4A-GE swap in L-touring

zedcyborg

4A-GE swap in L-touring

Postby zedcyborg » August 23rd, 2005, 2:31 pm

gonna put in a 4A-GE in an L-touring...wanna know if the old axles will work...don't think they will, so just wanna make sure...and what else will i need from the BZ...gonna swap the rotors for front and back...just not sure what else i should get...any advice would be appreciated...

pbf1940

Postby pbf1940 » August 23rd, 2005, 8:05 pm

its will become your ultimate driving experience.
unless you have driven a 3s or some 1G-GTE from a supra there is no other TOYOTA engine that is as much fun

Raziel

Postby Raziel » August 23rd, 2005, 11:37 pm

Somebody here must have done the swap before and can advise of details, it always is safer if you have the front cut though .... just in case :D

p.s easy swap ...

ray2cool

4age

Postby ray2cool » August 24th, 2005, 6:50 am

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » September 2nd, 2005, 12:46 pm

Yes,the old axles will work, I used stock AE80 axles on a 4age!!, All 'A' series gearboxes will work with the 4age , if it's the 4agze, you may have a problem!!

ray2cool

Postby ray2cool » September 3rd, 2005, 6:03 am

them stock axles could take that pressure form the 4ag?

Sully

Postby Sully » September 3rd, 2005, 11:25 am

That would ultimately depend on how you drive.

Xman

Postby Xman » September 3rd, 2005, 2:47 pm

I wonder if the 4age will fit in the Corolla Wagon........seems similar to the L-Touring

JWT

Postby JWT » September 3rd, 2005, 9:26 pm

it is a snug fit make sure and service ur started on the 20vave before installin eh taking it out afterwards is hell as i did find out

also the axels will work back and this engine will bolt in very esily
also take ut ur thermostat
now toyta are very funy cars some engine aloow u to take out the thermostat toyota hates it
get a new thermostat for thsi engine or take it out anyone u prefer

also heads up parts for this engine i very hard to get :fist: :fist: :fist:

Sully

Postby Sully » September 4th, 2005, 10:24 am

^^ There's one in the classifieds for 5k in yesterdays paper.

zedcyborg

Postby zedcyborg » September 4th, 2005, 1:16 pm

thanks...
found a black top 5 fwd with harness, ECU, axles, shifter, clutch cylinder and pedals all for $7300...think i'm gonna go with that...saves me the runnin around and findin parts which gonna add up to more anyway...interested in finding out what size exhaust to run thou...did some reasearch and found that 60.5 mm was an optimal size (2.37 inches)...would still like to kno what ppl use here thou...

Raziel

Postby Raziel » September 5th, 2005, 12:28 pm

Zed ... go with the 60.5, I believe that's the size the HKS/Apexi exhaust for the 20V is ...

The engine requires a lot of flow for a NA ....

Evolved Automotive Ltd

Postby Evolved Automotive Ltd » September 7th, 2005, 5:01 pm

thats correct my Gt came with the apexi

Sully

Postby Sully » September 7th, 2005, 7:33 pm

If you have the cash to buy a brand name muffler, why not just get the TRD barrel?

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » September 9th, 2005, 2:14 pm

^^^^^why?

man just run straight pipe out. no muffler or nutten. fack everybody else, just wear earmuffs.

pbf1940

Postby pbf1940 » September 9th, 2005, 6:52 pm

^^^ bol the ole blu jed! :lol: