tyres

nemesis

Re: tyres

Postby nemesis » June 22nd, 2012, 2:33 pm

Isn't 2yrs the max recommended storage time for tires?
Where allyuh getting this 4yrs ting from?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 23rd, 2012, 7:24 am

pilak wrote:k i've used both the htr z3 and the k110 v12 evo on a legacy. these are my thoughts:

-> z3's are assymetrical inside-outside tyres. they do not use a v-shape tread. so doing a X-ways rotation is very easy, and does not involve removing the tyre from the wheel, which must be done with v-tread tres which must rotate in one direction only. this is a big factor for me, and saves alot of cost when doing rotations every 7000 km.

and it cheaper to rotate.

Wanna know how I know your wrong?

Because directional tyres like the Hankook Evo 12 are rotated like this for all types of cars ie FWD/AWD/RWD

BTW this

=Heaven

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 24th, 2012, 7:55 am

^^cost and location? i need 4 in 16's

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » June 24th, 2012, 11:45 am

i want to get 2 of those V12's in 195/50/16

Postby nervewrecker » June 24th, 2012, 4:09 pm

dumb question: whats the recommended tyre pressure for 205/55/15?

gfbl

Postby gfbl » June 28th, 2012, 12:29 pm

as of this week, laughlin had kumho's 205-65-15 in stock at $620 per which is excellent

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 28th, 2012, 12:34 pm

gfbl wrote:as of this week, laughlin had kumho's 205-65-15 in stock at $620 per which is excellent

which kumhos?a while ago, on sale i got 205/50/16 ecsta spt for 500 a piece...cant remember if it was 50 or 55...

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » July 2nd, 2012, 10:09 pm

anybody here running kumho ecsta AST KU25's?

Postby Dave » July 3rd, 2012, 8:13 am

I read what you guys are paying for and quite honestly, there is such a vast market on the outside which can be had for mere dollars more than what you guys are paying and the performance is chalk and cheese to what you are accustomed too.

Yes DSM, would post pics soon and review.
Lets just say, I put them out off control and as a reviewer commented and they regained control when in a slide.
When launched, they chirp and go.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 3rd, 2012, 8:47 am

^^Well said Dave.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » July 3rd, 2012, 1:36 pm

ghostbusters wrote:bought some maxxis z4s in 205 55 16 on friday, cost 600 a piece installed at balliram's tyre shop in debe. I'm impressed with these so far, I've used the ma-z1 before and liked their accelerating and braking characteristics but not their lateral traction. The z4s is supposed to be somewhat milder than the ma-z1 with a longer lasting compound, though still rated as AA traction.

What is impressive about this tyre is the steering effort seems to have decreased noticeably, turning the steering is so much easier than on the old dunlop sport max's. I suppose the centre rib design might have something to do with it. Traction seems good too, nothing spectacular, maybe as good as or slightly better than the oem bridgestone turanzas. Will post impressions as I do more driving on these..

Thanks for the review please post some updates when you can.
I was thinking of using this brand to replace some 4yr old bridgestones.
See you got them cheaper I got a quote of 700 a piece for the Z4S Victra in the same size.

Also Quick Service got sale on GT Radial are they good?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 3rd, 2012, 3:23 pm

anyone know where i can get sum 226 45 16 in anything beside dunlops? thanks...new tyres only. thanks

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 4th, 2012, 2:33 pm

ghostbusters wrote:
gfbl wrote:as of this week, laughlin had kumho's 205-65-15 in stock at $620 per which is excellent

which kumhos?a while ago, on sale i got 205/50/16 ecsta spt for 500 a piece...cant remember if it was 50 or 55...

i forgot to ask, not sure if its the ecstas, this was L & DG on Dundonald Street

Postby X_Factor » July 4th, 2012, 4:25 pm

fellas, i hadda get ah pair of 195/60/14 for mih mums car
before i start the searching n stuff in the tyre shops
anyone saw these recently?
she doh past 100k's so it doesnt have to be any special tire...just a respectable brand

Postby Dave » July 5th, 2012, 8:00 am

i am loving the new hankook's

grip nice and are quiet

Postby cinco » July 5th, 2012, 8:30 am

X_Factor wrote:fellas, i hadda get ah pair of 195/60/14 for mih mums car
before i start the searching n stuff in the tyre shops
anyone saw these recently?
she doh past 100k's so it doesnt have to be any special tire...just a respectable brand

i runnin sumitomo htrs on moms car about 2 years now paid ~375 each in charlieville on the highway there wheels plus i think was the name
i abhor dunlop low end tyres

Postby X_Factor » July 5th, 2012, 10:22 pm

^not bad at all.....will call them tmr.....
im getting the kumho KR21 and a goodyear fuel assurance for the 550 range and thought that was a bit on the high side for a basic 14" tire

syntax

Postby syntax » July 6th, 2012, 3:44 pm

where you getting the goodyear bro

syntax

Postby syntax » July 6th, 2012, 3:47 pm

ok dont bother the reviews on tirerack dont look good at all

Postby X_Factor » July 6th, 2012, 5:56 pm

^ACL in arima

zorced

Postby zorced » July 6th, 2012, 7:47 pm

anyone got contact info for the tyre shop just past Center Of Excellence?
They stock maxxis and I'm pricing around for another pair of victras. thx

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 8th, 2012, 1:07 pm

Dave wrote:i am loving the new hankook's

grip nice and are quiet
V12 Evos?

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » July 9th, 2012, 10:10 am

Nasrallah wrote:Quick Service got sale on GT Radial are they good?

:(

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » July 12th, 2012, 10:10 pm

dunlop low end dz101 good price but are shat when its damp.. could be a hazard imo

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » July 20th, 2012, 9:32 am

Yup, stated that a few pages down. imo waste of time i wont buy them again. not to mention loss of grip when the life reaches about 80%

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » July 22nd, 2012, 11:42 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
KURMAman wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:
KURMAman wrote:well, all dem tyres in ACL iz 2008 and ting btw...so even big companies selling older tyres...things rough for consumers oui...guess we hadda buy 2012 nexxens :(

Yuhno, I actually have nexen 235/60r16 (not sure of series) on my van and I really have no complaints about them for the past 3months. And they have been in situations off road, gravel roads etc and they still perform flawless on the road in terms of noise and in the wet.

Im just saying, nexxen aint all that bad...

i had nexxens before..205/60/15...really never had a problem with them except the exceptionally loud ride noise...rather strong tyres as well...no doubt.

I may miss the loud noise due to the fact that my van has 2layers of sound deadener and other measures to cut down cabin noise... :lol:

bangbus much?

Postby Country_Bookie » July 30th, 2012, 4:33 pm

X_Factor wrote:^not bad at all.....will call them tmr.....
im getting the kumho KR21 and a goodyear fuel assurance for the 550 range and thought that was a bit on the high side for a basic 14" tire

Did u get the Sumitomo HTRS in Wheels Plus? Ah guessing the price is much higher than $375 now right?
Called around but was getting them like abt $500 or so.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 30th, 2012, 5:10 pm

Hi everyone...

I called Ramrattan today and they say they have a Firestone Firehawk 900... I have never seen the tyre on the market before and it seems to be latin america only.. That may or may not be a bad thing, because my Firestone Firehawk ATX were made in Venezuela and not sold in the US but I have nothing but rave reviews about it..

It is probably going to be those Firestone's at $550 each (195/65/16) or some maxxis victra z4s which is roughly the same price..

Postby X_Factor » July 30th, 2012, 5:31 pm

^nice find!
will call tmr to find out if they have them in 14"

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 3rd, 2012, 10:57 pm

Who has nexen N1000 in 235 45 R17 in Trini?