Best fix for yellowed/ discoloured headlights?

Don Mohammed

Re: Best fix for yellowed/ discoloured headlights?

Postby Don Mohammed » June 4th, 2013, 10:22 pm

Non of these things are as safe as WD40!!!!Just try it...

OR Purple Blaster....I accidentally discovered it but it worked for me...
(was washing the engine bay and it got on the discoloured headlights, i wiped it off and the stains came off also...

Postby Morpheus » July 21st, 2013, 5:44 pm

I use Mother's Plastic Polish

Before:

After:

One polished. One unpolished:

The Mother's works ok once used every few weeks. Of course it does not provide a sealant that you may get in a restoration kit.
1374442502486.jpg

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 14th, 2014, 11:48 am

I actually got this same item here, 'Scratch Out' and used it. Worked pretty good.

Postby cinco » July 14th, 2014, 1:28 pm

good lord
please if you use any abrasive protect the plastic bumper and painted fender and hood
dont smear that crap all over like that
toothpaste is a fine alternative btw

bruizer

Postby bruizer » November 18th, 2014, 12:17 am

Autosol and minimum elbow grease.works wonders and leaves no adverse effects.you would be amazed at d kinda discoloration you could remove.i saved my friend some good $ for new lights cus he thought his were beyond cleaning.brought them back spanking new for only $ 20 for d tube which will last hundreds of shines.

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » November 19th, 2014, 11:03 am

I clear coated my C34 laurel & Y11 Wingroad headlights. Worked great. No problems after.

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » December 7th, 2014, 1:31 am

^^who did it and what was the cost ?

JM

Postby JM » October 17th, 2015, 12:15 pm

Been meaning to post this a while now...
Used the 3M Headlight Restoration WITH protectant on CK2 Lancer
Its pretty much just sandpaper in varying grit and an attachment for a drill..
Took about 45mins max to do one headlight..

Been 8 Months and the headlights are still clear!

Before

During

During

During

After (Car was going for much needed paint in a few months)

Postby Morpheus » October 17th, 2015, 12:51 pm

^^Good result

Postby Morpheus » October 17th, 2015, 2:16 pm

Plastic...

JM

Postby JM » October 22nd, 2015, 11:07 pm

Morpheus wrote:Plastic...

yup!

And still clear approx 8 months later without using anything on it.
Note that particular kit comes with a headlight protector in it.

Postby Morpheus » October 22nd, 2015, 11:30 pm

^^Wow that's really good then....

Caesar_T

Postby Caesar_T » October 23rd, 2015, 12:57 am

I have been looking for that 3m kit locally. Could you direct me

Sent from my Dash 5.5 using Tapatalk

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 23rd, 2015, 9:02 am

Its about $210 down here last I check.
I had bought of Amazon... But then the price had drop to US$13...

http://www.amazon.com/3M-39045-Headligh ... ration+kit

jaredrampartap

Postby jaredrampartap » November 5th, 2015, 7:36 pm

dude my bro in law showed me the best trick..use some smooth sand paper and water to rub out the yellow stuff and then polish it..and to keep it so u have to keep polishing it every now and again..worked for me!

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » November 7th, 2015, 9:02 pm

Tried this today

Came out good.

However if your headlights are severely damaged do not bother.

Richie1975

Postby Richie1975 » January 26th, 2016, 5:10 am

3M 39008 Headlight Lens Restoration System
Sold by: Amazon.com LLC
$13.75

Works Excellent, bring my lights back to new...all you need is a drill.

foxmileroba

Postby foxmileroba » February 28th, 2016, 9:39 am

Flatline is the best

Postby nervewrecker » April 22nd, 2016, 11:17 pm

Well odd enough both right head lights on both vehicles were yellow. Bit of a coincidence and I have already bought after market lights for both vehicles.

Tried sand paper to get out the yellowness once upon a time and failed miserably, in fact I made it worst. Decided to try one more time before switching lights.

I forgot the grit I started with but second was a 2000 grit and it left me with a white haze. Next I tried some Auto Gylm paint renovator and lots of elbow grease. In no time you could see the shine. A pair of clear headlights really do bring out a vehicle. Mind you they are both different color but unless someone points it out or you know what you looking for, nobody can tell.

Any plastic polishes anyone care to recommend to keep the shine?

Soochi boi

Postby Soochi boi » May 10th, 2016, 11:26 pm

@nervewrecker you need a polish and a sealant . Eg chemical guys , 3m , meguiars sealant can be chemical guys or nano or ceramic sealant better but more expensive . I wetsand compound polish and use a sealant for my detailing / headlight restoration process . Can pm if need any more assistance or Google is your friend

make meh care

Postby make meh care » November 23rd, 2016, 9:29 am

My Results with Autosol and a microfiber towel
Befoe Front.jpg
After Front.jpg

rentdresfyw

Best fix for yellowed/ discoloured headlights

Postby rentdresfyw » November 29th, 2016, 4:28 am

I've clay barred them, polished them, and even waxed them, but to no avail, when I turn on my headlights I'm greeted by all these little imperfections in my headlights, how do you smooth them over?

HSA

Postby HSA » December 12th, 2016, 12:11 pm

autosol with alot of elbow grease works wonders