Windshields........2ply and triple X

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 15th, 2005, 8:30 pm

Essentially what be the real difference between these two types (if any at all).ah know 'bout the 2 ply but what is this triple X I hear about?

olton

Postby olton » June 15th, 2005, 9:34 pm

In theory, the triple is more resistant to them lil stones that might otherwise break a 2 ply.

My problem, is that I think it means I will sustain more damage to the ol cranium should I ever get physical with the windscreen (knock on wood)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 16th, 2005, 2:20 pm

^^^^well I had to replace my OEM windshield and dat looked like the 2ply thing.....but yuh saying that the triple X is the glass that stronger right??? not necessarily the amt ah glass layers??

nash

Postby nash » June 17th, 2005, 8:01 pm

The 2ply would have the glass outer layer and the normal plastic layer to the inside of the car so that in the event the glass shatters the sharp pieces would not fly inwards to the passenger.
The triple X glass is like a sandwich,the outer material on both sides is glass and the plastic layer lies inbetween them.Go with the 2 ply,the triple x glass is not safe in accidents at all.If your head comes into contact with it in an accident it would penetrate even the plastic layer and you'd be stuck there by your neck.
Hope this helps.

JWT

Postby JWT » June 19th, 2005, 12:06 am

pallie
just get d 3ply and u easy ok

3ply does not shatter as easily as the 2ply

:mrgreen:
but it more expensive that the 2ply ehh

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 19th, 2005, 12:14 am

^^^glass done gorne on car since de day I put up this topic. I am just concerned as to what the new windshield would be able to withstand.........thanks for the contributions.

speed demon

Postby speed demon » June 21st, 2005, 11:40 am

frogive if im wrong , but fellas ist the 2 ply wind shield or the laminated windshield called that because u have two plys of your treated glass with a layer of basically plastic sandwiched between it which keeps the shattered glass together as one mas in an accident ,

while the triple x is a brand of the old type of glass used in cars which at the point of introduction some time in the 50's was called safety glass cause of its manufacture process that allowed it to shatter into many harmless peices and thus minimising danger - known as hardened or toughened glass supposed to be only one ply in the older cars like say 120y 's and the old mazda 323 etc. etc.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 23rd, 2005, 12:31 am

^^^^cool 8)