Beware KYB Shocks Knock-Off

Black_Primera

Beware KYB Shocks Knock-Off

Postby Black_Primera » June 17th, 2011, 7:15 pm

Here's the scene. Need to change front shocks on my almera so I called around for the best price on Kayaba. Most places $500 and above but when I asked one particular shop he told me he had it for $380. Went down to the shop just before he closed and asked for shocks, he asked if it was I who called. I confirmed and he brought shocks from back, opened the boxes and showed me left and right sides. While he was making up the bill, I asked him how he was able to sell so much cheaper than other places and he told me about choosing the best dealer. I noticed on the box was Pro-g so i again asked about this compared to the excel-g and he told me is the same. I didn't pay much attention because I asked for Kayaba shocks and the box looked exactly like the KYB box. Only when i reached home and inspected closer, I noticed the brand as JAPKYB and so I did a check on the net for it but no luck. Almost positive is a knock-off so beware. Any comments would be appreciated. Planning to go tomorrow for refund. Will post pics soon.
Last edited by Black_Primera on June 17th, 2011, 8:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: KYB Shocks Knock-Off

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 17th, 2011, 7:58 pm

the colour red looks off as well....kyb box colour is more pinkish.....

Black_Primera

Re: KYB Shocks Knock-Off

Postby Black_Primera » June 17th, 2011, 8:07 pm

Colour same as KYB, is the camera that have it looking a different shade. Now checking some posts and see men buy Excel-G's from him the past. When I asked about the excel g's he said that he was not familiar with them and asked about the colour of the box that they came in. When I said same colour as these, he then said they are the same gas shocks. Foolish me thought same shock, different branding, according to what part of the world it is marketed.

BlitzMekenzie

Re: Beware KYB Shocks Knock-Off

Postby BlitzMekenzie » June 17th, 2011, 8:54 pm

ooo, by chance where/ what parts place you got those shocks?
I personally believe that most if not all kyb excel g shocks that sell in parts places throughout t&t and knock off's, cuz a few years ago kyb's where around 6 something per shock and now the prices just drop in half..also there are a few ppl that i know who have very bad reviews about those excel g's being sold here , after 2 weeks- 1 month of use the shock feels like its bad, but the tokico's seem to be holding out way better than those excel g's. i recently bought a set of kyb GR-2's, my advice if you can invest in a set of GR-2's or even look to get tokicos for your car you would come out way better than purchasing the excel g's.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » June 17th, 2011, 11:30 pm

^^ excel g is the same as the gr2. They're both kybs... Its weird but its legit.

i dont know about that pro g. Pretty sure thats a knock off..

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » June 18th, 2011, 12:02 am

yeah they are but they are 2 different shocks all together, well as compared to the local excel g's that is... the GR2 is actually a stiffer shock than the excel g and it also has a shorter shaft aswell. well thats what ive noticed when i felt and observed the two. i currently have the excel g on my car and that shock isnt good at all for the time it lasted. but to everyone their own luck...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 18th, 2011, 1:38 am

Black Primera. be sure to tell us the shop so we can at least know who to avoid..

At least this you can tell its fake, what about the slew of fake NGK plugs, APEXi parts etc going around the place?
Not to mention people selling aftermarket parts as genuine original brand (honda, nissan etc)

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » June 18th, 2011, 3:23 am

BlitzMekenzie wrote:yeah they are but they are 2 different shocks all together, well as compared to the local excel g's that is... the GR2 is actually a stiffer shock than the excel g and it also has a shorter shaft aswell. well thats what ive noticed when i felt and observed the two. i currently have the excel g on my car and that shock isnt good at all for the time it lasted. but to everyone their own luck...

no buddy
http://www.kyb.com/service/color.php

they're the same. marketing people are weird. :?

the kyb struts for my car comes as gr2's in the fronts and excel g's in the rear. If you order a full set of 4 struts from kyb it will come like that. :?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 18th, 2011, 8:29 am

If you disclose the name of the business that would be nice,but you think he's gonna give you a refund,good luck bro,thanks for the heads up.

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » June 18th, 2011, 10:08 pm

jnqaz wrote:
BlitzMekenzie wrote:yeah they are but they are 2 different shocks all together, well as compared to the local excel g's that is... the GR2 is actually a stiffer shock than the excel g and it also has a shorter shaft aswell. well thats what ive noticed when i felt and observed the two. i currently have the excel g on my car and that shock isnt good at all for the time it lasted. but to everyone their own luck...

no buddy
http://www.kyb.com/service/color.php

they're the same. marketing people are weird. :?

the kyb struts for my car comes as gr2's in the fronts and excel g's in the rear. If you order a full set of 4 struts from kyb it will come like that. :?

hummm, well boy i cant explain that nah, i just double check all my shocks and both the front and rear pairs mark GR2, there isnt anything on them that has excel G. They are silver and is in a red and silver box(same color as the shock) and it has GR2 sign is written all around the bottom of the box.

the only difference between the front and rear shocks is that one is pair is longer than the other, but yes you are right, marketing ppl are weird...

Black_Primera

Postby Black_Primera » June 18th, 2011, 11:17 pm

Went this morning to return shocks. The guy willingly refunded money and explained that the same dealer who supplied KYB before, brought these. Suppose to be the same thing but had to brand differently for some reason. I happily accepted refund. Must mention that owner of parts shop was very cooperative so will not post shop name.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 18th, 2011, 11:47 pm

^^^good to know.....

I will not be purchasing kyb excel-g's again......they ride too damn stiff.....but oem is too bloody expensive so I'll be exploring some "foreign used" options.

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » June 19th, 2011, 8:16 am

^^^^ nice, glad you got through Black

syntax

Postby syntax » June 19th, 2011, 7:07 pm

which KYB model shock does nissan vehicles come with

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » June 19th, 2011, 10:50 pm

Black-primera,
Them is bogus KYB the man bullshiting yuh he know why he refund yuh so easy the people who brings the genuine KYB doh bring that sheit is two diffrent suppliers,yuh should name the place,talkin bout is the same shock but supplier had to re brand he talking like that making in trini, CALL THE NAME before brothers get catch.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » June 20th, 2011, 9:36 pm

this is a little insight into the excel-g and GR-2 buisness as well

http://reviews.ebay.com/KYB-GR2-ExcelG- ... 0008517207

possibly if u buying USA made product a USA brand like munroe would be better.

xtech

Postby xtech » June 26th, 2011, 6:54 pm

i knew these local kybs was fake long time...... i brought some for my wagon back in 2006 an no joke they lasted a month

dreadman

Postby dreadman » June 27th, 2011, 2:00 am

last time i changed shocks i used kyb oil shocks(blue box). it works better for me.

Grudge

Postby Grudge » June 30th, 2011, 12:46 pm

^^^ Where you get that dread? I want a pair of oil shocks for the Almera bad.....

RobinH

Postby RobinH » September 8th, 2014, 11:46 am

DAM IT I SHOULD HAVE SEEN THIS POST EARLIER....Got caught I bought these same Imitation JAP KYB.......I REALLY KNEW AOMETHING HAD TO BE WRONG BECAUSE THIS PARTICULAR DEALER HAD IT MUCH CHEAPER THAN THE REST....FIAZ IN VISTABELLA

Postby cinco » September 8th, 2014, 3:19 pm

the box says japkyb
kyb shocks just has kyb on the box
how dense are you?

Postby BrotherHood » September 8th, 2014, 4:24 pm

I dunno how alyuh not seeing that 'JAP' on the box.

Postby skylinechild » September 8th, 2014, 8:20 pm

went by billy in chase village to find out if he has..i asked to see the box.
man refuse to let me take a pic of the box explainin i wont find the unit online and cant cross reference the part number - as is different for different parts of the world.

This is exactly why i do this...i do research THEN buy. cause first thing a man will say - no refunds.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » September 8th, 2014, 8:47 pm

man seeing it but they want to believe its Japanese KYB

the giveaway was the PRO-G instead of the excel -G

I thought Dollar Savers was the importer/distributor for KYB

A&M marketing also used to or maybe still do sell a brand called Centex. It uses the same part numbers as the KYB, its the same design but made "elsewhere" its a good shock in my opinion though as I have used it personally.

There are lots of reasons shocks don't last, weak springs, bad or missing buffer rubber and/or dust boots. Bad suspension on the whole. The wrong shocks ie. quite a lot of ppl have been selling the wrong shocks for a vehicle, especially wagons, just because it fits physically doesn't mean its the right shock.

ppl need to download the KYB catalog and verify that the part number is correct for your vehicle.

Excel-G is rated by the manufacturer (Kayaba) to be 15% stiffer than the stock shock.