Different Brands of Tint...

EdVedder

Different Brands of Tint...

Postby EdVedder » June 2nd, 2005, 11:55 am

I've been seeing people advertising all sorts of prices for tint jobs an i know that there must be different brands that ppl use, hence the reason of difference in prices

some of the tint im sure r of better quality than others.

wha r the good brands of tint out there n d not so good ones ?

wha makes a tint better than d other?

Postby equipped2ripp » June 2nd, 2005, 2:02 pm

a good brand is Llumar. toyota use this on all their vehicles. i think pro-tint is the company which sells this brand. those cheap ones that sell in the box (like HS) for $50 so are the ones that get purple-ish after a while and even bubble up very quickly.

a tint that would make it better than the rest would be one that is scratch-resistant.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 3rd, 2005, 3:34 am

^^ From doing some reading, the Llumar is VERY expensive.

Got some good info online but still non to fully answer you

You really might have to google this one pallie :)

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » June 3rd, 2005, 12:06 pm

what about the one that motor city uses ?

hehh

Postby hehh » June 3rd, 2005, 1:54 pm

i had experience with the Llumar and it only started to turn purple after about 5 years and then bubbled after about 6. i thought that was good compared to other tints around so i replaced it with Llumar again. did a 35% and so far, it keepin the sun out quite well

Anton

Postby Anton » June 3rd, 2005, 2:41 pm

Someone told me that there was a special type of tint that was designed for front windscreens. it helps with the glare but doest hinder vision out or in. Anybody has any experience with dis?

plex

Postby plex » June 3rd, 2005, 3:48 pm

Llumar, never heard of that brand..not sure what brand my tint in mine car is but i have it for 9 years and what happened to it it just starting to get lighter..no colour change or bubbled..

hehh

Postby hehh » June 3rd, 2005, 4:26 pm

anton, i not sure what u talkin about but is it by any chance a type of treated glass ? somebody mentioned that to me once but i never heard of it otherwise.. doh really know about it

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 3rd, 2005, 7:34 pm

i had a car where the tint when i sold it was more than 10 yrs old and neva faded. Nowadays tint givin more trouble than the tint of previous years i find.

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » June 3rd, 2005, 11:53 pm

after working for motor city for 3 yrs. ALL tints are esentially the same.
you have scratch resist and cheap.

cheap tint are just that and WILL turn purple after a while
scratch resist tint are a bit more expensive depending on what colous/ shade you
want: charcoal/ titanium/ platinum/ whatever but they last longer than cheap tint\
and are easier to remove.

BE CAREFUL where you do your tinting becauce i know of some
companies that pass off the cheap tint as scratch resist and
charge you the same price.

Tint technology has IMPROVED so where as in the past cheap tint would
fade in a matter of months it may last a fewmore months

to tint your front windscreen the grade used is most times 50% but some guys
opt for 35% which is darker but not that dark.

remember if your tint scratches easily after u wind ur glass up and down
CUSS SOMEBODY

TK!

Postby TK! » June 4th, 2005, 1:53 am

lol ... cuss somebody ... good advice there man ...

TK!

Postby TK! » June 4th, 2005, 1:54 am

ie - good advice on the tinting stuff

Mini

Postby Mini » June 4th, 2005, 6:45 am

ons a side note I'd opt for the 35% black metalized (titanium)... remember the metalized tints have a layer of metalized film.. which REFLECTS the heat rather than absorb it. I've had a 35% titanium on my dad's B14 for 7 years now.. and it just starting to bubble. .. the tint is light so you can see comfortably in the night.. but it keeps the car cooler than say a 20% regular tint (well from my experience with my 323)

I like the black metalized since nobody can make you remove the reflective (silver) tint

allan

Postby allan » June 4th, 2005, 2:31 pm

five foward i does cuss motorcity lol hope u wer not working there when we had our vehicles tinted there in my feeling motorcity has lost the class and there work in not as before

on another note they always say cheap ting no good so buy the expensive tint and u good to go

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » June 4th, 2005, 2:37 pm

so fiveforward would u say that the brand of tint that motor city uses is a good brand of tint and would u recommend using it ?

allan

Postby allan » June 4th, 2005, 5:29 pm

^^^^^^^ i dont tink so :mrgreen:

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 5th, 2005, 2:27 pm

hey fiveforward..u know al?
i think he's the son of motorcity
anyways
motorcity usually does a great job for my friends
and they did for my dad also

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » June 6th, 2005, 8:32 am

IMHO motor city used to do a good job but that was years ago when i was
ther. Indeed their standard has dropped significantly.

as far as quality in tint goes i dunno for now. I don't tint there n e more,
but i shouldn't be n e different from n e one else cuz a lot of them have
the same international supplier. Workmanship is what really counts

All i'll say is shop around because from what i have experienced
the average tint man is just as good, even better than mcity (a lot of people passed
thru mcity and then went on their own) so look around.

> al yeah i know him and his sister michelle :D , nice kids

> i stooped working there about 3 years ago. 2 much pressah :mrgreen:

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 6th, 2005, 5:55 pm

ok cool
i know al from SBCS

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 7th, 2005, 7:41 am

call TINT SPECIALISTS . they supposed to be good ... installed 35% silver titanium for me, $400, they come to you.... i cah complain(......yet...)

they are 300 for scratch resistant and 400 for titanium.

ps black titanium is cool :twisted:

sport20

Postby sport20 » June 14th, 2005, 11:00 pm

black titanium...i think i have that or was it platinum?
anyway, did my tint at motor city and not too pleased with the workmanship, but the tint does look good.
it like a mystery, sometimes you could see in the car and then sometimes you can't.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 14th, 2005, 11:36 pm

it like a mystery, sometimes you could see in the car and then sometimes you can't

...titanium 8)

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » July 25th, 2005, 2:34 pm

Tint Specialist they have good tint check them out they cum to you :twisted: :fadein: big ups to Adam_ant_tt you know good thing :idea:

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » July 25th, 2005, 5:25 pm

^^ i take it u from tint specialist... lol

Lioniron

Postby Lioniron » September 22nd, 2005, 3:06 pm

plex306, aye u know anybody who wants to buy a great 306 wagon

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » September 22nd, 2005, 3:23 pm

steven by viper alarm in st james.
he put on my g5 ting good, no bubbles or nuttin.
good job, took his time.
did not rush the work down

Sully

Postby Sully » September 23rd, 2005, 6:33 pm

call TINT SPECIALISTS . they supposed to be good

Ditto on that. I had a car tinted there and it's holding up nicely after about 2 years.

Nick_2NR

Postby Nick_2NR » February 10th, 2008, 10:14 pm

what kinda tint do they use?

Postby nervewrecker » February 10th, 2008, 10:28 pm

PM GABRIEL TINTMAN ON THE FORUM, RUN A SEARCH FUH TINT IN THE CAR PARTS CLASSIFIEDS, YOU'LL FIND A THREAD ON "Tinting done here"

1) as far as I kno it hav no such thing as black titanium

2) all reflective tints are illegal

3) to kno if you gettin good quality tint heres a lil trick, double it (fold over an edge) & rub it together, do the same for the next side, if both sides slide walk out (save yuh self some cash & the trouble of having tuh cuss sombody later). one side supposed to stick.

4) if yuh tinting yuh whole windscreen, use at least a 35% dont go darker than dat becuz it will jeopardise your view outside in poorley lit areas. a 50% will wuck good but does it make sense havin dat as it so clear (better yuh eh out none)

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » February 11th, 2008, 9:33 am

equipped2ripp wrote:a good brand is Llumar. toyota use this on all their vehicles. i think pro-tint is the company which sells this brand. those cheap ones that sell in the box (like HS) for $50 so are the ones that get purple-ish after a while and even bubble up very quickly.

a tint that would make it better than the rest would be one that is scratch-resistant.

Correct this is exactly what happens