RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Oxygen sensor Question

Postby RichieRich » May 19th, 2005, 9:03 pm

how will you know if it bad?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » May 19th, 2005, 9:05 pm

u going to be running rich most likely and u should get an error code from the ECU

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » May 19th, 2005, 9:07 pm

what signs you`ll see?

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » May 19th, 2005, 9:18 pm

You won’t necessarily get error code from the ECU when your O2 sensor is bad. What kind of car are you asking about? Maybe it can be put into a diagnostic mode to test the output of the O2 sensor. I did this in my Primera to check my O2 sensor.

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » May 19th, 2005, 9:20 pm

b14, ga15 engine

JWT

Postby JWT » May 19th, 2005, 9:25 pm

suckin real gas pallie
just check ur mileage

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » May 19th, 2005, 9:32 pm

i dont use the car, i see the car once a month and the person using it gets free gas so they dont watch mileage

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » May 19th, 2005, 9:35 pm

oh wait, this in Ole talk? meh...yeah what LF said...If your mileage doh change when he does that, the sensor most likely already bad :mrgreen:

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » May 19th, 2005, 9:36 pm

This worked on my Primera and I think I remembered it working for a friends ga15 B14 as well.

If you pull the cover off your lower dash where the fuses are... there's a white Consult diagnostic plug.

You can manually put the car into diagnostic mode to read any error codes by performing the following steps.

1. Turn the ignition on, do not start the car (all dash warning lights on)

2. Using a thin wire (I use a paper clip bent into a U shape) short out the top 2 right most pins for 1/2 a second. (Top right!!!! Both pins on the top row, right most!!!)

3. This will flash the orange Check Engine light with the ECU's error codes if there are any. First slow flashes are for the 1st digit and the second set of fast flashes are for the 2nd digit. 5,5 means no errors.

4. Start the car while in this mode and the engine light would flash on and off to show a lean or rich mixture. Wait till the car is warmed up properly and then hold the throttle steady at 2000rpm. The check engine light should come on and off at least once every two seconds if the O2 sensors is healthy.

5. Turn off the ignition to come out of diagnostic mode.

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » May 19th, 2005, 9:39 pm

thanks jed, ill try it

vw

Postby vw » May 19th, 2005, 10:04 pm

CHECK THE OUTPUT VOLTAGE IF YOU GET NOTHING ITS GONE...[/b]

honda4life

Postby honda4life » May 19th, 2005, 11:11 pm

did it work richie?

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 20th, 2005, 12:09 am

anybody knwo how do diagnose a lancer by that method? :twisted:

AWD Motorsports

Postby AWD Motorsports » May 20th, 2005, 9:41 am

the civic has the same procedure as mentioned by sr18 primera. other signs that o2 sensor giving trouble is erratic idle and my A/c compressor used to come on real fast.

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » May 20th, 2005, 12:52 pm

i didnt try it cuz i only see the car once a month, ill try it next month

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 20th, 2005, 1:44 pm

sr18 Primera wrote:This worked on my Primera and I think I remembered it working for a friends ga15 B14 as well.

If you pull the cover off your lower dash where the fuses are... there's a white Consult diagnostic plug.

You can manually put the car into diagnostic mode to read any error codes by performing the following steps.

1. Turn the ignition on, do not start the car (all dash warning lights on)

2. Using a thin wire (I use a paper clip bent into a U shape) short out the top 2 right most pins for 1/2 a second. (Top right!!!! Both pins on the top row, right most!!!)

3. This will flash the orange Check Engine light with the ECU's error codes if there are any. First slow flashes are for the 1st digit and the second set of fast flashes are for the 2nd digit. 5,5 means no errors.

4. Start the car while in this mode and the engine light would flash on and off to show a lean or rich mixture. Wait till the car is warmed up properly and then hold the throttle steady at 2000rpm. The check engine light should come on and off at least once every two seconds if the O2 sensors is healthy.

5. Turn off the ignition to come out of diagnostic mode.

pallie i hope that info really works...
cuz thats some great info they!

starr007

Postby starr007 » May 24th, 2005, 4:45 pm

where can I get an O2 sensor for a SR20VE motor :?:

dragzster

Postby dragzster » May 24th, 2005, 10:11 pm

whats the difference between an Oxygen Sensor and an Air Flow Sensor?

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 25th, 2005, 1:40 am

where can I get an O2 sensor for a SR20VE motor

neal and massy shoudl have.
i guessing that's not your first choice :mrgreen:

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » May 25th, 2005, 1:58 am

You can clean em if they're not that far gone also.

Basically, heat it up with a blow torch and use an iron brush to scrape off any crap.

starr007

Postby starr007 » May 25th, 2005, 8:48 am

As a last resort I checked neal and massy ....don't have.
The sensor is too far gone had it checked.

may possibly have to use a sensor from another motor ....problem is to find a match that fits.

Any suggestions???

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » May 27th, 2005, 7:40 am

dragzster wrote:whats the difference between an Oxygen Sensor and an Air Flow Sensor?

O2 sensor checks amount of oxygen in exhaust.

AF sensor checks volume of air coming into the engine.

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » May 27th, 2005, 8:59 am

Starr007, are you running a de harness or ve harness? I'm not sure if the connector is the same between them. But for the de you can use the 300zx n/a O2 sensor (the longer one) and it would be a perfect fit.

dragzster

Postby dragzster » May 28th, 2005, 6:57 pm

O2 sensor checks amount of oxygen in exhaust.

AF sensor checks volume of air coming into the engine.

thanks man 8)

starr007

Postby starr007 » May 31st, 2005, 9:05 am

Using DE harness.

Thanx again SR18 Primera, will give it a try.