jz question

krazy

jz question

Postby krazy » June 21st, 2013, 5:52 pm

is it possible to make a plate for a rb25 big box to work on a 1jz?

i've seen some plate on ebay for 1jz engine and the 350z gearbox

trini iceman

Re: jz question

Postby trini iceman » June 22nd, 2013, 6:46 am

Sure it is. I saw some one do a plate to fit a Nissan gearbox on a Mitsu 6a13tt to convert to rwd. You just have to ask if it's worth it, seeing the w58 and v160 exist and are capable gearboxes.

krazy

Postby krazy » June 22nd, 2013, 1:51 pm

do u know the price range of the w58 and v160 by chance?

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » June 22nd, 2013, 4:14 pm

W58s go for 5k & v160 go for much more. W58 takes around 500hp while v160 may take 800hp. I saw some w58 on sale here so do a search.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 22nd, 2013, 5:54 pm

What about the 154

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » June 22nd, 2013, 6:58 pm

Ohh yes the r154 also is a good one. Last I heard was about 11k

krazy

Postby krazy » June 24th, 2013, 8:39 pm

11k is a good price actually, but them thing harder to find dan gold

bless

Postby bless » November 8th, 2015, 10:36 pm

Looking for a 154 gearbox right now and it's hard to get.

pinks

Postby pinks » November 9th, 2015, 5:15 am

Back to d original question doh..its possible?

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » November 11th, 2015, 9:05 am

Why not,both the R154/R34 GTR box are made by Getraj and basically carry the same internals.You will have to make an adapter plate which is costly and also to take into consideration working up the Rb flywheel,not sure if its the same bolt up.
choosinggearbox6.jpg

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » November 11th, 2015, 2:38 pm

Sell the RB box, go wok some ph taxi and buy a jz box. Yes it's possible but custom work will be the bugger. Might be a 3k USD for the bellhousing or adapter. I could be wrong The Google be with you.