coolant loss in tiida patio 2007-advice please

Dreamygirl5

coolant loss in tiida patio 2007-advice please

Postby Dreamygirl5 » April 17th, 2015, 9:30 pm

I have my tiida roro 2years now and I have a problem whereby I keep losing coolant. On a weekly basis I have to top up with between 250 to 500mls coolant.can anyone suggest what the problem might be...or does anyone with a tiida have similar problems?

Cheddar

Re: coolant loss in tiida patio 2007-advice please

Postby Cheddar » April 17th, 2015, 10:03 pm

With coolant loss you have to check a few things.

Firstly check for small drip leaks. Start your car when cold and monitor the radiator itself and the drain plug, also where the hoses clamp to the engine and radiator, the water pump and the hose going to the radiator overflow bottle.

It could also be as simple as the radiator cap losing tension and passing to much coolant back to the overflow bottle which leaks out while driving.

Severe cases occur when the cylinder head gasket has a leak but I doubt that's your problem.

Do some visual inspections in the engine bay and see if you could find the problem area. If you don't find anything try a new cap and see if it helps.

Dreamygirl5

Postby Dreamygirl5 » April 18th, 2015, 9:23 am

We didn't observe any visible signs of leaks, no coolant residue. First thing done, changed the cap, with a sankei rad cap, same pressure rating. 0.9lbs. Coolant stopped dropping in the bottle, however level in the radiator was dropping. We thought there is a leak in the system. We pressure tested the system no leaks seen, no pressure drop observed. Did a hydrocarbon test on the coolant it was negative. Put in a genuine cap and started losing coolant in d bottle again. Did a second pressure test with the engine started, coolant was seen dripping from the adapter used to do the pressure test. Mechanic said change the radiator.What do you suggest.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » April 19th, 2015, 9:38 am

Errr...Check to see if you're "burning" the coolant, let someone rev the car up and watch the exhaust, if its "white" or "steamish" it means that you need a new head gasket, easy fix :D
i tink thats ur problem :D

You look like you does take care of your car also, and since its like 2 years, the gasket mabe crack. its a thin seal that blocks of oil and water and stuff, if its crack its going to leak stuff, like oil and water :D INSIDE the engine too not outside :D
like that similar to it
they tear easily because some material are actually very fragile :O my 2cents
Last edited by Abraham2nd on April 19th, 2015, 11:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby 1UZFE » April 19th, 2015, 9:41 am

Also in another ched a guy was losing coolant slowly because of a leak in 1 of the hoses leading to d throttle body.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » April 19th, 2015, 11:00 am

Check the line

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » April 19th, 2015, 11:26 am

Padna was getting that same problem I went massy an buy an original cap and problem gone not sure if it's something else I hope u find it soon.

Dreamygirl5

Postby Dreamygirl5 » April 19th, 2015, 2:28 pm

Thank you all very much for your advice

ModMania

Postby ModMania » April 19th, 2015, 3:21 pm

Maybe the bottle itself has a small crack?

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » April 19th, 2015, 7:20 pm

Please let me know if u find the problem will want to know the problem

Dreamygirl5

Postby Dreamygirl5 » April 21st, 2015, 9:04 pm

NP.I will post the culprit once we find it

Sundar

Postby Sundar » April 24th, 2015, 12:05 pm

probably d neck itself faulty, where the cap fits.