tyres

CD4Accord

Re: tyres

Postby CD4Accord » May 29th, 2012, 3:01 am

I can't really say mileage mack prices offhand as every tyre is different, but a phone call to them will tell you pricing..
www.tntyp.com

642-0673 = Automotive Components Limited.. aka ACL ... my mistake on the name

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » May 29th, 2012, 5:09 am

Dave wrote:a lil later on I would show u guys a real tyre.....

Yuh sticking.

Like I have to get you a camera to take that picture orrrrrr?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 29th, 2012, 11:39 am

geometron wrote:so here's the deal...nowhere reputable in south has 205/40/r17 tyres... WTF maan??? fcuking trinidad is d worst fleckin pile of dump to live innn. M Mack, Tyre Center, L+De Gannes, M Ramrattan, Masterserv, Federal...NILLL! WTFFFF.

oh and to the jackarse of a lady wid the clown makeup @ Tyre Center, nex time yuh laughin @ me when i called and ask what performance tires you all have, is one jump kick in yuh muddacnut sagging bress.

so who cud say which part of tdad has those Hankook Ventus or Eagle F1 in 205/40/17???

Daiz a kinda off attitude. You can't blame someone with a business for not stocking a very odd size or a range of tires that just doesn't sell. Well, I'll give you the tyre center one cause they shouldn't laugh at customers. But otherwise daiz a real strange tire size. Doh get vex wid the ppl. Make ah order and chill. It's one of the stresses of a smaller country. How many people in trini you think running that size of tire AND asking for performance tires? My advice would be to change the size yuh using to something more common and start over your search or make a special order. Keep in mind if you're sticking to the size specifications the options are low. Even at tirerack they have maybe 1 or 2 tires that size that will be reasonably good performance.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 29th, 2012, 2:48 pm

nemesis wrote:
geometron wrote:so here's the deal...nowhere reputable in south has 205/40/r17 tyres... WTF maan??? fcuking trinidad is d worst fleckin pile of dump to live innn. M Mack, Tyre Center, L+De Gannes, M Ramrattan, Masterserv, Federal...NILLL! WTFFFF.

oh and to the jackarse of a lady wid the clown makeup @ Tyre Center, nex time yuh laughin @ me when i called and ask what performance tires you all have, is one jump kick in yuh muddacnut sagging bress.

so who cud say which part of tdad has those Hankook Ventus or Eagle F1 in 205/40/17???

Daiz a kinda off attitude. You can't blame someone with a business for not stocking a very odd size or a range of tires that just doesn't sell. Well, I'll give you the tyre center one cause they shouldn't laugh at customers. But otherwise daiz a real strange tire size. Doh get vex wid the ppl. Make ah order and chill. It's one of the stresses of a smaller country. How many people in trini you think running that size of tire AND asking for performance tires? My advice would be to change the size yuh using to something more common and start over your search or make a special order. Keep in mind if you're sticking to the size specifications the options are low. Even at tirerack they have maybe 1 or 2 tires that size that will be reasonably good performance.

Actually Tirerack stock a sh1tload of tires in that size ... don't compare Trini tyre dealers with Tirerack. I had the same problems when my Potenzas wore out .... couldn't get 205/40/17 in anything but some sh1tty Chinese brands. Solution? ..... change to 215/45/17

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » May 29th, 2012, 5:02 pm

got the toyo proxes 4 today @ wheel wizard. as for 205/40/17...its very common brahhh...just ask and 17" rim user :D . by yr end tho, looking for something 225/40/17 but hadda get a nice looking rim 1st...

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 30th, 2012, 9:16 am

That's odd. My search didn't show many reasonable tires that size.
Either way, doh vex if yuh can't find it. Might just have to run something else for the while. Lewwe know how those Proxes 4 work.

llohan533

Postby llohan533 » June 9th, 2012, 9:46 am

A tire (in American English and Canadian English) or tyre (in some Commonwealth Nations such as UK, and Australia) is a ring-shaped covering that fits around a wheel rim to protect it and enable better vehicle performance by providing a flexible cushion that absorbs shock while keeping the wheel in close contact with the ground. The word itself may be derived from the word "tie," which refers to the outer steel ring part of a wooden cart wheel that ties the wood segments together (see Etymology below).

The fundamental materials of modern tires are synthetic rubber, natural rubber, fabric and wire, along with other compound chemicals. They consist of a tread and a body. The tread provides traction while the body ensures support. Before rubber was invented, the first versions of tires were simply bands of metal that fitted around wooden wheels to prevent wear and tear. Today, the vast majority of tires are pneumatic inflatable structures, comprising a doughnut-shaped body of cords and wires encased in rubber and generally filled with compressed air to form an inflatable cushion. Pneumatic tires are used on many types of vehicles, such as cars, bicycles, motorcycles, trucks, earthmovers, and aircraft.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » June 9th, 2012, 11:08 am

llohan533 wrote:A tire (in American English and Canadian English) or tyre (in some Commonwealth Nations such as UK, and Australia) is a ring-shaped covering that fits around a wheel rim to protect it and enable better vehicle performance by providing a flexible cushion that absorbs shock while keeping the wheel in close contact with the ground. The word itself may be derived from the word "tie," which refers to the outer steel ring part of a wooden cart wheel that ties the wood segments together (see Etymology below).

The fundamental materials of modern tires are synthetic rubber, natural rubber, fabric and wire, along with other compound chemicals. They consist of a tread and a body. The tread provides traction while the body ensures support. Before rubber was invented, the first versions of tires were simply bands of metal that fitted around wooden wheels to prevent wear and tear. Today, the vast majority of tires are pneumatic inflatable structures, comprising a doughnut-shaped body of cords and wires encased in rubber and generally filled with compressed air to form an inflatable cushion. Pneumatic tires are used on many types of vehicles, such as cars, bicycles, motorcycles, trucks, earthmovers, and aircraft.

so u join today to quote sum we already knw?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 9th, 2012, 11:22 am

So, a few months ago, i bought 2 GoodYears 195/60/15 in Automotive Components for bout $650 or so each... i only had enough cash for 2 tyres then...so i say when i have de extra, i'll buy the other 2...

so this month i had the extra cash and called AutoComp..none...MasterServ...none...then i started calling other popular shops....none... boi i was vex...
So, i was driving thru Aranquez Main road, and stopped at a place with a goodyear sign...still none...but then i saw 2 BridgeStones...195/60/15... $700 each...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 9th, 2012, 7:20 pm

G III's are supposed to have very good grip but are not renowned for their quietness or treadwear..
Let us know the impressions..

PS.. Check the manufacture date on those tyres cause as far as I know, all GIII's are very old stock..

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 9th, 2012, 8:07 pm

^^ thnx for the heads up man. But when i had bought my lancer new, it had bridgestones potenzas on it. Always loved those tyres..and the day i had changed my rims, i regreted changing the tyres.
I kno the reviews..but the same way alot of ppl had bad experiences with Dunlop d101s..when i used those, i really got my value for money..
..so i really hope bridgestone dont let me down.

llohan533

Postby llohan533 » June 9th, 2012, 11:57 pm

Buying new tyres in Australia has never been easier. At Beaurepaires we offer our full catalogue of tyres online so you can choose the right tyre before you buy. Simply select your vehicle type to view the range of new tyres for sale. Then, once you're ready to purchase use our online store locator to find the Beaurepaires retailer nearest you.

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 10th, 2012, 12:00 am

NR8 wrote:fellas, to what pressure should a T115/70D14 space saver spare be inflated? It's currently at 20 pounds.

Anyone knows :?:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 10th, 2012, 2:36 am

Kurma:
Do you know how to read the date stamp on the sidewall of the tyre?
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/ ... ?techid=11

Personally I have a rule about never buying tyres more than 4 years old, no matter how good they are or how well they are priced...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 16th, 2012, 3:30 pm

bloody hell....paid $900 each for Sumitomo HTR A/S P01 tyres a couple weeks aback....225/60/16

last year I paid $800 for the same tyre..goddamn.

Postby X_Factor » June 16th, 2012, 5:04 pm

so ACL had their sale today, i heard about it around lunch time but could pass or post here cause i now reach home

anyone got some goodies?

Postby nervewrecker » June 16th, 2012, 10:51 pm

So I just run through this thread and realize the roadstone's I got are crap. I got them with the rims and kinda had no choice at that point.
I can manage for the time being but how long should I keep those mofos? I read in here cracked side walls are common.
What is a good price for a upgrade from those? 205 - 55 - 15

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 17th, 2012, 11:09 pm

bought some maxxis z4s in 205 55 16 on friday, cost 600 a piece installed at balliram's tyre shop in debe. I'm impressed with these so far, I've used the ma-z1 before and liked their accelerating and braking characteristics but not their lateral traction. The z4s is supposed to be somewhat milder than the ma-z1 with a longer lasting compound, though still rated as AA traction.

What is impressive about this tyre is the steering effort seems to have decreased noticeably, turning the steering is so much easier than on the old dunlop sport max's. I suppose the centre rib design might have something to do with it. Traction seems good too, nothing spectacular, maybe as good as or slightly better than the oem bridgestone turanzas. Will post impressions as I do more driving on these..

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 18th, 2012, 11:06 am

CD4Accord wrote:Kurma:
Do you know how to read the date stamp on the sidewall of the tyre?
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/ ... ?techid=11

Personally I have a rule about never buying tyres more than 4 years old, no matter how good they are or how well they are priced...

ummm...this? I apologize for my rim scratches.. :oops:

then it was made in 2009?..

Btw, ACL would have "brand new" tyres made in 2008.. :S

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 18th, 2012, 6:03 pm

May 2009.. Passable..

Anything 2008 or older I would not buy brand new.. This was the case when I was on my half year long quest for 205/65/16 and finally found some Pirelli P4's at Jack's in couva.. Turns out they were already 4 years old..
No thanks

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 18th, 2012, 10:04 pm

well, all dem tyres in ACL iz 2008 and ting btw...so even big companies selling older tyres...things rough for consumers oui...guess we hadda buy 2012 nexxens :(

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » June 18th, 2012, 11:41 pm

I looking for some good tyres in any of these sizes. help me out nah fellas. I see some good info in here. 205/55/15, 195/55/15, 205/60/15, 195/60/15.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 19th, 2012, 11:48 am

KURMAman wrote:well, all dem tyres in ACL iz 2008 and ting btw...so even big companies selling older tyres...things rough for consumers oui...guess we hadda buy 2012 nexxens :(

Yuhno, I actually have nexen 235/60r16 (not sure of series) on my van and I really have no complaints about them for the past 3months. And they have been in situations off road, gravel roads etc and they still perform flawless on the road in terms of noise and in the wet.

Im just saying, nexxen aint all that bad...

Postby Dave » June 20th, 2012, 8:53 am

when i bought star specs yrs ago, they were 4wks when i got them

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 20th, 2012, 1:17 pm

Hahahaaa, you're able to get foreign used tyres newer than the "new" tyres being sold locally?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 20th, 2012, 3:53 pm

CD4Accord wrote:May 2009.. Passable..

Anything 2008 or older I would not buy brand new.. This was the case when I was on my half year long quest for 205/65/16 and finally found some Pirelli P4's at Jack's in couva.. Turns out they were already 4 years old..
No thanks

Incorrect .... the first 2 numbers refer to the week of manufacture ... 0509 means the tyre was manufactured in the 5th week of 2009.

http://www.tuninglinx.com/html/car-tire-date-code.html

My tyre is stamped 4209 btw ... 42nd week of 2009

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 21st, 2012, 1:03 am

Thanks ek4ever.. I forgot about that one..
Even so, Feb 2009 would be within the accepted 4 year window for new tyres.. In a sense I guess it also matters how they store the rubber at the shop..

Overall, I usually try to buy from places that move stock so you tend to get it nice and fresh

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 21st, 2012, 9:05 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
KURMAman wrote:well, all dem tyres in ACL iz 2008 and ting btw...so even big companies selling older tyres...things rough for consumers oui...guess we hadda buy 2012 nexxens :(

Yuhno, I actually have nexen 235/60r16 (not sure of series) on my van and I really have no complaints about them for the past 3months. And they have been in situations off road, gravel roads etc and they still perform flawless on the road in terms of noise and in the wet.

i had nexxens before..205/60/15...really never had a problem with them except the exceptionally loud ride noise...rather strong tyres as well...no doubt.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » June 21st, 2012, 4:15 pm

Conrad wrote:Hahahaaa, you're able to get foreign used tyres newer than the "new" tyres being sold locally?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: how foreign used tyres reach into this?

Dave wasn't putting foreign used tyres on the B14, much less for the Evo.

IIRC, he bought them new from either discount tire or tirerack and imported the StarSpecs himself. Tirerack has a high turnover on StarSpecs....so they say.

Still waiting for him to post up a review of the RS3's he's on now :shock:

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 22nd, 2012, 1:49 am

KURMAman wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

i had nexxens before..205/60/15...really never had a problem with them except the exceptionally loud ride noise...rather strong tyres as well...no doubt.

I may miss the loud noise due to the fact that my van has 2layers of sound deadener and other measures to cut down cabin noise... :lol: