found..

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 4th, 2012, 1:11 pm

Minister Howai during 2013 Budget Presentation wrote:In respect of Import Duty on All Tyres
I propose to provide consistency of treatment in the duty regime for new and used tyres with an application of a 30.0 per cent import duty, bearing in mind that new tyres attract an import duty of 30.0 per cent and used tyres are imported duty free. In keeping with the rules under the CARICOM Treaty, the Ministry of Trade
and Industry will submit this proposal to COTED for approval prior to its implementation.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 4th, 2012, 1:57 pm

CD4Accord wrote:they offer alignment i'm sure but its all a matter of how much you willing to spend..
You can't go wrong with a Mileage Mack alignment is what I have found..

thanks man

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 5th, 2012, 2:49 pm

the location on this map of Tyre Clinic 2000, is it accurate? trying to avoid getting lost and stuck in traffic..

http://www.thebiznizdir.com/Trinidad_an ... guanas.php

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 5th, 2012, 9:05 pm

searchingone wrote:the location on this map of Tyre Clinic 2000, is it accurate? trying to avoid getting lost and stuck in traffic..

I dont think this is correct.......The tyre clinic I know is in Montrose chaguanas not Main road Chaguanas.....

where are u coming from north or south....Ill direct u to Montrose Branch.....

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 5th, 2012, 11:48 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
searchingone wrote:the location on this map of Tyre Clinic 2000, is it accurate? trying to avoid getting lost and stuck in traffic..

I dont think this is correct.......The tyre clinic I know is in Montrose chaguanas not Main road Chaguanas.....

where are u coming from north or south....Ill direct u to Montrose Branch.....

from north....yes i need to get to montrose branch

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 6th, 2012, 2:15 am

easiest way to not get lost......

come off the highway into chaguanas follow the traffic and head towards montrose traffic lights.....
make sure and keep in the left lane.At the traffic lights turn left and now you will be heading into montrose.........

Keep driving ....pass another set of traffic lights by subway ........keep on going......Tyre clinic is on your left along montrose road........its about 2 minutes drive from this traffic light....If u reach up to KFC montrose junction then you have passed it..........

so its before kfc...just drive slowly and keep yur eye out on yur left ....u will find it......

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 6th, 2012, 6:09 am

thanks buddy! :D

sounds easy enough

SYKO

Postby SYKO » October 7th, 2012, 9:31 pm

Hey, looking for some help with some tyres i recently bought, they are dunlop direzza 15's, they have a "rim protector". The problem is that i have steelies so i use hubcaps & when i'm driving slow and slowly turning they rub on each other causing a god awful noise, sounds like when the velocity joints are bad, i know its the tyre/hubhaps cuz when i take off the hubs there's absolutly no noise.
i wanted to shave around the edges of the hubcaps to make them a little smaller or shave off the Rim Protector. I dont wanna change tyres bcuz these tyres run great otherwise.
ANY HELP???

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 7th, 2012, 9:58 pm

i dont like the idea of shaving off the rim protector of the tyres......u can shave off yur hubcaps or just dont use the hubcaps......no problem with that...better yet make a small investment and purchase some 15" rims.....u can get them at a good price right here on tuner.....

btw i am running those same tyres....bought them last year december.....stll looks like the day i bought them

how much did u pay for yours?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 8th, 2012, 9:25 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:easiest way to not get lost......

come off the highway into chaguanas follow the traffic and head towards montrose traffic lights.....
make sure and keep in the left lane.At the traffic lights turn left and now you will be heading into montrose.........

Keep driving ....pass another set of traffic lights by subway ........keep on going......Tyre clinic is on your left along montrose road........its about 2 minutes drive from this traffic light....If u reach up to KFC montrose junction then you have passed it..........

so its before kfc...just drive slowly and keep yur eye out on yur left ....u will find it......

it was on the right eh padna....but thanks your directions helped.

anyways...

I changed the tyres finally. Bought the Dunlop SP Sport 601: 205/60/14. They installed and did speed balancing and what not. After which I went right next door by Merchant tyre to check my alignment. The guy said it was good so don't interfere with it.... So while driving home i noticed a pull to the left... could this be that it was not properly balanced, or is a normal scenario with new tyres until it get "break-in"? Should I go for another speed balance somewhere else? I dunno as it's my first tyre change.....please advise

Postby BrotherHood » October 8th, 2012, 10:25 am

How much for them Dunlop's

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » October 8th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Need 205 55 16

Tyre Clinic only got DZ101s ($625) and sumitomo HTR 55z ($650)

Also got a brand called Durun $530/piece.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 8th, 2012, 2:56 pm

BrotherHood wrote:How much for them Dunlop's

$515

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 8th, 2012, 6:37 pm

searchingone wrote:

anyways...

I changed the tyres finally. Bought the Dunlop SP Sport 601: 205/60/14. They installed and did speed balancing and what not. After which I went right next door by Merchant tyre to check my alignment. The guy said it was good so don't interfere with it.... So while driving home i noticed a pull to the left... could this be that it was not properly balanced, or is a normal scenario with new tyres until it get "break-in"? Should I go for another speed balance somewhere else? I dunno as it's my first tyre change.....please advise

how much you paid for those bro..I need some exactly like those.......
Pulling to the left is not a normal tyre break in.......IMHO......

I think its maybe the speed balancing or the alignment thats off.............Is the steering straight when u drive straight?...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 8th, 2012, 6:39 pm

searchingone wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:How much for them Dunlop's

$515

not bad at all.....Thats a "long time " price.... :D

SYKO

Postby SYKO » October 8th, 2012, 9:36 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:i dont like the idea of shaving off the rim protector of the tyres......u can shave off yur hubcaps or just dont use the hubcaps......no problem with that...better yet make a small investment and purchase some 15" rims.....u can get them at a good price right here on tuner.....

btw i am running those same tyres....bought them last year december.....stll looks like the day i bought them

I'll see how i can do sum wit the hubs. i paid $2000 for my set, had them for about a month. they really are worth the $$ and yea still lookin brand new

how much did u pay for yours?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 8th, 2012, 11:33 pm

searchingone wrote:
So while driving home i noticed a pull to the left... could this be that it was not properly balanced, or is a normal scenario with new tyres until it get "break-in"? Should I go for another speed balance somewhere else? I dunno as it's my first tyre change.....please advise

the red and yellow dots on the tyres indicate if the tyre should be placed on the right or left of the car if its directional. if its not directional it tells which side of the tyre should face outward from the car. Tyre shop proprieters dont know this for the most part and in my experience, Tyre clinic's speed balancing is rubbish, the workers are very lazy. get your car aligned and speed balanced somewhere else.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 9th, 2012, 9:03 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
searchingone wrote:

anyways...

how much you paid for those bro..I need some exactly like those.......
Pulling to the left is not a normal tyre break in.......IMHO......

I think its maybe the speed balancing or the alignment thats off.............Is the steering straight when u drive straight?...

yes, it's straight... I'll do a speed balance this week and see if that helps.

ghostbusters wrote:
searchingone wrote:
So while driving home i noticed a pull to the left... could this be that it was not properly balanced, or is a normal scenario with new tyres until it get "break-in"? Should I go for another speed balance somewhere else? I dunno as it's my first tyre change.....please advise

the red and yellow dots on the tyres indicate if the tyre should be placed on the right or left of the car if its directional. if its not directional it tells which side of the tyre should face outward from the car. Tyre shop proprieters dont know this for the most part and in my experience, Tyre clinic's speed balancing is rubbish, the workers are very lazy. get your car aligned and speed balanced somewhere else.

uhh what red and yellow dots? I didn't notice those..
and no the tyre's aren't directional.

hmmm I'll try somewhere else for balancing..

all this drama after getting new tyres.. :(

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 9th, 2012, 6:08 pm

tyres aren't perfectly balanced out of the factory, the put a red an yellow dot on the tyres to indicate how the tyre should be fitted on the car.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » October 10th, 2012, 8:36 am

Dave wrote:i like discounttiredirect, treaddepot, onlinetires and off course tirerack

dealt with all except online
fav is discount

does it really pay off better to import tyres for yourself?

I mean with all the shipping costs (per weight) and duty etc..

Postby Dave » October 10th, 2012, 8:39 am

^^in some cases yes when you can't get what you want locally
I paid $1200ea for my last set but there is nothing locally that would come close to what this can do

Keptis

Postby Keptis » October 10th, 2012, 11:38 am

hi,

Falken ZE712 215/50/17 coming soon to Mramrattan 850 for one. tyres made in Thailand. Learned folks here, what is your opinion of this brand and that the fact it made in Thailand.

What level would you put this brand tyres based on other brand on Trinidad's market presently?

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » October 10th, 2012, 1:14 pm

I'm a fan of BF Goodrich.... I hear that the only place to get it is at Quick Service.

Anybody knows what prices they go for?

......looking for 205 / 60 / 15 - White Writing - Wet Road Grip.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 10th, 2012, 4:30 pm

They're not worth it at quick Serv. Only slightly cheaper than the Michelin. In the sizes I've used, they've been about 200-300 cheaper per tire than the Michelin and having used the BF as well, they're not as good for road use.

Keptis

Postby Keptis » October 11th, 2012, 6:29 am

Can I have some feedback on Maxxis Z4S tyres and how it is performing for you tuners and about its durability? Looking for 16 inch 205/55/16 or 205/50/16 tyres for corolla wagon.

Thks