Very Good Info ..... :fist:

QG

Postby QG » March 6th, 2008, 10:31 pm

Yup...

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » March 7th, 2008, 7:28 am

if you put a catch can on the line to the manifold, how would this help with performance.
what are the advantages of a catch can for this scenario?

Postby Dave » March 7th, 2008, 8:15 am

it keeps the intake path clean from oil residue which would dirty the intake system

Postby Dave » March 10th, 2008, 8:28 am

did mine weekend gone dey, will post the pics a lil later on
just some info, original line was slightly wet with oil
my new lines after a constant excessive speed run(in excess of 7.5k rpm and over 150mph), new lines were still clean

Postby Dave » March 10th, 2008, 8:59 am

btw, the weapon r catch can no longer for sale, lol

ignore the pricesmart high performance mod eh :wink:

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » March 10th, 2008, 12:26 pm

dread i had a b14 that started idling rough and black smoke was rising from the exhaust whilst idling, we took down the TB and cleaned it but still got the same problem. Apparently the TB sensor in B14s go regular so it may not always be that the TB wants cleaning.

QG

Postby QG » March 11th, 2008, 8:42 pm

Black smoke...change yuh engine seals.

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » March 12th, 2008, 8:41 am

dude i thought so too. but when we replaced de throttle body the smoke stop.

Postby Dave » April 21st, 2008, 8:39 am

bump from dead
just an update, after a mth of having this way and some pertinent reading, I have collected NOT A DROP of oil from the valvecover vent
I however connected to the PCV and as little as crusing around I am getting some blowby which otherwise would have entered the intake
Next oil change would clean that line that would have passed the oil to the intake since from now on it would remian clean

pics later....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2008, 11:10 am

My advice on the catchcan setup, I am planning on using two catchcan for my setup, one by the intake to the turbo and the crankcase netilator and for the purpose of this discussion one to the back of the intake manifold. I would always suggest to get a catchcan that can be disassembled, reason being that most all catchcans comes without any baffling in it so that the oil will still slush around in the can and can also casue soem traces to enter the intake mani. Using something like steel wool and a metal baffling to cover it allowing the inlet tube to be much lower than the exit tube so that the exit does not pull any of the oil.

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » April 21st, 2008, 2:25 pm

About the high idle situation i read earlier in the post..I experienced this saturday night.I used amsoil power foam to clean out the intake and throttle..Followed the directions and really felt the dirrerence BUT now my car is idling unusually high.Where do i find this idle screw tuh readjust the idle..It's a 4G15 16valve engine.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2008, 2:31 pm

I am not sure but on an SR it is not as simple as turning down the idle screw. when next you start the car it will idle just like before. It is customary that the idle change after a throttle clean though.

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » April 21st, 2008, 2:43 pm

well boy i was hoping for that to be the case..BUT again,i make a run down south and back saturday night..when i reach back home the idle was still high..HIGH enough to coast in 2nd gear without cutting off...I got worried that i funk up some sensor..hehe..but it is idling smoothe..just high..11-1200rpm high

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2008, 3:04 pm

No what I am saying it is normal that after a throttle clean the idle change. You will need to consult your FSM to see how to adjust the idle.